Jump to content

Photo

Lynx SD ROM Problems


98 replies to this topic

#51 Trew OFFLINE  

Trew

    Chopper Commander

  • 246 posts

Posted Sat Jul 30, 2016 2:21 AM

T-tris works with 1.6. it's the "Tetris" ROM that doesn't work.

I tried three different ROMs, and couldn't get any to work on either the SD card OR Handy... do you have a ROM that works on emulator?



#52 GadgetUK OFFLINE  

GadgetUK

    Stargunner

  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Sat Jul 30, 2016 2:45 AM

Which "Tetris" ROM - its not the (B) ROM is it - which indicates bad!  I don't have any version of the "Tetris" ROM that isn't bad.



#53 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,536 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Sat Jul 30, 2016 6:14 AM

I'll have to take a look on my computer on Monday. Why include a ROM on a ROM set that doesn't work on anything? Lol. I may as well put an n64 GoldenEye ROM on the and say oh it's a bad ROM! At any rate, at least T-Tris works and is good! Thanks for helping look into this people

#54 7800fan OFFLINE  

7800fan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,606 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted Sat Jul 30, 2016 6:26 PM

Because some emulator sometimes work with bad rom.  Slightly bad dump have been "fixed" by emulator that expects specific bad rom but consoles are not emulator, it needs perfect dump to work right.



#55 GadgetUK OFFLINE  

GadgetUK

    Stargunner

  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Sun Jul 31, 2016 3:31 AM

I'll have to take a look on my computer on Monday. Why include a ROM on a ROM set that doesn't work on anything? Lol. I may as well put an n64 GoldenEye ROM on the and say oh it's a bad ROM! At any rate, at least T-Tris works and is good! Thanks for helping look into this people

Yes, it's madness really!  When testing I finally got around to deleting over 70 ROMs marked as bad with the (B1), (B2) suffixes in the filenames.   There's literally no point in keeping them for the Lynx as the Lynx won't run them due to checksum / decryption problems.  They don't run in the emulators either.



#56 7800fan OFFLINE  

7800fan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,606 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted Tue Aug 2, 2016 4:44 PM

You can also delete all the o's if you have working dupe.  O are overdumps, basically a 128k ROM that was dumped as 256k. 



#57 GadgetUK OFFLINE  

GadgetUK

    Stargunner

  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Tue Aug 2, 2016 5:29 PM

You can also delete all the o's if you have working dupe.  O are overdumps, basically a 128k ROM that was dumped as 256k. 

Yes,. not to be confused with .O files!



#58 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2016 1:20 PM

So I finally got my SD cart(Chicago customs SUCKS!) Fired it up and this happens....

Ok so far.
image.jpeg

Then this.....
image.jpeg
It stays like that and does nothing

I got it to work but as you can see I have to seat it at a slight angle
image.jpeg

Ideas????

#59 GadgetUK OFFLINE  

GadgetUK

    Stargunner

  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2016 3:07 PM

I wonder if you have a misaligned pin in your Lynx slot?  Have you tried cleaning the card contacts?



#60 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2016 3:10 PM

I wonder if you have a misaligned pin in your Lynx slot?  Have you tried cleaning the card contacts?

Not yet. That was my first thought.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#61 SainT OFFLINE  

SainT

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,060 posts
  • Location:Gloucestershire, UK

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2016 3:31 PM

The only issues I have seen like this are solved by just cleaning the cart contacts. It may require some reasonably vigorous physical cleaning, though, if any superglue vapour has got onto them. Use a Brillo pad or very fine sandpaper (very very gently with sandpaper!) or something followed by good clean with solvent of some kind.

If I ever get any odd issues like this, it solves it without fail with the gold edge carts. The solder finish doesn't seem to suffer with this problem, interestingly...

But of course I always test with the same Lynx. We have heard of issues specific to a given Lynx, so that can't be ruled out. But I'd start by blaming the cart contacts. :)

#62 7800fan OFFLINE  

7800fan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,606 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2016 10:07 PM

I also get insert game on power on before the SD cart logo shows up. But mine seems working.



