Jump to content

Photo

Jumpman level design contest


100 replies to this topic

#1 playermissile OFFLINE  

playermissile

    Chopper Commander

  • 217 posts

Posted Tue Jul 26, 2016 11:39 PM

Omnivore now has an easy-to-use level editor for Jumpman! To mark the occasion, Kevin and I are holding a Jumpman level design contest.

 

We invite you to create your new Jumpman levels and submit them to us. We will pick the best 32 levels and use them to create an entirely new edition of Jumpman! You may submit entries privately by emailing the .ATR file to jumpmancontest@gmail.com, or publicly by posting them in this thread.

 
The deadline for entries is midnight UTC, October 22, 2016 By submitting an entry, you agree to put your level in the public domain.
 
There will be two categories of entries: levels without custom code (created using only the Omnivore level editor, no programming skillz required); and with custom code (which requires some 6502 assembly programming.) You can create your levels either way.
 
To get started, you’ll need to download the latest version of Omnivore and read the quick-start guide for the level editor. You’ll also want to watch Kevin’s video showing how to use Omnivore to make a level.
 
Optionally, you may also want to read our lengthy Jumpman Reverse Engineering Notes. Custom coders will probably need to, but it’s not needed for everyone else. 
 
Kevin and I really love Jumpman, and are thrilled to be able to provide a tool for creating new levels. We look forward to your feedback, and will do what we can to help you create new levels.
 
jumpman-editor.png


#2 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Tue Jul 26, 2016 11:51 PM

I'm so exited by this!

 

For inspiration, here's a new level I created. It's kind of a hard one.

 

Attached File  daft.atr   23.27KB   67 downloads

Screenshot 2016-07-26 22.49.41.png



#3 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,775 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:39 AM

Thanks guys, had not had a chance to play with the editor but now I can watch the video and read the guide, well when I have time that is, I have a house refit going on with every room in the flat being done all at once over 3 weeks, its INSANE, just having a toilet and a cooker would be nice (today I hope)....Total mess but I hope to fit a bit of Jumpman in with this...

 

Hopefully...Oh, off now, electric is going off...Again...



#4 Grevle OFFLINE  

Grevle

    Moonsweeper

  • 367 posts
  • Location:Norway

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:58 AM

Awesome :) . we need someting like the C64  Fire level. On the orginal Atari version that would be electrocution... Maybe a Multicolor Jumpman for the Custom Code version ?. Anyway this will be amazing. :thumbsup:



#5 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,775 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:04 AM

Awesome :) . we need someting like the C64  Fire level. On the orginal Atari version that would be electrocution... Maybe a Multicolor Jumpman for the Custom Code version ?. Anyway this will be amazing. :thumbsup:

 

The fire level is also on the Version of Jumpman junior for the Amiga, its level 2 on beginner and it came to light last week that the best Amiga emulator Winuae would not play it properly BUT its been fixed on the very latest beta (not openly publicly released at this exact moment but if you follow Toni's beta releases you will know where to get the intermediate fix ups) and plays nicely now.

 

Oh, and as the C64 level editor is availble for windows with all the level maps available to edit it should be easy to recreate it Atari wise or close using what graphics are available to the Atari version

 

C64 Windows editor

 

http://csdb.dk/release/?id=149470


Edited by Mclaneinc, Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:12 AM.


#6 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:28 AM

 I installed the editor and when creating a new level the editing screen is really tiny.  I just have an HD monitor, nothing 4k crazy or such.  I cant figure out how to make the editing window larger - i can barely see the icons when drawing



#7 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:29 AM

Just figured it out - right clicking on the drawing window and doing bitmap zoom - good for now.



#8 playermissile OFFLINE  

playermissile

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 217 posts

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:54 AM

Just figured it out - right clicking on the drawing window and doing bitmap zoom - good for now.

 

I've got a fix for this; I'll put it in the next release. Thanks for the report.



#9 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:55 AM

First go at it - took 5 variations to get something I liked - enjoy :)

 

Attached File  SK Jungle.zip   13.66KB   65 downloads



#10 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:57 AM

A few comments on the editor - In working on my level I accidentally put a peanut someplace that I didnt want - I dont see a way to remove peanuts?

 

Also I drew a grider which I removed using the erase tool.  I tried to create a down rope where I erased the girder and it wouldnt allow me to draw where I had "erased"

 

Is there an easy way to pick a new "bullet" shape or do you have to write code?



#11 playermissile OFFLINE  

playermissile

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 217 posts

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:11 AM

A few comments on the editor - In working on my level I accidentally put a peanut someplace that I didnt want - I dont see a way to remove peanuts?

 

Also I drew a grider which I removed using the erase tool.  I tried to create a down rope where I erased the girder and it wouldnt allow me to draw where I had "erased"

 

Is there an easy way to pick a new "bullet" shape or do you have to write code?

 

The way to remove something is to select it using the arrow tool (it will turn light blue), then use Cut (Ctrl-X) or press the Delete key. I'll have to add a Delete option in the menu.

 

I know I don't have a user's manual so I apologize for the confusion, but those erase icons are designed to be used in the trigger painting, not on the main level. The three things, Erase Girders, Erase Ladders, Erase Ropes are drawable objects, the only difference is they draw background colored pixels. I'll have to change the toolbar so they aren't available when drawing the main level.

