IGNORED

Do you guys store your code in repositories?

Just curious, mostly because I never really see it mentioned here in the 10 years that I've been on this board:

Do you guys store your code in a version controlled repository, e.g. GitHub? and if not, why not?

I've been developing software in one form or another for roughly 30 years, and all through that process, a version control system was always in play (I started with RCS, then CVS, then SVN, and when git came along, I never looked back!), mostly because it provided a convenient way for me to track my source code changes as I worked through a project, and a convenient place to store stuff in case something terrible would happen.

I do this even with my comparatively small 6502 projects, even, because at the end of the day, I want my stuff to last.

How about you guys?

-Thom

• Like 1

Absolutely. Anything that I work on for more than a few hours goes into a repository.

Right now that's Atlassian's Bitbucket (they have free private git repos).

I've got a repository per project, and a general "misc" repository where I keep small little bits of code that I've messed around with that hasn't earned a real repo yet.

http://atariage.com/forums/topic/190695-your-development-environment/?do=findComment&comment=2413535

For me, the main advantage of using a version control system is that I can easily diff between revisions. Before checking in a new feature, I always diff all the files I changed, which often reveals that I forgot something (e.g., removing debugging code).

• Like 1

For Atari 2600 projects, I personally like to keep all my code in a single file and save a backup copy (with date in filename) every time I do any substantial work. I don't really see a need for a robust version control system... unless you're doing team work like BoulderDash.

Similar to Spiceware... my blog entries also work as a repository.

• Like 1