Jump to content

Photo

Straight cracks from Farb's ATX-Torrent


276 replies to this topic

#1 DjayBee OFFLINE  

DjayBee

    Moonsweeper

  • 363 posts
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 12:17 PM

Using ATX files with real Atari computers is not easy or straightforward.

Since I never liked cracks with modified intros or missing loading graphics, some years ago I cracked and documented some ATXs of games I liked back in the day.

 

This year I continued to do this just for fun and meanwhile have reached 140+ disks.

My first goal is to simulate the protection and needed checksums instead of just patching the protection out.

My second goal is to change as few as possible on the disk images (quite often less than 10 bytes).

 

If there is some general interest in these dumps I will make them public.

So let me know if they are of any use.



#2 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,098 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 1:28 PM

Yes, please share them.  We'd love to check them out. :)



#3 Brentarian ONLINE  

Brentarian

    Moonsweeper

  • 479 posts
  • Location:Columbus, Georgia USA

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 1:46 PM

I second that motion. Please share!

#4 invisible kid OFFLINE  

invisible kid

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:New Jersey, U.S.A.

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 6:59 PM

Thirded! I like your approach.



#5 k1w1 OFFLINE  

k1w1

    Chopper Commander

  • 118 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia

Posted Thu May 5, 2016 9:20 PM

I'm interested to see what you have done.

#6 Mr.Bacardi OFFLINE  

Mr.Bacardi

    Star Raider

  • 95 posts
  • Location:Düsseldorf / Germany

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 12:45 AM

Yes, please share!

Would love to see the "Atari smash hits" series from English Software with the original boot menu or some of the ECA Disks with original ECA intro! :)



#7 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,719 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 2:54 AM

Please do share them, all work like this is important and interesting....

 

Paul..



#8 danwinslow OFFLINE  

danwinslow

    River Patroller

  • 2,597 posts

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 6:20 AM

This work is important, please share. Preserving the Atari legacy is a real thing.



#9 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,252 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 7:35 AM

I too dislike cracked games with the lame hacker screens at the beginning like scrolling text and bouncing dot-balls, etc. And I too dislike games, like the Lucasfilm ones for example, that are missing their original loading screens, etc. So I'd love some images without the ego-driven nonsense and that has all original loading screens.

One thing I have found to be cool are some of the more recent cracks/hacks that have new art work (like rasta converter images) at the beginning. I recently played moon patrol hack and enjoyed the colorful artwork at the beginning.



#10 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,719 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 9:31 AM

The funky loading screens are big on the C64 at the moment, some real nice ones there, superb artwork...

 

Trouble is the newly added loading screen are sometimes more fun than the game they are on :)



#11 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,098 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 10:12 PM

I also dislike "lame hacker" loading screens, and prefer original loading screens.  With games that have no original loading screen, a nicely done rasta image would be great.  Floppy users may not appreciate it, but for those of us with hard drives, it would be a plus.

 

@Paul: Hopefully, our rasta screens will look more professional than those Commie funksters. :)



#12 playermissile OFFLINE  

playermissile

    Chopper Commander

  • 249 posts

Posted Fri May 6, 2016 11:05 PM

Eleventhed! Please share! You also mentioned documentation, do you have notes about what you did to break/deprotect/reprotect the disks? That would be a great resource, like the preservation work of 4am over on the Apple ][ side.



#13 DjayBee OFFLINE  

DjayBee

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 363 posts
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany

Posted Sat May 7, 2016 4:07 AM

Hi,

 

that was a lot of response. :)

Is it possible to attach a 6 MB ZIP-file to a post here on AA?

 

We'd love to check them out. :)

 

This is actually a good idea since I only do a quick test on PAL hardware and oly getting in-game.

 

Would love to see the "Atari smash hits" series from English Software with the original boot menu or some of the ECA Disks with original ECA intro! :)

 

Haven't done any English Software yet and also did not dare to tackle ECA since I remember them to be hard from back then. But we'll see.

 

And I too dislike games, like the Lucasfilm ones for example, that are missing their original loading screens, etc.

 

If you think of Ballblazer and Rescue on Fractalus: They replace the SIO-routines completely and are quite difficult.



#14 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,719 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sat May 7, 2016 5:12 AM

I also dislike "lame hacker" loading screens, and prefer original loading screens.  With games that have no original loading screen, a nicely done rasta image would be great.  Floppy users may not appreciate it, but for those of us with hard drives, it would be a plus.

 

@Paul: Hopefully, our rasta screens will look more professional than those Commie funksters. :)

 

Yes, the Atari colours are more vibrant but the content is superb on both..



#15 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,836 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Sat May 7, 2016 9:58 AM

Hi,

 

that was a lot of response. :)

Is it possible to attach a 6 MB ZIP-file to a post here on AA?

Yes I believe the limit is 10 Mbytes.  Probably zipped, but individual atr's are also up loadable.  



