Jump to content

Photo

TIImageTool on Github


56 replies to this topic

#26 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,521 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Sun Sep 4, 2016 6:55 AM

Wow, I'm honored ny code is being used as an example. I apologize it's not all tidy..yet.

I've never compiled anything (from github or any other downloadable source code source). As soon as I figure out that part, I'll be able to participate in this.

#27 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,222 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun Sep 4, 2016 9:16 AM

I've never compiled anything (from github or any other downloadable source code source). As soon as I figure out that part, I'll be able to participate in this.


You can find a link in my signature to get a recent precompiled version.


;)

  

  

  



#28 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,222 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun Sep 4, 2016 9:30 AM

OK, I think I could successfully fix that. Please pull a new copy or download from WHTech or via Ninerpedia.


Excellent. Thanks.

I was thinking that Sinphaltimus could go from source in text file to running in emulator faster with your tool, than pasting the large program in Classic99. That's loading the resulting TIFILES-file instead of pasting.

;)

 

 

 

 



#29 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,521 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 12:21 PM

Now that I have a virtual floppy in my peb ...


I'm going to give this a whirl tonight.

Objective:

Save program in classic 99 to dsk format, convert dsk format in to hfe format, load on the hxc gotek usb thumb drive, load in to GoTek, run on real iron.

Or should I just import the extended basic text in to a newly created hfe file straight away?

...

#30 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 1:45 PM

Depends where you start from. Do you have the program as a plain text (e.g. from this forum), or as a TIFILES file, or as a file in the DSK image?



#31 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,521 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 3:32 PM

Depends where you start from. Do you have the program as a plain text (e.g. from this forum), or as a TIFILES file, or as a file in the DSK image?

I wrote it myself, I have it as plain text extended basic and as a dsk image. I never used this tool before but I'm about to give it a go right now...


EDIT: Well it's not working for me. I cut and past in to text editor to import it and I get an error "Program too long for Program format". 
And when I save from Classic 99 is doesn't add a dsk extension - timage tool doesn't recognize the format.

I'm kind of stuck without a clue as to what to try next or what to do.

Other than that, I did get a blank formatted hfe file done.


Edited by Sinphaltimus, Mon Oct 3, 2016 4:00 PM.


#32 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 3:57 PM

If it is already on a DSK, just use File->New ... Floppy Image -> Set the parameters, choose HFE image as type, save the image. Open your DSK, mark the file, CTRL-C, go to the tab of the HFE image, CTRL-V. Close everything.



#33 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,521 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 4:05 PM

I'm going to guess it is not a dsk. In classic99 I save dsk1.zombi and in the dsk1 folder is a zombi file. 

Inside of that dsk1 folder are a few other dsk images.

I guess the contents of the dsk1 folder are not necessarily saved as dsk files. That's where my misunderstanding of thei process is taking place I suppose.

I don't know how to get my extended basic program inside of Classic99 in to a dsk or hfe for that matter.z

EDIT: OK I thought I figured it out as I did get the file to disk from the dsk1 folder of classic99, I did get the disk in to the TI and I typed old dsk1.zombi036 

It paused for a really long time. I figured it was loading.

Then I get I/O error 06.

Now I'm going to hit google. I need to find a list of these kinds of errors. I think there is one in the PEB manual or DISK controller manual.


Edited by Sinphaltimus, Mon Oct 3, 2016 4:27 PM.


#34 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 4:33 PM

Don't user lowercase; there is no "dsk1".

 

If you save a file in Classic99, this is supposedly a TIFILES-type file. Drag and drop it from your explorer into the HFE image in TIImageTool.



#35 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,521 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 4:54 PM

Ok I got this far. To your comment above, Yes, I discovered that part in my previous comment, I chose to import file and it worked for getting the file on disk. Did not

try DnD but glad that's an option.

Here's what the problem is.

I tried everything I did earlier with one exception, I initialized the HFE as 40 track instead of 80 and it worked.

So the program and the process is working, I just have to confirm whether or not 80 track hfe images are working with my GoTek HxC or not.

