Jump to content

Photo

Ultimate Cart - Users thread

Ultimate cart sd multicart

44 replies to this topic

#26 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,583 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:49 PM

Hi, can someone help me out. I need a working Mario Bros. for the XEGS working rom. I keep getting an error message. I got the game from Atarimania. I need a working game for a game review I am doing, thanks.

I get the following message Error: Bad Rom/Car File?

 

 

Attached File  Mario Bros..car.txt   64.02KB   86 downloads

 

This is a car file made from the rom file you posted.  Works with Atariwin Plus 4.0

 

strip the TXT extension and just leave the ..car

 

 
 



#27 Protestari OFFLINE  

Protestari

    Dragonstomper

  • 630 posts
  • Location:Toronto Canada

Posted Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:49 AM

 

 

attachicon.gifMario Bros..car.txt

 

This is a car file made from the rom file you posted.  Works with Atariwin Plus 4.0

 

strip the TXT extension and just leave the ..car

 

 
 

 

Thank you very much. I will try it tonight. I appreciate your help.



#28 Protestari OFFLINE  

Protestari

    Dragonstomper

  • 630 posts
  • Location:Toronto Canada

Posted Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:00 PM

 

 

attachicon.gifMario Bros..car.txt

 

This is a car file made from the rom file you posted.  Works with Atariwin Plus 4.0

 

strip the TXT extension and just leave the ..car

 

 
 

 

Hi, It works great. Can you tell me what was wrong with that file? Thanks



#29 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,583 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:26 PM

Just a bad CART header line.  The header is a 16 byte add on to the File to ID the type and banking for the ROM..  This one needed the XEGS Switching

 

Capture.PNG



#30 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,585 posts

Posted Sun Oct 9, 2016 2:14 PM

Hmmm,

 

would like to update my older Ultimate cart. to the newest firmware with XEX loader, but I am completely lost... (but I do have at least an Altera programmer / USB-Blaster)...

 

- creating an account at Alterra was awful as hell, after this was done, I tried to download a Quartus 15.1 version and it took approx. 100 clicks where it always moved me back to the start page (no clue why), but after a while I came to the download page; here the same thing happend, I clicked onto one of the many download versions and it moved me back...

 

- after another 100 tries (download version 15.1, Windows OS, direct download) I finally reached the page where I could choose between Pro Edition, Standard Edition and Lite Edition

 

Question 1: Which version (Pro, Standard, Lite) do I need ? Or doesn`t it matter ?!?

 

- I simply chose the Lite version, now a new page comes up (still no download!):

Quartus Prime Lite Edition (Free), Quartus Prime (includes NIOS II EDS), ModelSim-Altera Edition (includes Starter Edition)

 

Question 2: Which one do I need ? Or do I need all of them ?

 

- there are even more choices: DEVICES: You must install device support for at least one device family to use the Quartus prime software. ARRIA II Device support, Cyclone IV device support, Cyclone V device support, Max II / Max V device support, MAX 10 FPGA device support

 

Question 3: Which one do I need ? Or do I need to select all of them ?

 

- When I select all, a new window opens up (still no download!): Akamai NetSession Interface, to download the selected software you first have to install this download manager, bladebladebla. I never use such download managers, because most ot the time they do things I do not want automatically...

 

So I clicked here and there dozens of times and downloaded some single files (still not sure, if these are the right ones), e.g.  Quartus Lite 15.1.0.185-windows.tar (size: 5.2 GB) and ModelSimSetup-15.1.0.185-windows.exe (size 1.1 GB);

 

Question 4: Are these files okay or do I need something else ?

 

Are they completely nuts at Altera ? Do they want to avoid that anyone is downloading their software ? Do I need a special IT degree or diploma to unterstand their process of creating an account, logging in and downloading some software ?!? Can I take revenge on them for endlessly wasting my time and most likely downloading stuff I do not need, while forgetting to download software I require ? Could someone kill that Altera page...?!?

 

Question 5: Last not least, assuming I get the software I need downloaded one day (hopefully, before the Apocalypse) - will that software work with Win XP 32 Bit (SP 2)...?!? Or can I stop searching and downloading, because it will not work with Win XP anyway ?!?

 

"Thanks for choosing Altera". No, never again!

May the next A8 hardware never ever use Altera again, please !!!


Edited by CharlieChaplin, Sun Oct 9, 2016 2:16 PM.


