Jump to content

Photo

Super TI-99 Mario Bros (F18A required)


88 replies to this topic

#51 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:30 PM

i noted some lag when i jumped on top of the second group of baddies will try and reproduce (real hw)

 

Thanks, I find and fix bugs all the time but I don't recall seeing any lag. I will probably post a new version within a few hours.



#52 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:36 PM

In this version you can access a secret chamber by descending into tube #4.

 

Attached File  underwrld.png   4.91KB   6 downloads

 

 

Attached Files



#53 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,189 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:06 PM

very nice!  i was missing that :)  

 

i found the invincible boost on the main level in the prev version too :-)



#54 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 9,953 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:45 PM

My best score yet...

 

Attached Files



#55 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 9,953 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:48 PM

Rasmus,

   Although I'm not a programmer, I'm curious as this thing gets bigger with multiple levels, are you going to be tying them all together and just carry the score over to the next game block somehow?  

 

   Can't wait for the next update or level. 



#56 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Feb 17, 2016 7:03 AM

Although I'm not a programmer, I'm curious as this thing gets bigger with multiple levels, are you going to be tying them all together and just carry the score over to the next game block somehow?

 

If you're asking whether each world would be a self contained program then the answer is no. The program would be fixed and only data would be loaded from either disk or rom.



#57 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Feb 17, 2016 7:08 AM

My best score yet...

 

 

Reminded me that I stored the score in 16-bits only. This is fixed in the attached version. Also, you now retain Mario's state (large, fire) when the level is completed and restarted.

Attached Files



#58 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 9,953 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Wed Feb 17, 2016 6:18 PM

 

... in the attached version. 

 

Extra growing room?

Attached Files



#59 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:56 AM

 

Extra growing room?

 

The xas99 assembler is placing a tiny section of the program in a separate file. I need to ask ralphb why.



#60 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 9,953 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:29 PM

I found this on another part of Atari Age...

 

251b05fa920f40b1ee860e1727bf42b4.gif

 

... is this the next enhancement Rasmus?  :grin:



#61 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts

Posted Sun Mar 6, 2016 8:39 PM

I have not tried Rasmus version on the real TI yet, looking fwd to it,

will try in the weekend.

 

 

but I came along this coincidentally:

1990:  http://pdf.textfiles.../mp9005.max.pdf

See page 47  (left column), has anyone ever seen that version?



#62 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 3,969 posts

Posted Sun Mar 6, 2016 8:51 PM

I bought it, along with most of the Baker Software titles back then. It is in Extended BASIC and it isn't all that great from a Mario standpoint, but it is OK as an Extended BASIC game. . .I'm not sure where my disk for it is now though.



#63 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,125 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sun Mar 6, 2016 9:24 PM

but I came along this coincidentally:

1990:  http://pdf.textfiles.../mp9005.max.pdf

See page 47  (left column), has anyone ever seen that version?

 

Yeah :)

This is that one :)

 


Edited by ti99iuc, Sun Mar 6, 2016 9:25 PM.


#64 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Mon Mar 7, 2016 6:13 AM

I bought it too, I didn't think it was that good for an XB game either. ;) I remember their Micropendium ad "Pushes the TI to it's limits!" I always felt gypped by that one. ;) My biggest frustration with it, besides that it has a really loose idea of the concept of gameplay, was that it crashed a lot. It also took about 5 minutes to load the assembly support routines. It just didn't feel finished, it felt rushed out.

I had two of their other games, a monster truck game and a top-down shooter. Never was spectacular, and they felt like the same game rotated 90 degrees, but they were stable, had good graphics, and played well. Better examples of what Baker could do IMO. :)

Wonder where they ended up?

#65 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Mar 7, 2016 9:31 AM

I bought it, along with most of the Baker Software titles back then. It is in Extended BASIC and it isn't all that great from a Mario standpoint, but it is OK as an Extended BASIC game. . .I'm not sure where my disk for it is now though.

 

I would like to try it if you find the disk.



#66 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Mon Mar 7, 2016 1:25 PM

We've posted it here a couple times, once more won't hurt. ;)

Attached File  SuperMario.zip   9.49KB   24 downloads

#67 G-type OFFLINE  

G-type

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts

Posted Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:08 AM

Just saw this. I'm blown away!