#63 SainT OFFLINE  

SainT

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,060 posts
  • Location:Gloucestershire, UK

Posted Mon Aug 8, 2016 12:56 AM

Yeah, that is normal. You will always see insert game message before the menu is loaded onto the SRAM.

#64 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Thu Aug 11, 2016 10:44 PM

So, the issue I was having was with my brothers Lynx. The Lynx contacts just need a good cleaning. He plays way more than I do. I put it in mine, works just fine and all the roms I tried work, even homebrews are good so far.

 

Just one tiny annoyance, I love the preview images, but when they display, I wish you could just see the image, but keep scrolling without it stopping you for a couple seconds. Kinda bugs me but I'll get over it. ;)



#65 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,602 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 2:39 PM

Uh-oh.....

 

My SD card only shows "INSERT GAME" permanently all of a sudden.....

 

I have a feeling it has something to do with the SD card connector....it feels very sloppy.....like it's not making any contact....



#66 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,602 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:08 PM

Uuuhhhhhhh.......uhhhhhhh.......kindly ignore my previous message.

 

 

 

Works fine.

 

 

 

No.......not gonna share here what went wrong.....



#67 SainT OFFLINE  

SainT

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,060 posts
  • Location:Gloucestershire, UK

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:09 PM

I only get this in 2 circumstances --

 

1) Dirty card edge

2) Dirty SD card connector either on the SD itself or on the cart

 

Cleaning the card edge is easy enough. An age old tradition! :)

 

For the SD connector I will cut some reasonably fine sand paper (like 240 grit) to the width of the micro SD and shove that in the hole and pull back and forth a couple of times.



#68 SainT OFFLINE  

SainT

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,060 posts
  • Location:Gloucestershire, UK

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:10 PM

Uuuhhhhhhh.......uhhhhhhh.......kindly ignore my previous message.

 

 

 

Works fine.

 

 

 

No.......not gonna share here what went wrong.....

 

Lol, no problem. The above advice is useful to anyone seeing this problem.

 

Oh, and dont forget to clean the actual SD card contacts too! I've had that also fix the problem.

 

And one more final thing.... make sure the menu.bin is on the SD card. On occasion I've put in the wrong SD or something and wondered why the bloody thing wouldn't boot... ;)



#69 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,602 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:15 PM

Hey SainT.......

 

I'll add one more thing that should be really on top of the list of things to look for if you keep seeing "INSERT GAME":

 

 

Insert the cartridge the right way round....

 

 

But I blame you for making it possible to fit both ways !!!  :grin:  :grin:  :grin:  :grin: 


Edited by Level42, Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:16 PM.


#70 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,602 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:15 PM

Damn, that was embarrassing.....



#71 SainT OFFLINE  

SainT

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,060 posts
  • Location:Gloucestershire, UK

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:17 PM

Lmfao -- I'd never even considered that!  :grin:



#72 Level42 OFFLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,602 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:43 PM

Well with the Lynx PCB out in the open it's very easy to insert it upside down on the Lynx I :)

 

It doesn't do any harm of course.... except to my ego..... LOL !!!



#73 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,718 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:15 PM

Haha I got it straight away about inserting the wrong way round! But I still get that wrong almost every time!

#74 7800fan OFFLINE  

7800fan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,606 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted Tue Aug 23, 2016 6:59 PM

I made that same mistake the very first time I tried Lynx when I first got it.  Didn't RTFM and slipped in the game and nothing worked.



#75 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2016 10:16 PM

I'm having some strange issues with Raiden.96dfbba4523460dacec7d64e1d26b97b.jpg
As you can see in the photo, cdcd4e49aa8c5925f81d94f1a5aaa0be.jpgit appears on the right images are getting all mixed up and it eventually crashes. Some times it fills half the screen. It doesn't always do this, but it seems to be getting worse? I've done all the usual; clean both contacts, restart, reinsert, blah blah blah. I've checked all the rom sites. Same rom. I see mine is a "CES version". Is there a different one out there?




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users