Photo

What is the best version of BASIC for the ST for general purpose questions?

15 replies to this topic

#1 atarifanboi OFFLINE  

atarifanboi

Chopper Commander

• 224 posts

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 2:19 AM

I've become interested in programming on the ST, and I'm looking for some recommendations as to what is the best general purpose programming version of BASIC that I can use.

Also, if there are any recommendations around possible alternatives to BASIC, I'd be happy to hear your opinions.

Thanks all.

#2 Thorsten GŁnther OFFLINE  

Thorsten GŁnther

Stargunner

• 1,159 posts

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 6:47 AM

I've become interested in programming on the ST, and I'm looking for some recommendations as to what is the best general purpose programming version of BASIC that I can use.

Also, if there are any recommendations around possible alternatives to BASIC, I'd be happy to hear your opinions.

Thanks all.

I am not really a programmer, but I dislike C (and relatives) and learned to enjoy Niklaus Wirth's languages in school, of which Modula-2 gained the most popularity on the ST (Oxyd e.g. was programmed in Modula-2).

Megamax Modula-2 is available for free from Thomas Tempelmann's site.

Here in Germany, GFA BASIC was the most successful and thus best supported version of BASIC, but I always admired the more system compliant approach of HiSoft BASIC.

#3 galax OFFLINE  

galax

Dragonstomper

• 747 posts

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 7:16 AM

I would go with GFA Basic; fast, popular, compile-able, re-usable libraries, clean syntax, lots of example code, no line numbers and English documentation. It became popular in the UK too; version 3.5 was even given away with ST Format in June 1992.

#4 Justin Payne OFFLINE  

Justin Payne

Dragonstomper

• 866 posts
  • Busy updating XEGS Podcast website to Angular6

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 7:32 AM