IGNORED

What would you do with a TRS-80 Model 1?

hafner

Hi all,

I may have the opportunity to pick up a Model 1, which is exciting as they are hugely significant computers and have a neat look. However, I never actually spent time with a Model 1 (or any of the related models) back in the day and so I'm not as familiar with them as with Apple IIs, IBM PCs, Commodores, etc. I'm not really a programmer - I tend to mostly play games (even primitive CP/M games on things like Kaypros are great fun) and just tinker.

Those of you who have Model 1s or related models, what do you typically do with your machines? Are there any "killer apps," either entertainment, productivity, or something else, that really define the early TRS-80s and that would help me get the full experience? Also, any modern best practices in terms of getting software on them, similar to a CFFA3000 for Apple, Ultimate 1541 for Commodore, or XT-IDE for PCs? I've poked around some of the resources online, but much of it seems pretty old.

Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Play games. Play games. Type in BASIC listings of games. And play games. :)

If you enjoy even CP/M games, you'll like the TRS-80. I have some original tape software but otherwise I just load .WAVs from my soundcard. There are also a lot of disk games that I unfortunately don't have access to, since I don't have an expansion unit. There are a couple of devices available that simulate hard disks and disk drives, though, so there are options; they're just kind of expensive.