IGNORED

How much will an atari 5200 cost?

The Atari Noob1

I am only an 11 year old and I picked up a heavy sixer woody atari 2600. My mind is set on the 5200. They seem pretty expensive. How much will a working atari 5200 with all the cables, a working controller and the 4 controller port version cost on average? I will make another post about which games are best. I am an atari noob and only own an atari flashback 3 and an atari 2600 heavy sixer woody.

• Like 4

Welcome to AtariAge!

Unfortunately, the 5200 is one of the more expensive and difficult vintage consoles to get into. Atari's original 5200 controllers are very problematic and prone to failure, and if you buy a used one, it will almost certainly require repair sooner or later. There are vendors (such as Best Electronics) which offer professionally refurbished controllers, or alternative controllers from third parties, but both options can get expensive. The four-port console itself will probably also require some work: it uses a funky combined power cable and TV switchbox that was designed for the CRT TVs of the 1980s, and it probably won't look very good on the flat-screen TV you'll probably be using with your system. So, if you really want to get the most out of it, you'll also have to make some power and A/V modifications to the console, to replace that switchbox with improved output using composite video or S-Video. I've done both modifications to my four-port 5200, and the results were worth it, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it to beginners or to those who are on a tight budget. Adding it all together, you can easily spend a few hundred dollars on a complete Atari 5200 system, especially if you pay someone else to do the repair and modification work for you.