Jump to content

Photo

RespeQt on Raspberry Pi?


43 replies to this topic

#26 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • 508 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:49 PM

There was an issue with the Qt file dialog windows, with case sensitivity of the file suffixes (atr is not equal ATR), but I didn't see it with the newest Qt.

Can you try the precompiled binaries from my post above?



#27 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • 508 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Fri Mar 18, 2016 2:37 AM

R3 binaries: http://atariage.com/...d/#entry3471143



#28 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,631 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:45 PM

I downloaded the R3 source and compiled on my RPi2 this evening - up and running in less than 10 minutes just like last time. Running great here. 



#29 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,631 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sun Jul 24, 2016 5:34 PM

So for what it's worth, I downloaded the current repository from Git on the RPi2 that I use for SIO emulation with my A8 machines. I experimented with manually setting the POKEY divisor but haven't changed the error delay timing at all ... at any rate, my first try let me boot my 800XL with a nifty little speed boost. :)

 

IMG_6376.JPG



#30 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,631 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Mon Jul 25, 2016 5:47 AM

Okay, so a little follow-up. On my RPi2, I can go as low as POKEY divisor 3 and get reliable transfers at a bit over 89 kbps. Any higher causes stuttering and dropping back to 19.2. So far as I can tell, changing the delay timing from the default 860 µs makes things worse rather than better, whether I increase the delay or lower it.  



#31 David_P OFFLINE  

David_P

    Dragonstomper

  • 767 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Feb 26, 2017 6:01 PM

Any advice on how I can get this running on my PogoPlug (v2), running ArchLinux?  Assume I know enough about the command line in Linux to be dangerous...



#32 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,631 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:01 PM

Any advice on how I can get this running on my PogoPlug (v2), running ArchLinux?  Assume I know enough about the command line in Linux to be dangerous...

 

I don't know what a PogoPlug is, but if it has enough storage and can run X applications, you should be able follow the installation instructions up-thread.

 

Personally, I've built and run RespeQt on both an RPi3 and RPi2, and I just tonight ordered a new RPi ZeroW that I plan to try it on. If it works well enough, I'm eventually going to find a way to interface it with a touchscreen and mount the whole thing inside a dead Atari peripheral. 



#33 David_P OFFLINE  

David_P

    Dragonstomper

  • 767 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:36 PM

It's an ARM5 at 1.2ghz with 256mb RAM. Headless system with GigE and 4 USB 2.0 ports.

I'll give it a whirl and see what comes out the other end.

#34 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,631 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 4:32 PM

It's an ARM5 at 1.2ghz with 256mb RAM. Headless system with GigE and 4 USB 2.0 ports.

I'll give it a whirl and see what comes out the other end.

 

Good luck! 



#35 dkerfoot OFFLINE  

dkerfoot

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Holland, MI

Posted Wed Mar 8, 2017 9:22 AM

Seems to me that the new Pi Zero W would be a perfect match for this.  Has anyone tried running RespeQt on a zero yet?



#36 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,631 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Mar 8, 2017 10:29 AM

Seems to me that the new Pi Zero W would be a perfect match for this.  Has anyone tried running RespeQt on a zero yet?

 

I've got one on the way to me from Canakit as I type - should be here any day now. :) 



#37 dkerfoot OFFLINE  

dkerfoot

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Holland, MI

Posted Wed Mar 8, 2017 12:33 PM

 

I've got one on the way to me from Canakit as I type - should be here any day now. :)

Please update us once you have had a chance to experiment.  I'd like to benefit from your hard work.  :)



#38 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,631 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Fri Mar 10, 2017 8:36 PM

Please update us once you have had a chance to experiment.  I'd like to benefit from your hard work.   :)

 

I received my Pi Zero W this afternoon and I'm happy to report success! RespeQt is working great, serving up files to my 800XL easily at 57,600 bps. I haven't yet experimented with the software modes for higher speeds.

 

One caveat - the Pi Zero W with its limited RAM and single-core processor is a lot slower at compiling; it took me well over 30 minutes to compile RespeQt (as opposed to about 10 minutes on my RPi2 that I had previously been using). 



