Jump to content

Photo

AppleTi


89 replies to this topic

#51 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Thu Feb 18, 2016 7:30 PM

There's a pretty good overview of connecting an AY-8910 to a 6502 in issue 15 of Compute.



#52 MarkO OFFLINE  

MarkO

    Dragonstomper

  • 867 posts
  • Location:Albany, Oregon, USA, North Western Hemisphere, Planet Tera

Posted Wed Feb 24, 2016 11:27 PM

 

Kazool!

The software works, but unfortunately expects the sprite board to be in slot #7 (where the CFFA lives in my system) so I just temporarily relocated the F18A for this test.

 

Keep in mind this shot is of the VGA output from the F18A, the way I connected it was the main //gs video was on VGA from a GBS thingy, and the F18A was connected to the DVI input with a DVI-VGA converter, so I just switch inputs on the monitor to see the second screen.

 

 

Are you using the Normal Pin F18A, or the Tall Pin F18A??  Or do you think it would matter??  

 

Are these Adapter Boards available on OSH Park??  

 

MarkO



#53 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:11 AM

*** Board published ***

 

Are you using the Normal Pin F18A, or the Tall Pin F18A??  Or do you think it would matter??  

 

Are these Adapter Boards available on OSH Park??  

 

MarkO

Low-profile. It might matter, if you want to put a card in next to the F18A, in an Apple. I believe the low-profile also works in a Colecovision if you simply add height using an additional 40-pin socket as a spacer.

 

https://oshpark.com/...ojects/CHUbvipD

I know a lot of people are turned off by having to solder together the board themselves, but this is really simple, 
solder a 74LS00 and a 40-pin socket, plug on the F18A, and you are good to go.
Of course, nothing much happens yet, until some software is written.

Edited by towmater, Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:38 AM.


#54 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2016 12:42 PM

I wish I knew how to edit the first post, in any case, here's we we need to start, the F18A has gobs of additional registers for setting up graphics modes, counters, pages, and sprites.:

http://atariage.com/...ttach_id=389298

 

This post contains much of the details:

http://atariage.com/...rces/?p=2676606

 

And the docs are at: http://atariage.com/...ttach_id=318329


Edited by towmater, Fri Feb 26, 2016 12:44 PM.


#55 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Quadrunner

  • 5,021 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2016 5:06 PM

Towmater: I believe you can ask Albert nicely here (or perhaps send him a PM) to get edit permissions for a particular thread:

http://atariage.com/...-editing/page-5



#56 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,600 posts

Posted Tue Mar 8, 2016 9:25 PM

I'd love to see a YouTube video of this running on an Apple... (hint)



#57 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Wed Mar 9, 2016 10:02 AM

Me too. Anyone? You all should have built the board by now, so here to get the ball rolling, thanks to archive.org, is a 9918A-specific slot-finder routine that we can learn from. This is similar to what Tursi descibes, in that it writes to VDP ram and sees if reading it back matches, indicating a functional F18A is in the slot.

 

10 REM SLOT FINDER ROUTINE

20 FOR S = 7 TO 1 STEP -1
30 RD = 49280 +S *16
40 RS = 49281 +S *16
50 WD = 49282 +S *16
60 WR = 49283 +S *16
70 SR = 49285 +S *16
80 DW = 49286 +S *16
90 DR = DW
100 A = INT( RND(1) *256)
110 B = INT( RND(1) *256)
120 C = INT( RND(1) *256)
130 POKE WR,0: POKE WR,64
140 POKE WD,A: POKE WD,B: POKE WD,C
150 POKE WR,0: POKE WR,0
160 IF PEEK(RD) = A AND PEEK(RD) = B AND PEEK(RD) = C THEN S = 1
170 NEXT S
180 HOME 
190 PRINT "TMS 9918A VDP BACKGROUND COLOR DEMO"
200 PRINT : PRINT "HIT RETURN TO START AND SEE NEXT COLOR"
210 PRINT "CONTROL C TO EXIT"
215 PRINT 
220 PRINT "BACKDROP COLORS ARE:"
230 PRINT " 0 - TRANSPARENT"
240 PRINT " 1 - BLACK"
250 PRINT " 2 - MEDIUM GREEN"
260 PRINT " 3 - LIGHT GREEN"
270 PRINT " 4 - DARK BLUE"
280 PRINT " 5 - LIGHT BLUE"
290 PRINT " 6 - DARK RED"
300 PRINT " 7 - CYAN"
310 PRINT " 8 - MEDIUM RED"
320 PRINT " 9 - LIGHT RED"
330 PRINT " 10 - DARK YELLOW"
340 PRINT " 11 - LIGHT YELLOW"
350 PRINT " 12 - DARK GREEN"
360 PRINT " 13 - MAGENTA"
370 PRINT " 14 - GREY"
380 PRINT " 15 - WHITE"
390 GET X$
400 POKE WR,0: POKE WR,128
410 POKE WR,128: POKE WR,129
420 FOR X = 0 TO 15
430 POKE WR,X: POKE WR,135
440 GET X$
450 IF X$ = CHR$(3) THEN 480
460 NEXT X
470 GOTO 420
480 CALL 768



