Jump to content

Photo

Bosconian for the 8-bits


588 replies to this topic

#151 Lord Thag OFFLINE  

Lord Thag

    River Patroller

  • 3,571 posts
  • We put our faith in Blast Hardcheese
  • Location:The Land that Time Forgot

Posted Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:28 PM

I'm playing on an 800XL with an NTSC 1028k Rambo/Ultimate1mb. No issues. Also works with with several other memory setups without issue



#152 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:07 AM

 

It doesn't fix the problem on my system.  With the memory expansion installed, I get a split second of screechy sound with the sound sample, then the system freezes.  The red LED for extended memory doesn't light up.

 

It still works without the extra memory installed.

Where I can find description of this expansion?



#153 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,537 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:53 AM

Yes please tell the exact memory upgrades and success or not, or the glitch in great detail.



#154 FifthPlayer OFFLINE  

FifthPlayer

    Moonsweeper

  • 427 posts

Posted Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:26 AM

I have one of these:

 

http://atariage.com/...?hl= ram 576xe

 

http://atariage.com/...?hl= ram 576xe

 

I've been playing with its configuration switches, and when I choose the "remap" option (substitute its memory in place of motherboard memory) the system won't even boot.  So finger points to something broken with this memory expansion.



#155 Lord Thag OFFLINE  

Lord Thag

    River Patroller

  • 3,571 posts
  • We put our faith in Blast Hardcheese
  • Location:The Land that Time Forgot

Posted Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:54 PM

I have just tested the latest version on a 130xe with a 320xe ram expansion (NTSC). It works just as well as it does with the Ultimate 1mb. I'll change around a few settings and see if I can find any compatibility issues, but so far, this runs REALLY clean for a PAL game on an NTSC machine. 



#156 FifthPlayer OFFLINE  

FifthPlayer

    Moonsweeper

  • 427 posts

Posted Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:05 PM

OK, so there's something defective with my 576XE for sure.  Thanks for testing things out on your setup.



#157 Lord Thag OFFLINE  

Lord Thag

    River Patroller

  • 3,571 posts
  • We put our faith in Blast Hardcheese
  • Location:The Land that Time Forgot

Posted Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:16 PM

Hmm, it's possible. What are your exact dip switch settings? I am running with remap on I think. Give me your exact setup and I'll mimic it on my end and see what happens. 

 

I have the max ram enabled on the  ram expansion, and am booting the game off an SIO2SD drive configured as D1:

 

I have also booted it in several memory configurations on the XL with an Ultimate 1mb/SIDE2 combo via the built in boot loader



#158 jefffulton OFFLINE  

jefffulton

    Chopper Commander

  • 129 posts

Posted Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:43 PM

64K version:

I love the 64K version!



#159 rdefabri OFFLINE  

rdefabri

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Fri Oct 28, 2016 8:19 AM

I've been playing the heck out of this - it's a lot of fun. 

 

Will you make it so you can shoot the enemy missiles launched from the bases?  Also, one subtle suggestion - really really minor - the arcade game has a sound playing the entire time (presumably it's the ship moving around) - it really makes the game more tense.  Again, minor suggestion because this is really a lot of fun (and pretty hard too!).

 

GREAT JOB!



#160 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    River Patroller

  • 2,142 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:19 AM

This is a really good port, better than all others I must say!

 

Looking at the arcade game on You Tube, the ship can destroy the cluster in one shot, is that how it's supposed to be vs destroying each pod first?  

 

Edit, it looks like you can make a shot in the center when it opens up to destroy it.

 


Edited by tjlazer, Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:30 AM.


#161 rdefabri OFFLINE  

rdefabri

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:48 AM

This is a really good port, better than all others I must say!

 

Looking at the arcade game on You Tube, the ship can destroy the cluster in one shot, is that how it's supposed to be vs destroying each pod first?  

 

Edit, it looks like you can make a shot in the center when it opens up to destroy it.

 

 

Yep, after the first wave, the port opens / closes.  By the 3rd wave, it starts shooting out a missile - you should be able to shoot that, I have been unsuccessful in this version.

 

The voice just puts it over the top - no stop in screen action other than the radar but that's minor.  Realizing that it was a prototype, I was disappointed the A8 Sinistar didn't use more speech synthesis (I think there's one line, that's it)...it seems like a minor thinig, but for both games, it's a big part.



#162 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:50 AM

New version:

- add new Enemy colision

- you can destroy rockets

- spy

- some other fixes

 

 

Attached Files



#163 ebiguy OFFLINE  

ebiguy

    Chopper Commander

  • 212 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Fri Nov 11, 2016 3:42 AM

Your version is very very very good.

Many thanks for this game that I played back in the old days (the arcade version).

You are doing an amazing work.

Keep up the good work and thank you for this gift !



#164 lucifershalo OFFLINE  

lucifershalo

    River Patroller

  • 3,051 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Fri Nov 11, 2016 4:13 AM

please think of converting it for Atari 5200 if possible



#165 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 16,029 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri Nov 11, 2016 6:36 AM

Coming along really nice now.  I'd rate it among the top half dozen or so arcade conversions pretty easily.



#166 Xuel OFFLINE  

Xuel

    Dragonstomper

  • 740 posts
  • Location:US

Posted Fri Nov 11, 2016 1:07 PM

Excellent work! Very nice soft sprite system. Looks like you dynamically allocate characters for sprites. I was able to use the following commands in the Altirra debugger when running bosco128.xex to get a visual idea of how you are allocating characters:
 
 
e 80a5 e0
e 7f35 e0
f 21b9 L1b 32
e 21b6 72
e 21d4 12
 
Attached File  bosc-gr0-medium.mp4   174.63KB   92 downloads
 
Out of curiosity, what development tools are you using?

#167 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Fri Nov 11, 2016 1:48 PM

I use notepad++ , MADS and Altirra to test. Soft sprites use first free chars, max 6*9=54 chars, sprite can use 4,6 or 9 chars.

Edited by shanti77, Fri Nov 11, 2016 1:52 PM.


#168 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:50 PM

Speech could be together  with F/X (128K) :

Attached Files


Edited by shanti77, Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:51 PM.


#169 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,455 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:26 AM

Hell this is good...formations soon?

 

Damn near complete...

 

Amazing work...



#170 shoestring OFFLINE  

shoestring

    Dragonstomper

  • 556 posts
  • Location:Sydney

Posted Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:15 PM

I never liked the original arcade, I preferred Galaga. But this a good reason for me to give it another chance and check it out on the Atari.

Great work.

Edited by shoestring, Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:17 PM.


#171 devwebcl OFFLINE  

devwebcl

    Stargunner

  • 1,245 posts
  • Location:Chile

Posted Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:09 AM

I never liked the original arcade, I preferred Galaga. But this a good reason for me to give it another chance and check it out on the Atari.

Great work.

 

It's cool to have preferred games ;-) , however it's hard to compare galaga against bosconian



#172 Sleepy OFFLINE  

Sleepy

    Moonsweeper

  • 346 posts

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:08 AM

I love it - great work!

 

Sleepy



#173 shanti77 OFFLINE  

shanti77

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:46 AM

New 128K test version:

Attached Files



#174 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,455 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:53 AM

Really nice update, nice side bar stuff..

 

So close to complete...

 

Thank you Shanti...



#175 Thorsten Günther OFFLINE  

Thorsten Günther

    Stargunner

  • 1,159 posts
  • Location:Wedel, Germany

Posted Sat Nov 26, 2016 5:01 PM

I am stunned! This truly is a piece of art, showing a lot of work and love. WIll there be a cart release?






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users