IGNORED

Atari 810 crash course lesson needed.

Scooter83

Even though Ive been collecting for nearly 20 yrs I never used the 810 for anything more than a paperweight. ( shame to say that ). Ive been a cart person for so many years and growing up with an XEGS and never had a disk drive I relied on typing in programs and carts. Anywho I was wondering anyone know how a quick how to when it comes to using the 810. I can hook it up, but for as commands and such. Any help would be a help. I could research it i know but sometimes people here have an easier way of explaining it .

You can find an owner's guide here.

First you need to set the 810 to drive #1 with by pushing both the black and the white drive code switches in the little hole next to the power jack on the rear towards the SIO connector as the Atari will only boot from drive #1. (There should be a little graphic on the rear label showing the different settings.)

Then you need to connect the 810 to a proper power supply (9VAC, about 3A).

Then you need to connect the 810 and the Atari computer with a SIO cable.

Atari discs basically come in two flavours:

1) Discs with a DOS on them that boots and allows you (or a program) to access this disc or other discs without a Dos on them.

2) Self-booting discs without DOS (usually games).

Self-booting discs use the ability of the Atari to perform very basic disc I/O (basically reading and writing data from memory to disc sectors and v.v.). DOS loads itself using this mechanism and adds a file manager (to have access to named files, a directory, etc.) and a menu.

Both are booted by turning on the disc drive, inserting the disc, closing the drive and then turning on the Atari. You'll hear a bip-bip-bip noise while data is transferred.

To boot games you might have to hold Option while turning on the device to disable BASIC (or the built-in Missile Command on the XEGS).