Jump to content

Photo

NEED HELP! Atari 2600 AV Problem

help problem repair

6 replies to this topic

#1 AL01 OFFLINE  

AL01

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts
  • Eh?
  • Location:The United States o' America

Posted Sun Jul 17, 2016 9:30 AM

Hello. I am need of help! I have recently modded my 2600 to use AV and although I am getting color, the screen flickers like nuts...

This mod required the removal of the resistor R209 and the transistor Q201/2 - I had to jump R209 to get color so I though maybe R209 was at fault - but tit was dumb luck that I did not throw R209 away so I tested it out, and the same thing happened so I know that R209 is not at fault. I decided that maybe the TIA is at fault so I bough a TIA Chip and it did not make a difference. 

 

Please help...

 

Thanks!

 

The Flashing on Combat:P_20160712_121646.jpg

 

The Flashing on Pole Positn(-:P_20160713_171511.jpg

 

My board (If that helps):P_20160713_114643.jpg



#2 AL01 OFFLINE  

AL01

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 34 posts
  • Eh?
  • Location:The United States o' America

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:05 PM

 SOLVED: System needed caps, resistors, and a new crystal. Total cost was about 10$.



#3 Hank Rearden OFFLINE  

Hank Rearden

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:Stanley, North Carolina

Posted Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:04 AM

 SOLVED: System needed caps, resistors, and a new crystal. Total cost was about 10$.

What resistor did you need to change?



#4 AL01 OFFLINE  

AL01

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 34 posts
  • Eh?
  • Location:The United States o' America

Posted Tue Mar 21, 2017 2:42 PM

 A few died. They were on the board. I had to readjust some of my solder jobs to. Just keep in mind that these Ataris are a good 35 years old. Most of them merely need new capacitors and resistors. Impressive for such an old console.



#5 mojoatomic OFFLINE  

mojoatomic

    Chopper Commander

  • 185 posts
  • Location:Memphis, TN

Posted Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:11 PM

A few resistors died? Which ones specifically? 


Edited by mojoatomic, Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:11 PM.


#6 AL01 OFFLINE  

AL01

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 34 posts
  • Eh?
  • Location:The United States o' America

Posted Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:08 PM

     Some were by the wire that I needed to connect to that area of resistors. I replaced the crystal with a new one and I replaced all of the capacitors and 2 chiclets. I highly recommend the AV mod because apparently, (after talking to somebody who repairs game systems for a living), many RF modulators on the 2600 are starting to die out. 

  Specifically, I checked every resistor - whichever ones were dead, I replaced. I had to eventually send the board to a pro though, but I do have a decent idea of what he had done in order to solve this odd problem. He pretty much did what I was able to do, just at a more advanced level of proficiency.


Edited by AL01, Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:10 PM.


#7 AL01 OFFLINE  

AL01

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 34 posts
  • Eh?
  • Location:The United States o' America

Posted Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:11 PM

I also took out the jump, the red thingy, and the plug for the RF cord.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: help, problem, repair

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users