#16 MrFish OFFLINE  

MrFish

  • 5,474 posts

Posted Sat May 7, 2016 10:35 AM

Yes I believe the limit is 10 Mbytes.  Probably zipped, but individual atr's are also up loadable.  

 

They've recently upped it 50 MB.



#17 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,609 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Sat May 7, 2016 11:02 AM

Definite interest for use and preservation :)  As mentioned, documentation around the subject would be excellent as well.



#18 DjayBee OFFLINE  

DjayBee

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 363 posts
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany

Posted Thu May 12, 2016 3:22 PM

Here you go with what I currently have.

 

I worked along publishers and have done so far (with only a few exceptions):

Adv. Intl., APX, Avalon Hill, Broderbund, Datasoft, Epyx, First Star, Sierra On-Line, Sirius, Synapse

and by request many old educational titles from HesWare, MECC and Sunburst

 

As already said: There might be some traps later on, since I only went in-game for a short time.

Let me know.

 

Concerning the of documentation I have: I am in discussion with a board member to put them online.

 

Have fun

Attached Files



#19 invisible kid OFFLINE  

invisible kid

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:New Jersey, U.S.A.

Posted Thu May 12, 2016 8:41 PM

Played a handful, they worked flawlessly, great job.



#20 marcokitt2000 OFFLINE  

marcokitt2000

    Chopper Commander

  • 234 posts
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted Fri May 13, 2016 3:24 AM

Here you go with what I currently have.

 

I worked along publishers and have done so far (with only a few exceptions):

Adv. Intl., APX, Avalon Hill, Broderbund, Datasoft, Epyx, First Star, Sierra On-Line, Sirius, Synapse

and by request many old educational titles from HesWare, MECC and Sunburst

 

As already said: There might be some traps later on, since I only went in-game for a short time.

Let me know.

 

Concerning the of documentation I have: I am in discussion with a board member to put them online.

 

Have fun

 

Hello DjayBee

 

Thanks for the nice bootdisk toppie.

 

I have checked my bruce lee file version it's start like the boot disk only a have black dos menu s.baucke the first is black and white instead of blue screen but than it came all so with picture and music.

If some needed the file version mail me and i sent it.

 

But thanks for the good work

 

 

Greetings,

Marco


Edited by marcokitt2000, Fri May 13, 2016 3:25 AM.


#21 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Cyborg Bounty Hunter

  • 18,464 posts
  • Alita Jean
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Fri May 13, 2016 3:36 AM

LOL on the loading screens. They ain't limited to classic computers...

 

I downloaded the No Intro N64 NTSC/JP ROMsets to my Everdrive v3 and booted Banjo Tooie and got a hacker demo with rather long winded text scroll. I downloaded BT ROMs from three sources and all displayed the effects screen. Finally loaded it in PC emulator and the cracker boot screen was non-existent. Turns out that was the one game in all of the N64 library that outright refused to work with the Everdrive v3 due to sophisticated security measures put in place by RARE, so Krikzz just dumped the cracker into the Everdrive OS patch directory.

 

Apparently someone went through great effort to crack the game, then went through even greater effort to let the world know how awesome a hacker he was by adding the loader screen complete with ticker text and dated looking (by 2000s standards) particle effects.  :waving:



#22 Mr.Bacardi OFFLINE  

Mr.Bacardi

    Star Raider

  • 95 posts
  • Location:Düsseldorf / Germany

Posted Fri May 13, 2016 9:39 AM

Thanks a lot for sharing! :)

I didn't checked all yet, but I have problems to load "Drelbs" & "Electricians" under Altirra 2.70.

Both get stuck at loading screen :(



#23 DjayBee OFFLINE  

DjayBee

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 363 posts
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany

Posted Fri May 13, 2016 10:20 AM

I have problems to load "Drelbs" & "Electricians" under Altirra 2.70.

Both get stuck at loading screen :(

 

Yep, they do not run with the PAL video system. I stumbled over it when I tried them on my hardware. Setting Altirra to NTSC made them work. They do work with NTSC video and a PAL OS.

 

Interestingly Dimension X works fine in PAL.



#24 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,719 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Fri May 13, 2016 10:22 AM

Thanks a lot for sharing! :)

I didn't checked all yet, but I have problems to load "Drelbs" & "Electricians" under Altirra 2.70.

Both get stuck at loading screen :(

 

Both worked here under beta 36 but Drelbs needed to be set to 400/800 mode and firmware of a NTSC selected..

 

Electrician stops dead as it says on the scroller but does restart and goes manic while loading but does work...

 

(Noticed the scroller goes loopy near the end of the load)


Edited by Mclaneinc, Fri May 13, 2016 10:25 AM.


#25 DjayBee OFFLINE  

DjayBee

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 363 posts
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany

Posted Fri May 13, 2016 11:54 AM

Something special for Mr. Bacardi ;)

Attached Files






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users