Jump to content

Photo

RTC?


16 replies to this topic

#1 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 605 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sat May 28, 2016 11:50 AM

Not finding a thread that just answers this..

 

What RTC is there for the ST line? STFM OR STM.. 

 

Just a link to site or thread would be great.

 

James



#2 exxosuk OFFLINE  

exxosuk

    Dragonstomper

  • 554 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Sat May 28, 2016 3:01 PM

IIRC Ultrasatan has one built in. 



#3 ataricrypt OFFLINE  

ataricrypt

    Chopper Commander

  • 166 posts
  • AtariCrypt
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted Sat May 28, 2016 3:40 PM

thats right mate it does, i use this.

Steve



#4 ParanoidLittleMan OFFLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Dragonstomper

  • 999 posts

Posted Sun May 29, 2016 1:43 AM

RTC is built by Factory only in Mega ST and Mega STE machines.

Considering UltraSatan - yes, and that's actually based on old ICD ACSI-SCSI adapter solution.

Btw. not hard to add in any ST(E) .

One of many threads http://www.atari-for...pic.php?t=13811

I used guess what ? Google ! :-D



#5 ataricrypt OFFLINE  

ataricrypt

    Chopper Commander

  • 166 posts
  • AtariCrypt
  • Location:Lancashire, England

Posted Sun May 29, 2016 4:09 AM

Google? What's that??  :grin:



#6 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,214 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Sun May 29, 2016 6:22 AM

Just for the record, the STacy has a clock too.  :)



#7 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 605 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Thu Jun 9, 2016 11:52 PM

Wow, brutal, that development of an RTC was easy and done strightforward 30 years ago for the 8bit.. and to this day no real solution for the ST.

 

UltraSatan is not a solution, having to send that kind of money on one thing so you can get time out of it?

 

Why not an internal on a dallas chip.. or a pbi type expansion card.. easy .. at least as easy as the Rtime8.

 

Very surprising how much more hardware there is for the 8-bit than the ST.

 

James



#8 ParanoidLittleMan OFFLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Dragonstomper

  • 999 posts

Posted Fri Jun 10, 2016 12:54 AM

Wow, brutal, that development of an RTC was easy and done strightforward 30 years ago for the 8bit.. and to this day no real solution for the ST.

 

UltraSatan is not a solution, having to send that kind of money on one thing so you can get time out of it?

 

Why not an internal on a dallas chip.. or a pbi type expansion card.. easy .. at least as easy as the Rtime8.

 

Very surprising how much more hardware there is for the 8-bit than the ST.

 

James

Wow ! You jumped to some silly conclusions after people here answered your unnecessary questions (as said, you could google all it in 2 minutes).

I did some 25 years ago RTC chip add on in my 520 ST, with same chip what is used in Mega ST - Ricoh chip    http://dev-docs.atar...15_Jun-1995.pdf

That's better than with Dallas chip simply because it is supported by TOS 1.02 and greater.

Very surprising that you did not read carefully what is written here.

Here is schematic of mod:  http://forum.atari-h...p?topic=11855.0



#9 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 605 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Mon Jun 13, 2016 10:51 PM

I did read.. and what I read was.. that there is the odd home brew item.. as you pointed out, but no produced after market item. RTC for the ST considering its age of development and what it was trying to compete with back in the day seems really funny. 8-bit you almost wonder why would I need RTC.. maybe program revisions, or when I last wrote to this 30 year old floppy... but considering the music software, productivity software that was and still is usable on the ST, to not have had a quick and easy commercial product or even now something for $20-$30 that with a couple of solder or again cartridge .. plug and go.. is surprising.

 

And your suggestion that I did not google.. well I did.. and no more than what has been posted here come up.. in fact almost all that I found were RTCs as part of larger units aka USatan or Monster board etc.. Just found it surprising was all.. not the end of the world.

 

James

 

Link you provided btw I could not open says bad or corrupt PDF file.


Edited by Bikerbob, Mon Jun 13, 2016 10:54 PM.


#10 ParanoidLittleMan OFFLINE  

ParanoidLittleMan

    Dragonstomper

  • 999 posts

Posted Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:14 AM


Link you provided btw I could not open says bad or corrupt PDF file.

Rename it to ZIP.



#11 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,214 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Tue Jun 14, 2016 3:45 PM

It's just a bit misleading (not saying intentionally) to say that there's a
RTC problem though.

I mean, the following Atari's came with RTC's standard from the factory:

Mega ST

STacy

Mega STe

ST Book

TT030

Falcon

During those years, there were several commercial RTC solutions sold and
easily available for the machines that didn't have one.

And (as has been mentioned), there are options that come with RTC's included,
like the Ultrasatan and other upgrades like those from Alan H., as well as the mods
mentioned by PPera.

Personally, I don't see this as an issue at all. <shrugs>



#12 galax OFFLINE  

galax

    Dragonstomper

  • 747 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:29 PM

Wow, brutal, that development of an RTC was easy and done strightforward 30 years ago for the 8bit.. and to this day no real solution for the ST.

 
Forget-Me-Clock was released 30 years ago, probably the most popular standalone ST RTC, was mentioned in the thread PP linked to: http://www.computing...et-Me-Clock II/

I acquired a few of these QMI DeskCart recently with a big lot of stuff; combines a RTC with a bunch of desk accessory utilities:

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg



#13 joyfulcoder OFFLINE  

joyfulcoder

    Star Raider

  • 91 posts
  • Location:Western Mass

Posted Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:46 PM

I have the TimeKeeper cartridge by Navarone Industries.

Some info here.



#14 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 605 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Mon Jun 20, 2016 7:49 AM

Yes that TimeKeeper looks good, and the Deskcart! too.. I pm'd you Galax.. you dont need a bunch of them ;)

 

Guess my point was.. seems like if all you want is time, not the accessories like the Deskcart! then making a PCB or even a populated board you could sell for $30 would seem pretty easy. 

 

I guess the other way I could have approached the topic was.. Who wants to sell me one of their old RTC carts(mods) for my ST project.

 

Point taken.

 

James



#15 Fuji-Man OFFLINE  

Fuji-Man

    Chopper Commander

  • 187 posts

Posted Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:30 AM

Z-Time by Terrific Peripherals had a internal clock/calendar using a (DS1216 chip) that sat under a ROM chip.


Edited by Fuji-Man, Wed Jul 13, 2016 8:32 AM.


#16 Bama OFFLINE  

Bama

    Space Invader

  • 23 posts

Posted Wed Jul 13, 2016 7:41 PM

The ICD SCSI host adapter, AdSCSI Plus provided RTC for my 1040STFM from 1989 onward.

 

Smiles,

 

BAMA



#17 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 605 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Tue Nov 7, 2017 10:08 AM

So, I have found several DIY projects that people have started,
http://fr.meric.free... ... nside.html
https://blog.troed.s... ... s-y2k-fix/
and there is a kit on exxos site.. priced at 23pounds.
But there is this, a breakout board. https://www.ebay.ca/...~oAAOSwuMZZL4eH
https://www.maximint... ... S3231.html
I should think with the people we have here an on other forums, its a matter of finding the lines to tap into on the ST, and we have a ready made RTC for $2?

Am I wrong?

James

Edited by Bikerbob, Tue Nov 7, 2017 10:17 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users