IGNORED

Game Engines? infocom or Synapse.. what is status?

Bikerbob

Hello all, now that I have pulled the atari out and started getting into the the 'scene' again. I wondered what I would want to do that would contribute to the community.

I am not a great coder, I am not a hardware designer, I do love to do mods, and consider myself pretty good with a soldering iron. I am a mechanic, so I love to fix and tinker. I also love to play Roleplaying games.. but OLD SCHOOL pen and paper Roleplaying games.

To that end I LOVED INFOCOM, even Adventure International.. I loved text adventures. I think the INFOCOM items were software I always lined up to buy when it came out. The only ones that if someone put a new one up on Ebay.. I would buy.. and open it.. and play it! :)

I also know that INFOCOM created an engine of sorts for dealing with text input, and that later Synapse came out with BTZ (Better than Zork) text input engine. I think I would love to try my hand at writing a text adventure. IS there any information what happened to this software? IS it possible to reverse engineer it from a game?

What is the legal status of that at this point?

I did write my own on the level of AI text games, back in the day.. it was a 9 room dungeon adventure, and the vocabulary was about 24 words and the if/than tables I had to make in basic back then were crazy. and huge just for 9 locations with on average 5-7 actions possible in a given location.

Anyway.. would love to hear about anything you might know.. can I use these "engines" to help me write my new "electronic novel" :)

James

Hello James,

Certainly check out any "Inform" site as those tools can be used to define and create your adventure.

For running on the Atari 8-bits you'll need to target the '3' commands as the interpreter only reached that level on the Atari.