Jump to content

Photo

TI replacement power supply


47 replies to this topic

#1 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri May 20, 2016 4:52 PM

Been looking for an all in one PSU replacement and finally found a few of these:

6ff7f620bd9d23122af54c124521afcf.jpg

Note that it supports -5, +5, and +12V.
Going to try and retrofit a five pin female DIN and put it in the case where the other PSU connector is. Will post pics when successful. Need to go get a nice Female DIN (preferably one with ears), and then I can start messing with this :-)

#2 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri May 20, 2016 4:54 PM

I hate Tapatalk. Sorry for the dupes.

#3 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 32,640 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Fri May 20, 2016 5:04 PM

Already taken care of. ;)



#4 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,600 posts

Posted Fri May 20, 2016 5:26 PM

Been looking for an all in one PSU replacement and finally found a few of these:

 

Do you have a link and price for these?



#5 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri May 20, 2016 5:32 PM

 

Do you have a link and price for these?

 

Got them here for $25 USD:  http://www.tme.eu/gb...lies/mean-well/

 

They appear to be restocking right now.  I bought three (that's what they had).

 

Edit:  Data sheet:  http://www.meanwell....spx?prod=p25a-t



#6 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,216 posts

Posted Sat May 21, 2016 5:55 AM

I just checked to see what the wait for 5 of them would be--it is a 14-week lead time. It will definitely be interesting to see if they get more of them in!



#7 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,216 posts

Posted Sat May 21, 2016 5:57 AM

Here's a US source, but note the caveat: they list it as obsolete.



#8 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Sat May 21, 2016 6:48 AM

d9e103c23b95ddcd3113e896d11d6cdb.jpg

Ordered some of these to see if they will fit.

Ksarul, I also sent a note to Meanwell US to ask them if they knew of anyone that has stock.

#9 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,216 posts

Posted Sat May 21, 2016 6:52 AM

Meanwell's site has a note that they may make more if you order them. They list prices for quantities as low as one, but the pack size is 45 or so, so that might be the minimum order number. . .



#10 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,260 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Sat May 21, 2016 4:29 PM

I like this idea, but on an emotional basis, not a technical reason. The voodoo in our users group back in the day, was that replacing the powersupply board would fix some of the weird lockups that tended to happen after a couple hours use. That might be backed up a bit by recent posts to replace the power switch.

I'd be interested to here if this is cleaner and more efficient power than TI's board? Does anyone have actual data on the TI board?

-M@

#11 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Sat May 21, 2016 4:53 PM

I like this idea, but on an emotional basis, not a technical reason. The voodoo in our users group back in the day, was that replacing the powersupply board would fix some of the weird lockups that tended to happen after a couple hours use. That might be backed up a bit by recent posts to replace the power switch.

I'd be interested to here if this is cleaner and more efficient power than TI's board? Does anyone have actual data on the TI board?

-M@

 

Well, this replaces both the AC brick and the internal PSU.  :)  I still need to figure out how to hack a power switch on here, but I don't think it will be too hard.



#12 Glen's Retro Show OFFLINE  

Glen's Retro Show

    Chopper Commander

  • 174 posts

Posted Sun May 22, 2016 6:56 AM

This is exactly what I have been looking for..hope they get more.. :(

#13 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon May 23, 2016 12:01 PM

I got this reply back from the manufacturer:

b0909007331c8827cd002f31db1cf3e7.jpg

#14 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,933 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon May 23, 2016 4:50 PM

DOE Level VI regulation.



#15 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon May 23, 2016 7:04 PM

 

Yep, and apparently the new GP25 series is so new that the resellers don't have it yet.  I sent another email reply back to Meanwell asking them when they expect resellers to have stock.

 

Their catalog is here:  http://www.meanwell....ell_product.pdf 

 

Page 63, apparently the new one we need is the GP25A13A-R1B.



#16 iKarith OFFLINE  

iKarith

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Fri May 27, 2016 2:11 AM

Does this power supply have a "power good" type signal?  Possibly not, but that'd be the obvious choice for adding a switch in the console.  This is relevant to my interests.  :)



#17 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri May 27, 2016 6:35 AM

Does this power supply have a "power good" type signal?  Possibly not, but that'd be the obvious choice for adding a switch in the console.  This is relevant to my interests.  :)

 

 

If you mean LED, no it does not.  We'd have to wire up a LED in line with a resistor and switch in the console.  Shouldn't be that hard, probably with a 150 to 330 ohm resistor on the +5V line for the red LED.

 

Don't ask me why but 330 seems to be the "drop in average" defacto standard for dropping a resistor in line with a LED and 5V supply.



#18 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri May 27, 2016 4:02 PM

228764c83cefdaceb8703c62e0c20a12.jpg

Updated info....

#19 iKarith OFFLINE  

iKarith

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Fri Jun 3, 2016 12:39 AM

 

 

If you mean LED, no it does not.  We'd have to wire up a LED in line with a resistor and switch in the console.  Shouldn't be that hard, probably with a 150 to 330 ohm resistor on the +5V line for the red LED.

 

Don't ask me why but 330 seems to be the "drop in average" defacto standard for dropping a resistor in line with a LED and 5V supply.

 

I meant a signal-level control for main power.  Something to connect a power switch in the console to without having to have it able to handle three voltages.



#20 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Sun Jun 5, 2016 1:19 PM

I was really mulling just getting something like this, to be honest.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/251523971634

#21 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,933 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sun Jun 5, 2016 3:43 PM

I was really mulling just getting something like this, to be honest.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/251523971634

 

Neat.  I can see some uses for this.



#22 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,216 posts

Posted Sun Jun 5, 2016 4:04 PM

So can I. . .



#23 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:30 PM

Well, it works :-). Decided to solder a DIN connector on instead of mutilating the existing connector in case I want to ever put the stock PSU back on.

6134e1989a2a80ea11a9796e7f2cfb4b.jpg
18b1b30751e65788051e2f5a784a550e.jpg

#24 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 981 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:51 PM

d4b83083c8bf33cf0db93ce2cc3c4357.jpg

#25 Ksarul ONLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,216 posts

Posted Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:08 PM

Now we just have to wait and see if their new series power supplies have the same outputs available. . .as this series seems to be sold out everywhere.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users