#31 electrotrains OFFLINE  

electrotrains

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Scotland

Posted Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:16 AM

Hmmm,

 

would like to update my older Ultimate cart. to the newest firmware with XEX loader, but I am completely lost... (but I do have at least an Altera programmer / USB-Blaster)...

 

 

 

Have a look at the firmware upgrade guide posted by mulcmu earlier in the thread.

http://atariage.com/...read/?p=3459873

 

Send me a PM if you're still stuck?

 

Robin



#32 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,585 posts

Posted Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:02 PM

 

Have a look at the firmware upgrade guide posted by mulcmu earlier in the thread.

http://atariage.com/...read/?p=3459873

 

Send me a PM if you're still stuck?

 

Robin

 

Yep,

 

found the guide yesterday late at night (while I already had it for several months, ouch) and downloaded the mentioned software Quartus Prime Programmer and Tools, which is available in two versions a) Windows and b) Windows 32 bit. Since I have Win XP 32 bit, I tried to install the 32 Bit version first, but shortly before it was fully installed it showed a window with "An Error occured. Aborting Installation" (well, in german language: Ein Fehler ist aufgetreten. Installation wird abgebrochen.) and the program then did not work. Therefore I guess it was Win XP and not the program that gave me this error message...

 

So I tried the other version which told me that it was for Windows 64Bit and asked me if I still wanted to install it - but this time it was me who aborted the installation. Looks like none of the newer Quartus versions is working under Win XP (SP2) 32Bit, not sure if one would work with Win XP SP3 or if one would work with Win XP at all. (Other OS I have for the PC are Win 2000 with SP4 and MS-DOS 6.22 plus Win 3.11, so atm Win XP is the newest OS I have...)

 

I am gonna visit my friend in a few days and try the software under Vista and/or Win7, but if the Quartus software still does not work, then I have to send my Ultimate cart. to someone for updating it. If so, who would be willing to do that for me - Robin? Panos ? someone else ? Of course I would pay full shipping costs and everything else that may produce costs...

 

-Andreas.


Edited by CharlieChaplin, Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:03 PM.


#33 electrotrains OFFLINE  

electrotrains

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Scotland

Posted Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:54 PM

Andreas,

 

I can upgrade it for you - just send me a PM.

 

Robin



#34 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • 735 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:08 PM

Question 5: Last not least, assuming I get the software I need downloaded one day (hopefully, before the Apocalypse) - will that software work with Win XP 32 Bit (SP 2)...?!? Or can I stop searching and downloading, because it will not work with Win XP anyway ?!?

 

 

:-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D

 

Andreas you are awesome! Believe me I fully understand your indignation about it.

 

From my little experience, all these companies Altera, Xilinx, Lattice, not care for the simple user who just need to work their programmer.

Conversely to have just the programmer, you need to d/l all of their program suite, available in some dozens of MB or even GB's  some times. 

Now especially the Altera on their latest program suite (who support the MAX 10 family), need Windows 7 64 bit to work! You can try also the WinXP 64 bit, but...... if ever you got it to work,  just tell me your solution.... ;)  :-D

 

So with a windows 7 64 bit machine on your side, go to the below link and d/l the package. Check  from "Quartus Prime Lite Edition (Free)" only the tag "Quartus Prime (includes Nios II EDS)", and from "Devices" only the tag "MAX 10 FPGA device support".

 

After that you will able to program your Ultimate Cartridge.

As a info, on this latest programming Suite look like the Altera improve their programmer, and now can load the data in one pass and very fast, contrary to the previous version.

Of course this have not much impact to the single user, but is very helpful for someone who have to program a lot of devices.  ;)

 

http://dl.altera.com...0/?edition=lite

 

System requirements for Altera suite support the newest MAX 10 family to work. Programmer also included.

 

http://dl.altera.com...uirements/16.0/


Edited by santosp, Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:16 PM.


#35 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,585 posts

Posted Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:51 PM

Thank you for that information, Panos !

 

Today I also downloaded this software and at the weekend I will visit my friend (who has Win 7 64Bit available) and we will try to update the Ultimate cart...



#36 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • 735 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:32 PM

Andreas,

maybe this also work. I have not tried it myself. Is their latest edition of standalone programmer, in a size of 360 MB.

Go on the below link, choose "Additional Software" tag, and from there d/l the "Quartus Prime Programmer and Tools" file. Maybe is better idea to try this one first.