#39 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,631 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:49 PM

Okay, today I did a bit more testing. My device nominally uses DSR handshaking. With that left as-is, RespeQt on the RPi Zero W can easily handle POKEY divisor 3 speeds (~89kbps).  With handshaking set to NONE, I can safely boot and load files at POKEY divisor 0, 125kpbs. Admittedly, I didn't do much testing beyond booting Atari DOS 2.5, load a small BASIC file, and test-booting a couple of .XEX's, but it all worked great.

 

I can't WAIT until I can integrate a touch display and build a small standalone widget!



#40 dkerfoot OFFLINE  

dkerfoot

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Holland, MI

Posted Wed May 17, 2017 10:16 AM

I'm playing with connecting the Raspberry Pi Zero W UART through an SIO23v3 (https://oshpark.com/...ojects/cvBmkVl4) voltage shifter.

 

I've noticed that whenever I have the Atari off, the Pi's CPU pegs out at 100% and stays there.  When I turn the Atari on and the actual data transfer begins, CPU use drops to around 20%.  Curious if this is a software bug or if there is an explanation for why it happens?

 

The user manual references HIAS' AtariSIO.  It says it requires an RS232.  Wondering if it actually requires the RS232 or if it would work over RPI UART?  If yes, what advantage would it bring over using the ttyAMA0?

 

I originally had some real problems connecting via ttyAMA0.  In the process I learned a few things.  The RPI3 and Zero W both use ttyAMA0 for bluetooth.  Apparently they added an additional serial port (ttySO) but it is partially implemented via software and I couldn't get it to connect at all.  

First, I used sudo raspi-config to disable Console from the Serial but enable Serial.  I then forced bluetooth to use ttySO via the following:

$ sudo nano /boot/config.txt and added:  dtoverlay=pi3-miniuart-bt

Save and reboot.

 

I realize the overlay is specific to pi3, but it worked for me on the Zero W.  It is also suggested to set core_freq=250 to enable bluetooth to actually work.  I am not sure if that setting would be the same for the Zero W and don't need actually bluetooth for the moment, so I didn't mess with it.

Here is the original article I followed:
http://spellfoundry....including-pi-3/


 


Edited by dkerfoot, Wed May 17, 2017 10:20 AM.


#41 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • 508 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Wed May 17, 2017 11:57 AM

I'm playing with connecting the Raspberry Pi Zero W UART through an SIO23v3 (https://oshpark.com/...ojects/cvBmkVl4) voltage shifter.

 

I've noticed that whenever I have the Atari off, the Pi's CPU pegs out at 100% and stays there.  When I turn the Atari on and the actual data transfer begins, CPU use drops to around 20%.  Curious if this is a software bug or if there is an explanation for why it happens?

 

The user manual references HIAS' AtariSIO.  It says it requires an RS232.  Wondering if it actually requires the RS232 or if it would work over RPI UART?  If yes, what advantage would it bring over using the ttyAMA0?

 

I originally had some real problems connecting via ttyAMA0.  In the process I learned a few things.  The RPI3 and Zero W both use ttyAMA0 for bluetooth.  Apparently they added an additional serial port (ttySO) but it is partially implemented via software and I couldn't get it to connect at all.  

First, I used sudo raspi-config to disable Console from the Serial but enable Serial.  I then forced bluetooth to use ttySO via the following:

$ sudo nano /boot/config.txt and added:  dtoverlay=pi3-miniuart-bt

Save and reboot.

 

I realize the overlay is specific to pi3, but it worked for me on the Zero W.  It is also suggested to set core_freq=250 to enable bluetooth to actually work.  I am not sure if that setting would be the same for the Zero W and don't need actually bluetooth for the moment, so I didn't mess with it.

Here is the original article I followed:
http://spellfoundry....including-pi-3/


 

 

Regarding your connection between RPI and ATARI.

I guess you didn't connect a command line, did you?

In case you didn't and you use "NONE" or "SOFTWARE" handshake, a high CPU load is normal (RespeQt tries to read data all the time).

 

Do you use r4?

https://github.com/j...releases/tag/r4

 

Long time ago I played with RPI 1:

http://atariage.com/...pi-as-a-floppy/

and I remember that there was only TxD and RxD signals available on the GPIO PINs at that time.

