Jump to content

Photo

New Online Store for Colecovision systems, games, and accessories

colecovision F18a HDMI

20 replies to this topic

#1 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • 669 posts

Posted Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:20 PM

Hi I setup a new online store to help make ordering easier for the modded systems I sell like the HDMI output version. Preorders can also be ordered through the site if they are out of stock. I also have expansion modules, accessories, and games on the store as well.

 

Here is the direct link:

 

https://colecovision...ales.ecwid.com/

 

This can also be accessed through facebook on my page:

 

https://www.facebook...pgradeAndSales/ by clicking on the store tab.

 

Any feedback is welcome.

 

Thanks



#2 8bitretro OFFLINE  

8bitretro

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:47 PM

Do you do the F18a conversion on the coleco Adam? I might opt for the HDMI version one of these days. I'm guessing that would be pretty difficult to do myself, but have never looked into it yet.

#3 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 669 posts

Posted Thu Aug 18, 2016 4:12 AM

I don't really mod the ADAM as I don't have one anymore. Check with Rey here or on FB cv lunatics page. He should be able to do the mod for you and does great work. He is also the one who made the standalone power supply for the adam.
  • Rey likes this

#4 8bitretro OFFLINE  

8bitretro

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:26 AM

Thanks Bmack36. I did contact Rey, and heard back from him about both the F18A install and the power supply.

#5 PkK OFFLINE  

PkK

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Europe

Posted Fri Aug 26, 2016 2:03 PM

I'd recommend to add some contact information to the store website. Potential buyers might want to contact you and ask some questions on the items you offer.

 

Philipp



#6 Noah98 OFFLINE  

Noah98

    Dragonstomper

  • 635 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:23 AM

I just ordered a power supply from this store. Very reasonable price. I hope this fixes my Colecovision woes! If not, ai may have to order the ram replacement from console5. Very nervous about desoldering those 8 chips though 😬

#7 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 669 posts

Posted Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:58 AM

Thanks for the order. What problems are you seeing with your system?

#8 Noah98 OFFLINE  

Noah98

    Dragonstomper

  • 635 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:42 PM

Many of my games have graphics issues. For example, in Frenzy the character has lines going through him. My system is AV modded and I replaced the old power switch with a modern rocker one. It had been working fine for a few years since I modded it, but now a lot of games have weird graphics issues.

I noticed one of the prongs on my power adapter is a little loose, so I'm hoping that's the problem. If not, I'm a little nervous about trying to fix the ram.

I love this system, but it is without a doubt one of the most unreliable, poorly made classic systems I've ever owned.

Edited by Noah98, Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:43 PM.


#9 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 669 posts

Posted Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:13 PM

That is the classic VRAM issue, which most of the time is a dirty power switch, but if you have replaced it then it is most likely the Power supply or the VRAM. If the VRAM is bad I would highly recommend going the F18a upgrade route. The video quality improvement is well worth it along with not needing the 12V or -5.

Removing the chips from the system is not recommended if you are not an experienced solderer as the traces are very easy to lift.

 

If you have any questions let me know.

 

Thanks,



#10 Noah98 OFFLINE  

Noah98

    Dragonstomper

  • 635 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:32 PM

That is the classic VRAM issue, which most of the time is a dirty power switch, but if you have replaced it then it is most likely the Power supply or the VRAM. If the VRAM is bad I would highly recommend going the F18a upgrade route. The video quality improvement is well worth it along with not needing the 12V or -5.

Removing the chips from the system is not recommended if you are not an experienced solderer as the traces are very easy to lift.
 
If you have any questions let me know.
 
Thanks,


If I wanted to have my system F18a upgraded, woukd it matter that i've modded the power switch and that my VRAM is failing? Or, would it still be upgradeable keeping the new switch and bypassing the old VRAM. Also, does the F18a use the old power supply?

#11 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 669 posts

Posted Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:37 PM

The F18a upgrade uses its own VRAM so it doesn't matter if the onboard VRAM is failed. With the standard VGA output F18a does use the same power supply, but it only uses the 5V and not the 12V and -5. I do offer a HDMI output version that uses an off the shelf 5V power supply. The power switch mod shouldn't affect anything.

 

Thanks



#12 Noah98 OFFLINE  

Noah98

    Dragonstomper

  • 635 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Wed Sep 28, 2016 1:59 PM

Got my power adapter today and it fixed my issues!  Well, other then my Mr. Do cart which has always been messed up.  Otherwise, everything else is back to normal.  So glad it's not the RAM...Yet!

 

Colecovision, I'm Back

 

https://youtu.be/G7gwaBXRVG0



#13 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 669 posts

Posted Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:58 PM

I'm glad that solved your issue. Thanks again for the purchase.

 

Have you tried cleaning the contacts with deOxit or Electrical contact cleaner on your Mr. Do?



#14 Noah98 OFFLINE  

Noah98

    Dragonstomper

  • 635 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:08 PM

I'm glad that solved your issue. Thanks again for the purchase.
 
Have you tried cleaning the contacts with deOxit or Electrical contact cleaner on your Mr. Do?


Yes, it has always had problems. The graphics are scrambled and the colors off. Imeven took it apart and checked all of the solder joints.

Since it's the oy game with problems now, I assume it's the cart, not the system.

#15 Northcoastgamer OFFLINE  

Northcoastgamer

    Stargunner

  • 1,279 posts
  • So many games, so little time!
  • Location:The Boro Ohio

Posted Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:33 AM

Just ordered a couple carts and the CV dust cover, looking forward to them, Thanks Jeff.



#16 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 669 posts

Posted Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:43 AM

Thanks for the order. I should be able to get it shipped out later today or tomorrow at the latest.



#17 MrVideoGames OFFLINE  

MrVideoGames

    Space Invader

  • 21 posts
  • Location:Toledo, OH

Posted Thu Sep 29, 2016 1:19 PM

Looking at the HDMI option, it shows the HDMI and a small power plug coming out of the back.  Does this replace the traditional power plug or will the system need 2 power plugs to run?



#18 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 669 posts

Posted Thu Sep 29, 2016 1:26 PM

The only power input required is a provided 5V DC power input. The original power supply is not used anymore for CV games. The 5V is backfed into the original power port so that the roller controller can be plugged in and powered.

 

 

EM1 compatability is a little tricky though. You would need a separate composite mod and to unplug the new power supply and use the old one when you wanted to play the atari games as the EM1 needs 12V as well. Both supplies should not be plugged in at the same time as that could cause damage.



#19 ScottyDont00 OFFLINE  

ScottyDont00

    Dragonstomper

  • 649 posts
  • Finally finished my CIB US Odyssey 2 set!
  • Location:Burlington, NC

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 10:08 AM

Placed an order for a power supply today.



#20 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 669 posts

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 10:36 AM

Thanks for the order. I will try and get it out either today or tomorrow.



#21 Noah98 OFFLINE  

Noah98

    Dragonstomper

  • 635 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Mon Oct 3, 2016 1:25 PM

I hope your business grows!  I'm very impressed with how quickly you respond :)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: colecovision, F18a, HDMI

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users