#58 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Wed Mar 9, 2016 10:03 AM

Here's some Assy code that can be adopted to perform the slot detection task:

* SLOT FINDER

SLTFDR LDX #$07 ;CHK 7 SLOTS

SLOT1 LDA #$00 ;WR SETUP

JSR WVREG

LDA #$40

JSR WVREG

LDA #$55 ;WR $55 AND $AA TO

JSR WVRAM ;1ST 2 VRAM ADDR

LDA #$AA

JSR WVRAM

LDA #$00 ;RD SETUP

JSR WVREG

JSR WVREG

JSR RVRAM ;RD 1ST BYTE

CMP #$55 ;= DATA WRITTEN?

BNE NXTSLT ;CHK NEXT SLOT

JSR RVRAM ;RD 2ND BYTE

CMP #$AA ;= DATA WRITTEN?

BNE NXTSLT ;CHK NEXT SLOT

JSR SOFF ;TURN OFF PSG

RTS

NXTSLT LDA SNDATA+1

SEC

SBC #$10 ;PSG DATA

STA SNDATA+1

SBC #$01 ;PSG LATCH ADDR

STA LTCHAD+1

SBC #$02 ;WVREG

STA WVREG+1

SBC #$01 ;WVRAM

STA WVRAM+1

SBC #$01 ;RSTAT

STA RSTAT+1

SBC #$01 ;RVRAM

STA RVRAM+1

DEX

BNE SLOT1 ;CHK NEXT SLOT

BRK  ;NOT FOUND



#59 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,600 posts

Posted Wed Mar 23, 2016 7:51 PM

Has anyone done a You Tube video yet of an Apple running it?



#60 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:29 AM

I'll record something this weekend. 



#61 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,600 posts

Posted Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:45 AM

I'll record something this weekend. 

 

 Looking forward to it.  :thumbsup:



#62 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:40 PM

With all due respect, I have missed my promised deadline. I'm finding that to type in assy programs on a Mac, I have to type into textedit, run Virtual ][ with the monitor running, paste the text in, save it to an existing disk image, move that to the GS via CFFA, then run the image to check for errors. I had tried just saving to a file, then transferring the file with AppleCider, and setting the file type, but the line-endings always come out wrong.

 

But I'm almost done with a demo.

 

An uthernet card arrived, but I have no idea how to use it just yet. No time. I guess I could open the GS (which with my setup is a pain) and move the F18A temporarily to slot 7 to run the Spritecard demo software just to film, but it is kinda not the best demo. They  show sprites shite-ing and flipping off the screen. I'm serious, it's weird. As long as I have the machine open to install the Uthernet I might as well record a video of that bizzare demo.



#63 Arbee OFFLINE  

Arbee

    Star Raider

  • 60 posts

Posted Wed Mar 30, 2016 12:56 PM

Here is a link to the manual for the SuperSprite card (Thanks Paul), might be useful for you also. ( I have pushed a copy into the Asimov incoming folder)

 

https://dl.dropboxus...s-manual-cs.pdf

 

/Rob

 

Excellent.  I'll add complete SuperSprite support to the next MAME (including the speech and AY-3-8912).



#64 pneubauer OFFLINE  

pneubauer

    Combat Commando

  • 7 posts

Posted Sat Apr 2, 2016 4:10 PM

I look forward to trying this, although it will be a few weeks before I get a board from OSH Park.  Thank you for creating this.

 

I do have "Sprite Logo" from LCSI (http://www.bluerwhit...ng-sprite-logo/), and I want to get this software working with the F18A.



#65 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Sat Apr 2, 2016 10:24 PM

I do have "Sprite Logo" from LCSI 

should be fine, depending on what slot it might expect. It seems some software does a proper check for the 9918A, others just assume you put it in the slot they decided you'd use.

