Jump to content

Photo

Missing power cord

power cord TI 745 silent type terminal

15 replies to this topic

#1 DaNDeE OFFLINE  

DaNDeE

    Space Invader

  • 35 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:22 AM

Hey guys,

 

I recently got a TI Silent Type 745 Terminal, but it is missing the power cord. It seems to be something old from the 70s and as I live in Germany, it is kind of hard to get information about it. Anybody's got a clue what kind of cable this is, and how it is called, or where to obtain it?

 

The plug is about 3cm wide, with is about 1.1inch and has three terminals.

 

Thanks.

falk

Attached Files



#2 ElectricLab OFFLINE  

ElectricLab

    Chopper Commander

  • 202 posts
  • Location:Hillsboro, Oregon

Posted Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:23 PM

I have a silent 700 at home, with its power cord. I don't know the name of that type of cord but I'll look when I get home to see if there are any numbers or markings on it.



#3 DaNDeE OFFLINE  

DaNDeE

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Jun 15, 2016 10:10 PM

Great. Thank you.



#4 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • 712 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:00 AM

Hey guys,

 

I recently got a TI Silent Type 745 Terminal, but it is missing the power cord. It seems to be something old from the 70s and as I live in Germany, it is kind of hard to get information about it. Anybody's got a clue what kind of cable this is, and how it is called, or where to obtain it?

 

The plug is about 3cm wide, with is about 1.1inch and has three terminals.

 

Thanks.

falk

 

Doing a bit of Googling on the Silent 700, it looks like it uses a transformer between the wall socket and the machine to drop mains voltage to about 20 Vac. It doesn't take mains voltage directly. Just making sure you're aware!

 

Stuart.



#5 DaNDeE OFFLINE  

DaNDeE

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jun 16, 2016 8:10 AM

 

Doing a bit of Googling on the Silent 700, it looks like it uses a transformer between the wall socket and the machine to drop mains voltage to about 20 Vac. It doesn't take mains voltage directly. Just making sure you're aware!

 

Stuart.

 

Hi Stuart,

 

thanks fot the hint and "uuummpf"... this will be hard to track down. I wonder how it would be carried around, as there is no space inside the case and nothing where to put such an external PSU into.

 

On the manual I couldn't find any note about it as well (http://passthrough.f...nstructions.pdf).

 

On page 10 it says that you should just plug it directly into the wall socket (115V). 

 

There are other models of the TI 700 Series... probably you got another one?

 

best,

falk



#6 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,710 posts

Posted Thu Jun 16, 2016 8:20 AM

You might want to watch << THIS AUCTION >>  If the party does not sell it, you could offer to buy the cord afterwards.  Just a thought.



#7 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,235 posts

Posted Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:54 AM

That one is a standard IEC cable, Omega. It won't work with the one I see above. There are a lot of different possibilities in the Silent 700 series--and you definitely have to use the right ones, as mix and match will get you into trouble fast.



#8 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,235 posts

Posted Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:58 AM

You might also want to look what this guy did with his 703. Don't do this to a 745--see my next post for the maintenance manual for your machine.


Edited by Ksarul, Thu Jun 16, 2016 10:17 AM.


#9 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,235 posts

Posted Thu Jun 16, 2016 10:16 AM

Here's the maintenance manual for the 745. Look at page 147 for the mechanical drawing of the connector on yours. . .and section 2 gives you the right part number, based on your serial number.



#10 DaNDeE OFFLINE  

DaNDeE

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jul 2, 2016 12:16 PM

Hey Ksarul, thanks for the hint.. count me stupid or probably it's just because of our second kid was born on monday and sleep has become somewhat of rare thing to happen. I can't find any section 2... and how does the part number help me any further? With this number I could only approach TI directly, or does it give a clue on how that cable or connector is called? 

 

Here's picture of the serial.

tiser.jpg

I'll be really happy for further help. 

 

cheers,



#11 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,235 posts

Posted Sat Jul 2, 2016 2:42 PM

I've gone hunting all over, and there isn't a named description of the connector, other than round-pin Type U connector, which doesn't seen to show up anywhere else except in that document. What you could do is replace the connector there with an IEC 320 C14 socket (like the ones that were used in the later versions of the 745). Then you just get a standard IEC 320 C13 cable and connect it to the device and you're done. Looking at the pins, they are in the same positions as the IEC 320 C14, but using round pins and an oval socket. You'd just have to verify where the three pins go power-wise, and the maintanence manual should show that somewhere in the schematics. I did see one plug of this type for sale online (it was listed as being used for older vacuum tube equipment, but it was already sold when I found the reference).

 

 

Section 2 refers to the pages numbered 2-XX in the manual. 



#12 DaNDeE OFFLINE  

DaNDeE

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Jul 8, 2016 4:15 AM

Hy Ksarul,

 

thanks you big time. I will check ebay and see, if I can find something in the wake of vacuumcleaners. Replacing the terminal is the last option. 

 

cheers,

falk



#13 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,235 posts

Posted Fri Jul 8, 2016 6:45 AM

Note, the one I fond was for old vacuum tube (or in British usage: valve) equipment. It looks like these connectors were in sporadic use from the 1950s through the 1970s whenever there was a need for grounded power plugs.



#14 DaNDeE OFFLINE  

DaNDeE

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:38 AM

Short update: Just found this on ebay

 

http://www.ebay.com/...D8AAOSwCGVX6mN9

 

http://www.ebay.com/...sd=122154565421

 

Name seems to be Belden LL14847 Power Cale ... 

 

I have not ordered it yet, hence I could not test and see, if it fits. 

 

cheers,

falk



#15 ElectricLab OFFLINE  

ElectricLab

    Chopper Commander

  • 202 posts
  • Location:Hillsboro, Oregon

Posted Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 PM

Do people collect these silent 700/745/750 terminals? I just picked up a very small silent 700 because it was $25 from an estate sale. I already had a larger one with the acoustic coupler built-in.

There was a big old 700 in a locking case that is probably still there, in the Boston area. If anyone wants more details I'd be glad to pass the info on.



#16 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,235 posts

Posted Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:50 AM

Both of those cables look right, based on the size of the oval and the positioning of the pins. That was pretty much a standard connector back then, so the fact that it was also used on HP stuff isn't a surprise.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: power, cord, TI 745, silent type, terminal

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users