 

And the effect you saw, not being able to draw where you had erased, is because Jumpman sorts the objects so that erasable objects always appear on top of drawn objects.

 

About bullets: there's a way to make them bigger (ala Jumping Blocks), but not change their shape. They are the missiles, so they are only two bits wide. So, yeah, if you wanted different shapes you'd have to do some custom code and use a player object, or use multiple missiles or something.

 

And BTW: your level is challenging! I still haven't completed it.



#12 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:28 AM

Makes sense - as I was writing the issue on erase I was wondering if that was used in a trigger to modify the screen - I will have to look into using that for my next design :)



#13 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:31 AM

How do I trigger a bullet to be a Jumping block?  Is there a way to control frequency without coding?  I believe some Jumpman levels have 2-3 bullets roaming around at once.



#14 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:32 AM

How do I trigger a bullet to be a Jumping block?  Is there a way to control frequency without coding?  I believe some Jumpman levels have 2-3 bullets roaming around at once.

 

 

Jumping blocks: custom code. Number of (regular) bullets can be controlled right from the level editor.

 

Kevin



#15 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:33 AM

I see the bullets - thx.  Ill prob have an update to the "Jungle" :)



#16 Grevle OFFLINE  

Grevle

    Moonsweeper

  • 367 posts
  • Location:Norway

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:16 PM

 

The fire level is also on the Version of Jumpman junior for the Amiga, its level 2 on beginner and it came to light last week that the best Amiga emulator Winuae would not play it properly BUT its been fixed on the very latest beta (not openly publicly released at this exact moment but if you follow Toni's beta releases you will know where to get the intermediate fix ups) and plays nicely now.

 

Oh, and as the C64 level editor is availble for windows with all the level maps available to edit it should be easy to recreate it Atari wise or close using what graphics are available to the Atari version

 

C64 Windows editor

 

http://csdb.dk/release/?id=149470

 

Ok. . Well. Maybe a complete Jumpman game C64 edition on the Atari should be possible, with the same levels as the C64 including the Fire Level,And with a multicolor Jumpman, looking the same as C64 Jumpman, I think that would be Cool and Fun to Have. At this point this is beyond my capabilities , Maybe someone more capabel could find this interesting ?.


Edited by Grevle, Wed Jul 27, 2016 12:17 PM.


#17 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 1:38 PM

Another quicky - this is fun :)

 

Next one will be Evil :D 

Attached Files



#18 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:19 PM

I'm so exited by this!

 

For inspiration, here's a new level I created. It's kind of a hard one.

 

attachicon.gifdaft.atr

attachicon.gifScreenshot 2016-07-26 22.49.41.png

 

Tough jump points on this one - just so I know, it appears you cant get to the bottom girder?



#19 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 784 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:27 PM

That would be telling.

 

But no.



#20 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,661 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:50 PM

Here are two that I made whilst helping Kevin and Rob beta test this thing

 

* Minty Goodness

c64Nhwx.png

 

* A Ledge Too Far:

5MYPnua.png

 

 

Attached Files



#21 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 8:34 PM

One more for today

 

Indy.jpg

 

Attached Files



#22 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,661 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 9:56 PM

Indy: Interesting drop down pits... As well as the girder hurdles... 

 

However, I must...MUST make the following point: Pay attention to how the ropes are used in the original Jumpman levels, there is a very specific placement art to them, especially with the up-ropes, up-ropes are in reality the same color as girders (and are thus treated in the same fashion), and should traverse to be FLUSH with the girders themselves, so that you cleanly climb to the next girder (see my levels).

 

-Thom



#23 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,661 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2016 10:22 PM

playermissile, you do realize that omnivore may grow a mini-assembler, before it's all done...right???

 

*ducks-and-runs*

 

-Thom



#24 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Thu Jul 28, 2016 5:24 AM

Indy: Interesting drop down pits... As well as the girder hurdles... 

 

However, I must...MUST make the following point: Pay attention to how the ropes are used in the original Jumpman levels, there is a very specific placement art to them, especially with the up-ropes, up-ropes are in reality the same color as girders (and are thus treated in the same fashion), and should traverse to be FLUSH with the girders themselves, so that you cleanly climb to the next girder (see my levels).

 

-Thom

 

I am purposely trying to create levels which dont follow the Jumpman norms :) - My Jungle level was inspired by the key level of DK Jr. - that was the original layout.  Indy was influenced by the rolling boulder sequence of the Indiana Jones movie.  These would be better if I could code to make things happen the way I want, so for now Im trying to push what I get for free from the editor :)

 

 

The drop down pits I put in to help the player avoid the missiles.  I wanted pretty tight walkways and with no ability to avoid the bullets I put a few pits in.  The level layout wouldnt allow me to put them in higher up so I left them as an additional element on the first floor.


Edited by Goochman, Thu Jul 28, 2016 5:26 AM.


#25 Goochman OFFLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,786 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Thu Jul 28, 2016 6:53 AM

Pitfall

 

Pitfall.jpg

Attached Files






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users