I may have initialized my first HFE file incorrectly (SSDD) instead of DSSD.

AND I decided to try it before posting these comments and yes. I initialized DSSD and it all works great.

I understand now.

 

And this is freaking awesome. Thank you for this application, you have made life that much better.

I now have a quick and efficient way of getting programs from my PC to my TI and vise versa.

EDIT: - I have to tell you, you have brought so much joy to this man just now. I'm playing my Zombi game (work in progress) on real iron for the first time and it feels incredible. Thank you again for this awesome tool.

 


Edited by Sinphaltimus, Mon Oct 3, 2016 5:08 PM.


#36 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Oct 4, 2016 3:35 AM

It's a similarly pleasant experience to hear that a tool is actually helpful for someone else. So I'm really glad that it's working as it is supposed to do. :)

 

Since I only have limited ways to test the feature (no Lotharek/Gotek here), there could be hidden bugs; please inform me in time. And as always, especially with storage features, keep some backups.



#37 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:29 AM

Dear friends, I'm proud to announce another release of TIImageTool, release 2.4 of December 2016. I worked hard to finish this release right in time for Christmas, just as promised.

 

The good thing about this is that there are again lots of new features, and I hope there's something for you, too. The bad thing (or maybe good?) is that now, TIImageTool is basically complete. It contains everything I ever wanted it to have, and I have no further plans for additions. There will be fixes, of course, for quite some time, but I don't have anything more to add or to improve. It does not happen too often that you can say you have finished a project, does it?

 

So let's have a look at the features:

 

  • Open EMULATE files: A special kind of file used with the HFDC. You can create such a file from a complete floppy disk and have the HFDC emulate DSK1 by one of these files. This makes it quite easy to work with programs that require to be loaded from DSK1. TIMT can now create such files from floppy images, and you can activate or deactivate them by the context menu.
  • Sector editor: You may want to fix some error on your image; you can certainly do this with sector dumps with a sector editor tool. The now built-in sector editor works on top of the format layer in TIMT, i.e. you can edit sectors of images of any format - sector dumps, track dumps, CHDs. You can even repair your HFE (Lotharek) images which is pretty impossible with an external sector editor.
  • Rename volumes: Change the name of your floppy or hard disk image (not the file name of the image but the disk name)
  • Properties dialog is organized by tabs
  • Show RLE-128 images (contribution of HackMac)
  • Fixes: double console output, marking in directory view
  • Drag-and-drop: You get a choice window at the drop event, asking you whether you want to move or copy the file - unless you already pressed Shift or Ctrl
  • Base address for plain dumps: When you show hexdumps of your binary files (like ROMs) you can specify the base address, just like you do with the Disassembler. This is quite useful because you get the proper addresses in the dump
  • Compact Flash handling: I found a way to get a support to read/write compact flash cards. TIMT will spawn a process that runs the /usr/bin/dd program (or the DD.EXE port for Windows), allowing you to read and write from an external drive.
  • CF7 handling: By using the CF read/write feature, you can actually create a backup of your CF7 card on your PC, but also work with the enclosed volumes. There is no more need for cf2dsk or dsk2cf; all is done inside TIMT.
  • Yes, and finally: TIImageTool becomes international. Ja, es gibt schon eine komplette deutsche Übersetzung, et si on trouve quelqu'un entre nous parlant le Français mieux que moi, tu es invité a m'aider avec la traduction.

 

As always, get the release from my server: http://www.mizapf.eu...tiimagetool.zip

or from WHTech: http://ftp.whtech.co...tiimagetool.zip

 

or clone my Github repository at https://github.com/mizapf/tiimagetool

 

With this lot of new additions, bugs and errors are unavoidable. Please report them to me so I can fix them.

 

*****   Merry Christmas!   *****



#38 atrax27407 OFFLINE  

atrax27407

    Stargunner

  • 1,237 posts

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:49 AM

Thanks, Michael, I have a working version once again!!