 

http://dl.altera.com..._manager=direct



#37 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,585 posts

Posted Thu Oct 13, 2016 11:37 AM

Andreas,

maybe this also work. I have not tried it myself. Is their latest edition of standalone programmer, in a size of 360 MB.

Go on the below link, choose "Additional Software" tag, and from there d/l the "Quartus Prime Programmer and Tools" file. Maybe is better idea to try this one first.

 

http://dl.altera.com..._manager=direct

 

Did download this already - and noticed it does not work with WIN XP, but will also test this software with my friend`s Win 7 (64Bit) at the weekend. If both the "Quartus Prime Programmer and tools" and the "Quartus Prime (includes NIOS II EDS)" do not work, then I will send my Ultimate Cart to Robin for updating...



#38 Jungsi OFFLINE  

Jungsi

    Star Raider

  • 53 posts
  • Location:Bavaria - Germany

Posted Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:35 AM

I'am also failing at upgrading the firmware - I've spent several hours - I've followod all instructions and read it 10 times. 

The last was the above programmer software on Windows 10 from Altera - Windows 10 is very often crashing with this.

I always get a jtag error 34 or 35

Is there a chance that someone will upgrade the firmware for me? :-)



#39 electrotrains OFFLINE  

electrotrains

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Scotland

Posted Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:33 AM

Hi Jungsi,

 

If you got the cart from me, I'd be willing to upgrade it for you.

 

However, I'm a bit reluctant to offer a general upgrade service, since there have now been many production runs by different people (and perhaps some I don't even know about since this is an open-source design) and it all takes time including parcelling things up and trips to the post office.

 

Hopefully somebody in Germany can offer to do it for you? If that doesn't happen, send me a PM in a few days and I'll try to arrange something for you?

 

Robin



#40 Jungsi OFFLINE  

Jungsi

    Star Raider

  • 53 posts
  • Location:Bavaria - Germany

Posted Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:29 AM

Hi Robin,
thanks for your answer - the board wasn't made by you.
Maybe someone here in Germany will contact me for the upgrade :-)
Gerhard

#41 billkendrick OFFLINE  

billkendrick

    Chopper Commander

  • 120 posts
  • Location:Davis, CA

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:44 PM

Just a bad CART header line.  The header is a 16 byte add on to the File to ID the type and banking for the ROM..  This one needed the XEGS Switching

 

attachicon.gifCapture.PNG

 

So how does one do this to the Summer Games (XE cart) ROM dump? :)  My Ultimate Cart's reporting a similar error.  I did a hexdump of the Mario Bros ROMs in this thread (non-working, vs the one you fixed up), and saw _one byte_ difference. I attempted to hack the same change in the SG dump, but to no avail. I have no idea what I'm doing, though. :)

 

Is there a description of cart ROM headers out there that I could work off of?  Or clues you give me?  Thanks!!!



#42 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,583 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:50 PM

 

So how does one do this to the Summer Games (XE cart) ROM dump? :)  My Ultimate Cart's reporting a similar error.  I did a hexdump of the Mario Bros ROMs in this thread (non-working, vs the one you fixed up), and saw _one byte_ difference. I attempted to hack the same change in the SG dump, but to no avail. I have no idea what I'm doing, though. :)

 

Is there a description of cart ROM headers out there that I could work off of?  Or clues you give me?  Thanks!!!

I believe that SG is an XEGS-SWITCHABLE 64k Cart.  So when using the rom 2 cart utility verify that you select the proper selection.  Or your rom may be bad and you need to get another.

 

Attached File  cart8BIT2010.txt   25.92KB   37 downloads

 

Attached File  Summer Games.rom   128KB   34 downloads

 

I found a good XEGS 128k switchable.

 


Edited by rdea6, Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:05 PM.


#43 Justin Payne ONLINE  

Justin Payne

    Dragonstomper

  • 754 posts
  • Busy updating XEGS Podcast website to Angular2
  • Location:Kent, Washington, USA

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 8:10 PM

Thanks! I'll give it a shot.
I've just started to use the UCart and I had seen mention of the Rom 2 Cart utility but my quick search didn't come up with anything. Can you tell me where that might be posted?



#44 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,583 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 8:49 PM

http://www.wudsn.com...arirommaker.zip



#45 billkendrick OFFLINE  

billkendrick

    Chopper Commander

  • 120 posts
  • Location:Davis, CA

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:57 PM

Awwww yeah, thanks! :) Thanks so much!







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Ultimate, cart, sd, multicart

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users