#68 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:05 PM

Tutorial: how to draw a Mario sprite.

 

http://vp6.tdch.ext....hremathias3.mp4



#69 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:11 PM

After a long break away from this project I have finally made some progress. This version has 3 levels and two secret chambers.  My data model no longer allows me to accurately copy the original, I cannot make the moving platforms, for instance. I'm not sure how much further I'm going with this, but try it out (on real hardware if you can) and let me know if you find any problems.

 

Attached File  screenshot.png   5.24KB   4 downloads

Attached Files



#70 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts

Posted Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:57 PM

After a long break away from this project I have finally made some progress. This version has 3 levels and two secret chambers.  My data model no longer allows me to accurately copy the original, I cannot make the moving platforms, for instance. I'm not sure how much further I'm going with this, but try it out (on real hardware if you can) and let me know if you find any problems.

 

attachicon.gifscreenshot.png

 

Is it just me having issues to load/start it ?

 

1. Real TI + F18A + NanoPeb,   does not load Mario1 (EA OPT5),  it loads EA OPT 3 Mario  (but I do not know the pgm start word)

 

2. Classic99 loads, but graphics are not okay because of F18A emulation

 

3. JS99er.net  (Chrome and Internet Explorer) loads via EA OPT5,  MARIO1,  but only shows the intro screen  (no sound, no Mario character)



#71 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:07 PM

 

Is it just me having issues to load/start it ?

 

1. Real TI + F18A + NanoPeb,   does not load Mario1 (EA OPT5),  it loads EA OPT 3 Mario  (but I do not know the pgm start word)

 

2. Classic99 loads, but graphics are not okay because of F18A emulation

 

3. JS99er.net  (Chrome and Internet Explorer) loads via EA OPT5,  MARIO1,  but only shows the intro screen  (no sound, no Mario character)

 

With JS99er.net you have to press Tab (mapped to joystick fire) to start the game. During the game you jump with up and fire is run.

 

I haven't tried it on a NanoPEB, but it loads fine from my real PEB with HxC.



#72 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:20 PM

You should use E/A#5: MARIO1. The E/A#3 file MARIO won't load since it's loading into a memory area that the E/A#3 loader cannot handle (>2000->2700).



#73 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts

Posted Sun Mar 20, 2016 1:50 AM

Okay. Will try to test later when I am back on nanoPEB.

On Android it works with js99er.net pressing
The blue icon. (But Q or Y which are normally the fire
buttons do not work to start)

I do not have tab key on my phone (Xiaomi mi4)

#74 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts

Posted Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:28 AM

Changed the nanoPEB, all working now. 

 

Amazing that you get this quality on a TI-99/4A, really enjoyed it.

 

Hope to see more coming up.

 

(Here is some positive improvement feedback when playing, ):

1.  Score resets to 000000 after playing  (I had around 76400)

2. In the underground level, just before the end (green tube) it is possible

    to jump on top of the screen and walk through into another room

    (but you get locked and need to count down until 0 seconds)

    After that a small Mario comes back in the wall (and you need to jump 3x times

    before back on the floor and enter the green tube)

3. Sometimes after the Luis (white Mario) moving to next level it becomes a small

    Mario again.

4. When jumping on turtles, I believe the turtles move away (need to check with the real game)

5. Also I believe it is possible to shoot with normal Mario and Super Mario  (and not only with Louis)

6. Sometimes it looks like Mario walks too fast (or something like that, I am using a TI-99/4A Beige version, non-QI,  USA 60 Hz)

7. The floor platforms do not move (as you mentioned).

 

(I used to compare it with letsplaynes Mario, but their website is gone, I am trying to find a similar one)



#75 globeron OFFLINE  

globeron

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts

Posted Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:37 AM

I used this online emulator to compare (after seeing the commercial, press start in the middle)

you also can configure the buttons to play (z, x):  http://www.playretro...uper-mario-bros

 

8. when Mario walks from the level he reaches the green tube (it seems he walks a bit too fast ?)

 

Forget about item 4,5  (my mistake):

>> 4. When jumping on turtles, I believe the turtles move away (need to check with the real game)

>> 5. Also I believe it is possible to shoot with normal Mario and Super Mario  (and not only with Louis)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users