 

I have a demo ready to run, if I can get all the code to paste into the monitor correctly.



#66 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Sun Apr 3, 2016 4:44 PM

A simple test, with //GS video on VGA and F18A video on a DVI input. Background noise courtesy of Herman's Head.

https://youtu.be/JoeJWYINToc



#67 rwiker OFFLINE  

rwiker

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts

Posted Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:50 AM

A simple test, with //GS video on VGA and F18A video on a DVI input. Background noise courtesy of Herman's Head.

https://youtu.be/JoeJWYINToc

 

That looks pretty neat - I may have to get one or two of those for my Apple ][s.



#68 polyex OFFLINE  

polyex

    Chopper Commander

  • 105 posts
  • Location:32068

Posted Tue Jun 7, 2016 10:56 PM

A simple test, with //GS video on VGA and F18A video on a DVI input. Background noise courtesy of Herman's Head.

https://youtu.be/JoeJWYINToc

Would it ever be possible to have them on the same output like the Ti99?



#69 iKarith OFFLINE  

iKarith

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Wed Jun 8, 2016 12:46 AM

Interesting.  It seems to me that you could probably turn this into an 80 column card replacement for the 8 bit Apple without too much fuss.  You'd need a ROM (to tell it what to do when you PR#3) and you'd basically need to build a terminal driver somehow or other.  I'd suggest a small AVR could do it.

 

I have no idea how you'd do the 64k RAM upgrade in the //e 80 column card with it, and I have NO idea how you'd use it without major stuff done with the VGC or ... something.

 

Interesting!



#70 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Wed Jun 8, 2016 8:13 AM

The usual method of overlaying video with the TI chips was to use a genlock input on the 9918a. The creator of the F18a, Matt, elected not to add those pin functions because they were not used by the 99/4a.

It would be a relatively simple matter to build a routine to move the 80 column video to the F18a output, and since I put this together as a rainy day project, i just need some free time to work on it. As for the 64K, you could utilize the F18a's ram in some way, and possibly do a lot more in the way of ram-disks, etc. Remember that a comparitively powerful 100MHz computer is on the F18A that should be able to respond and manipulate data fast enough that the Apple is returned results as fast as the 6502 can read them. Matthew tells me that the f18a video ram can also be used as computational ram space for the fpga.

#71 iKarith OFFLINE  

iKarith

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Wed Jun 8, 2016 6:26 PM

That's not necessary if you give the interface card some ROM to tell the Apple // how to do it and perhaps provide a small microcontroller onboard to emulate the videx standard.  That'd work with all 8-bit Apple // machines, and it'd replace your 80 colum card.  How to replace the //e extended 80 column card I'm not sure, unless it actually sat in the aux slot.



#72 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:53 PM

That's not necessary if you give the interface card some ROM to tell the Apple // how to do it and perhaps provide a small microcontroller onboard to emulate the videx standard.  That'd work with all 8-bit Apple // machines, and it'd replace your 80 colum card.  How to replace the //e extended 80 column card I'm not sure, unless it actually sat in the aux slot.

 

Interesting stuff to investigate. Remember that we already have a 100 MHz computer in the F18A, so maybe a microcontroller wouldn't be needed.



#73 polyex OFFLINE  

polyex

    Chopper Commander

  • 105 posts
  • Location:32068

Posted Sun Jun 12, 2016 8:49 PM

I look forward to trying this, although it will be a few weeks before I get a board from OSH Park.  Thank you for creating this.

 

I do have "Sprite Logo" from LCSI (http://www.bluerwhit...ng-sprite-logo/), and I want to get this software working with the F18A.

Are the Sprite Logo disk images available anywhere? I ordered a few boards and would like to start experimenting.


Edited by polyex, Sun Jun 12, 2016 8:50 PM.


#74 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 412 posts

Posted Mon Jun 13, 2016 8:33 AM

Are the Sprite Logo disk images available anywhere? I ordered a few boards and would like to start experimenting.

 

Look for Terrapin Logo on Asimov.



#75 pneubauer OFFLINE  

pneubauer

    Combat Commando

  • 7 posts

Posted Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:13 PM

Are the Sprite Logo disk images available anywhere? I ordered a few boards and would like to start experimenting.

Not yet.  But, I'll image the disk and share.  I suspect that Sprite Logo won't work with the AppleTi card because the original LCSI sprite card has a small EPROM.  I'll try it and report back.





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users