IGNORED

XEGS with Ultimate 1Meg

Neo-Rio

Hi,

I'm new to the Atari scene after having picked up an XEGS off ebay some time ago.

I got the SIDE2 cartridge to be able to play some games on the machine only to discover that I need the ultimate 1Meg upgrade to access ATRs.

So now I have the ultimate 1Meg board (lotharek's latest revision), but just trying to figure out how to install it.

The device comes with no instructions and what I do know about the device is very sparse.

There's nowhere to mount the board with the screw provided as far as I can tell. All the holes in the board are needed by the case with the exception of this one hole in the board up near the composite ports.

This seems like it could be a good fit with the board sitting over the TV box, but the screw is too long and the top metal shield of the motherboard won't fit back on.

Do I have to drill extra holes in the motherboard? (I don't want to)

I'm thinking I might be able to get away with mounting the board up there... so long as I cut the screw with a hacksaw as well as the plastic screw cover to make them shorter to fit. Then I'm worried about grounding the board out on the TV box as I have to position the board lower.

What have other people done to mount the board in an XEGS?

As for the CPU pins... the kit came with no header for this. I am going to try and source one from a PC parts shop (perhaps a molex to PC floppy drive 4 pin prong) and hack it to fit I guess. The standard square PC fan-esque 4-pin headers don't fit because the P3 2-pin headers are in the way.

Speaking of which, what are these P3 pins for? The board says "XEGS mode". I read somewhere that jumpering those pins allows you to load replacement roms to missile command or something.

How about wiring up the cables to the CPU? So far I've desoldered the CPU and intend to drop it in a socket. I'm thinking of soldering the wires to the revelant pins on the top side of the socket.

Any ideas, suggestions?

Edited by Neo-Rio