Jump to content

Photo

Bosconian for the 8-bits


577 replies to this topic

#526 Wilheim OFFLINE  

Wilheim

    Chopper Commander

  • 177 posts

Posted Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:23 PM

@AtariLeaf Bosconian use $100 page (from $0100 to $0166) , but $400 no.I debug Atarimax loader is standard load from $0100 to $01EE.


What a superb port you did!! Do you have any plan to port it into a cartridge? So you can use the samples into the banks and make them work on 64k.

Also, you can load the xex using the loader on the $700 address. I think its the standard for nearly every xex file.

#527 davidcalgary29 OFFLINE  

davidcalgary29

    Quadrunner

  • 5,730 posts
  • Location:Peace River, Alberta

Posted Mon Jan 22, 2018 6:28 PM

I would just love a cart of this.

#528 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,935 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:42 PM

Trying to get this to run on my 130XE with no luck.  I have a 31n1 OS from Atarimax and XE Rev-D and Warp OS wont start the game.  Ive tried the NTSC128, 128e and 64K versions with the same result.

 

Title screen loads.  I press fire and I get a color cycle cursor and the title screen shows again.  I press START or fire button and am taken to blue screen where nothing happens.

 

I have 2 130XE's Ive tried it on.  1 with 128k and a 4n1 OS and another with 320K and 32n1 OS.

 

Im using APE Trial Mirror to select the XEX to run.



#529 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,910 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:23 PM

are you using the warp os, or the apeloader to pull the xex?

I'll try it your way by tomorrow sometime, I've got to snag  a 32in1 and install it.



#530 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:50 PM

@Goochman this is loader memory conflict.Change base addess to 0x0300 (TAB key).

Edited by shanti77, Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:11 PM.


#531 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,910 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:36 PM

@goochman, tabkey to change apeloader address when using pc mirror with apeloader.... working on stock 130XE no 32in1 or 4in1

 

all ran with $0400

 

played through first level or two, no further testing done.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:37 PM.


#532 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,935 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:41 AM

Ok - changing the address is new to me.  Where do I make this change?



#533 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:53 AM

Ape loader have this function

#534 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,910 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:09 AM

at the bottom area on the ape loader screen you will see the load address, press the tab key and you will see it change, at $0400 just press the letter for the bosconian you wish and it will load, press a key or fire to move to the next splash and do it again etc loading happens each time, until it gets to the game...


Edited by _The Doctor__, Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:10 AM.


#535 Paul Westphal OFFLINE  

Paul Westphal

    Stargunner

  • 1,280 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2018 1:33 PM

Atarileaf, use the full editor and upload it here.



#536 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:42 AM

64K version PAL

Attached Files


Edited by shanti77, Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:42 AM.


#537 tep392 OFFLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • 3,070 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Sat Mar 24, 2018 11:27 AM

I know this will sound crazy but any chance of there being a floppy disk release? It would be super cool to be able to get a boxed floppy release of this awesome game.



#538 Xebec OFFLINE  

Xebec

    Moonsweeper

  • 380 posts

Posted Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:40 PM

ALERT! ALERT!

 

..  What a great game!  Thank you for this awesome port! :) 



#539 snicklin OFFLINE  

snicklin

    River Patroller

  • 2,123 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:59 PM

This is absolutely incredible, more than a port in fact.

 

If I was presented with this in an arcade back in the day (with everything as it is here in the 64K version), I would have been impressed with it.

 

It is good fun to play, great to look at, has that arcade rather than "at home version" feel, great to listen to and although I've not seen any other 8-bit versions, I bet it compares very well.



#540 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:46 AM

In last version I forgot to add titlescreen and logo :) , I also found one little bug in hscore. Now game is packed with Superpacker (Tebe/Mad Team).

Attached Files



#541 ZylonBane OFFLINE  

ZylonBane

    River Patroller

  • 3,954 posts
  • Location:KC, KS, USA

Posted Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:56 PM

Did the music ever get fixed?



#542 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:25 AM

What is wrong with music?


Edited by shanti77, Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:26 AM.


#543 shoestring OFFLINE  

shoestring

    Moonsweeper

  • 383 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted Fri Apr 27, 2018 2:09 AM

This is absolutely incredible, more than a port in fact.

 

If I was presented with this in an arcade back in the day (with everything as it is here in the 64K version), I would have been impressed with it.

 

It is good fun to play, great to look at, has that arcade rather than "at home version" feel, great to listen to and although I've not seen any other 8-bit versions, I bet it compares very well.

 

Compares well to the Arcade but no other 8 bit ports come close, except for maybe the MSX port but the c64 version by Masteronic was horrible.. it feels like a different game.

 

I actually prefer this version over the original. The POKIE chip with it's arcade quality spot effects gives the game a special vibe.


Edited by shoestring, Fri Apr 27, 2018 2:09 AM.


#544 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Fri Apr 27, 2018 2:49 AM

What is wrong with music?

I don't know what he means with that but for me it's the very last tone of the little jingle that plays when starting a game, which is off-key.  Not too much of an issue.

 

Gave the game a quick try and it plays really well.  Looks good too.



#545 Lord Thag ONLINE  

Lord Thag

    River Patroller

  • 3,490 posts
  • We put our faith in Blast Hardcheese
  • Location:The Land that Time Forgot

Posted Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:36 AM

 

Compares well to the Arcade but no other 8 bit ports come close, except for maybe the MSX port but the c64 version by Masteronic was horrible.. it feels like a different game.

 

I actually prefer this version over the original. The POKIE chip with it's arcade quality spot effects gives the game a special vibe.

This and the 2600 Draconian are far and away the best home ports now. This one is now in my top 5 most played arcade ports



#546 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,882 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:39 AM

Wow that 2600 Draconian port is nice...



#547 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    River Patroller

  • 2,016 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:28 PM

In last version I forgot to add titlescreen and logo :) , I also found one little bug in hscore. Now game is packed with Superpacker (Tebe/Mad Team).

Thanks.  This is the PAL version, do you have the NTSC?  This has BLAST OFF speech where other's don't.



#548 Gunstar ONLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,325 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:22 PM

Wow that 2600 Draconian port is nice...

Holy crap! You are right! I'd be proud to have that as the 8-bit computer version! 



#549 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,789 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:23 PM

Wow that 2600 Draconian port is nice...

 

 

I can't believe I made such good tunes, effects, and speech using only the TIA audio.

(I even fooled an assembly expert who thought it was using "Pitfall II" DPC music.)

(Mappy 2600 is using DPC+ music with TIA sound effects.)

 

Some of those 2600/7800 programmers were tone deaf like in 2600 Pac-Man, 7800 Donkey Kong, but sometimes they were excellent like in 7800 Food Fight.



#550 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Quadrunner

  • 5,882 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:33 AM

Thank you...Always appreciate great work even if its not a system I dabble in much :)


Edited by Mclaneinc, Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:33 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users