 

Regarding AtariSIO from HIAS - it is not possible on RPI.

AtariSIO is a device driver, which requires a UART triggering a IRQ when a single byte is in an input buffer.

HIAS explained me that the UART in Broadcom chip used in RPI can only trigger an IRQ, when at least 2 bytes are there... NO GO

 

My recommendation - use the USB version of a SIO2PC cable :)



#42 dkerfoot OFFLINE  

dkerfoot

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Holland, MI

Posted Thu May 18, 2017 1:00 PM

 

Regarding your connection between RPI and ATARI.

I guess you didn't connect a command line, did you?

In case you didn't and you use "NONE" or "SOFTWARE" handshake, a high CPU load is normal (RespeQt tries to read data all the time).

 

Do you use r4?

https://github.com/j...releases/tag/r4

 

Long time ago I played with RPI 1:

http://atariage.com/...pi-as-a-floppy/

and I remember that there was only TxD and RxD signals available on the GPIO PINs at that time.

 

Regarding AtariSIO from HIAS - it is not possible on RPI.

AtariSIO is a device driver, which requires a UART triggering a IRQ when a single byte is in an input buffer.

HIAS explained me that the UART in Broadcom chip used in RPI can only trigger an IRQ, when at least 2 bytes are there... NO GO

 

My recommendation - use the USB version of a SIO2PC cable :)

 

Yes, command is connected through the level shifter to GPIO 17, just like this:  http://atariage.com/...y/#entry2698490

Yes R4

Thanks for info on AtariSIO.  I appreciate you saving me time going down a dead-end!

 

I do have one of Sloopy's SIO2PC-USBs.  It works about the same as the UART.  The speed keeps dropping down to 19200 even when set faster and the CPU maxes out.  I'd really like to get the UART connection working better since it make such a nice compact solution with the RPI0W.



#43 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Dragonstomper

  • 508 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, D / Kraków, PL

Posted Thu May 18, 2017 1:25 PM

 

Yes, command is connected through the level shifter to GPIO 17, just like this:  http://atariage.com/...y/#entry2698490

Yes R4

Thanks for info on AtariSIO.  I appreciate you saving me time going down a dead-end!

 

I do have one of Sloopy's SIO2PC-USBs.  It works about the same as the UART.  The speed keeps dropping down to 19200 even when set faster and the CPU maxes out.  I'd really like to get the UART connection working better since it make such a nice compact solution with the RPI0W.

 

The normal version of the RespeQt does not support sensing on Raspberry's GPIO PINs for a command line signal.

 

You can find a link to an old (0.8.7) modified version of AspeQt which uses a GPIO PIN 17 for handshake here:

http://atariage.com/...y/#entry2698490

Perhaps this will work better for you?

I used it with RPI ver.1 (single core like RPI0W) and had good performance.

 

The other option is to use the latest version of the RespeQt and set the Handshake setting to "NONE" (in this case the GPIO PIN 17 is not used at all).

 

I didn't know Sloopy's SIO2PC-USBs, but quickly searched and found out, that you need "DSR" as a handshake setting in RespeQt:

http://atariage.com/...-3#entry2390626



#44 dkerfoot OFFLINE  

dkerfoot

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Holland, MI

Posted Fri May 19, 2017 8:13 AM

 

The normal version of the RespeQt does not support sensing on Raspberry's GPIO PINs for a command line signal.

 

You can find a link to an old (0.8.7) modified version of AspeQt which uses a GPIO PIN 17 for handshake here:

http://atariage.com/...y/#entry2698490

Perhaps this will work better for you?

I used it with RPI ver.1 (single core like RPI0W) and had good performance.

 

The other option is to use the latest version of the RespeQt and set the Handshake setting to "NONE" (in this case the GPIO PIN 17 is not used at all).

 

I didn't know Sloopy's SIO2PC-USBs, but quickly searched and found out, that you need "DSR" as a handshake setting in RespeQt:

http://atariage.com/...-3#entry2390626

Ah, I misunderstood.  I assumed that you had built the command line function into all later versions.  

I won't be able to play with it again for a couple days, but I'll let you know what I find when I do.





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users