#39 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    Quadrunner

  • 5,212 posts

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2016 1:13 PM

Thank you Michael! I think one bug I recently found in the previous version needs to be reported yet (and you may have found it yourself and fixed it already). When copying a group of files to an HFE image, all files copy over flawlessly (and catalof perfectly in TIMT). When viewing that image in a Lotharek drive, however, their is an off-by-one error, in that the last file copied won't show up. It turns out that the pointer to the file header is missing. I go in with DSKU on the TI side with the image mounted and sector edit the HFE to add the final pointer and all is good, so it is just a minor added step when copying a lot of files into an HFE image. As noted, the data is always there in the right place, just the sector pointer alerting the disk manager to the existence of the last program header data sector is missing.



#40 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    River Patroller

  • 2,539 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Deer Park, Texas

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:44 PM

Michael,

 

does this new code have the 38400 code enable in it too?



#41 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2016 4:33 AM

@Shift838: I removed the limitation was some time ago, so indeed, you should be able to use the bridge at higher rates than 19200.

 

@ksarul: If there is an error with sector management, this should happen with all formats, not only HFE. The image format is the lowest layer, that is, it should only bother with writing bits or bytes. What you found sounds like a higher-layer issue to me; the only way it could be a low-layer one after all is if it fails to commit some changes to the image. Please try to reproduce the problem with the current version. I actually fixed an issue with file selection in the directory views, so maybe this is related.



#42 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,550 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2016 5:34 AM

Hmm  none of the downloads work with Windows 10?

 

The link for running under Windows is a DEAD LINK!


Edited by RXB, Sun Dec 25, 2016 5:46 AM.


#43 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2016 7:09 AM

I suppose you don't want the Github source code, so both other links from my posting above should download "tiimagetool.zip", which you have to unzip to use. Start the jar file inside by double click. Remember to install a Java Runtime Environment 1.7 or 1.8 before.


  • RXB likes this

#44 atrax27407 OFFLINE  

atrax27407

    Stargunner

  • 1,237 posts

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:19 AM

The link and the program worked for me on my WIN 10 system.


Edited by atrax27407, Sun Dec 25, 2016 8:19 AM.


#45 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Dec 31, 2016 6:02 AM

By the way, I would be interested to hear from a CF7 user whether the new features of TIMT do their work as promised. :)



#46 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,521 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Sat May 13, 2017 7:06 AM

I have an issue and maybe I'm nto using the latest version of TIImageTool.

 

From TI99DIR I access my CF card for the nano. 

I select anyone of the 1600 sized dsk file and copy to local hard disk.

When i try to open the dsk file in TIImageTool, I get an error that states:

UNKNOWN FILE FORMAT or Image Corruption.



#47 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat May 13, 2017 11:20 AM

See other thread. In order to open 1600-sector images you need the latest TIImageTool. They are now supported as "CF7 volumes", not as floppy images since there is no floppy disk with 1600 sectors.



#48 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,550 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Sun May 14, 2017 5:46 AM

Do I have to download some special tools in Windows to make TI image tool to work?



#49 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,563 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun May 14, 2017 6:16 AM

You only need a current Java Runtime Environment. If you don't need Applet support, please review your browser plugins and remove or deactivate them after you installed the Java package.


Edited by mizapf, Sun May 14, 2017 6:17 AM.

  • RXB likes this

#50 iKarith OFFLINE  

iKarith

    Moonsweeper

  • 351 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Jun 5, 2017 1:32 AM

This is not a major new release; I just installed a repository for TIImageTool on Github:

 

https://github.com/m...tiimagetool.git

 

For building you just clone this repository, get a recent JDK, ant, and a copy of RXTXcomm.jar. Build file is included.

 

Being not a java developer, may I just resurrect this thread (I'm neglecting the forum again...) to say THANK YOU for taking the time to explain even in brief how you build this thing?  The one thing I've discovered about projects written in Java is that the idea that anybody else on the planet might ever want to build your jar files on their system is at best an afterthought.

 

I've been banking my head against AppleCommander off and on for a few weeks now.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users