Jump to content

Photo

The Compact Computer 40 (CC40)


438 replies to this topic

#376 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,797 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Fri Jan 5, 2018 9:14 AM

Because its there?

#377 jedimatt42 ONLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,800 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:41 PM

Extender:  2x20 .1" header
RAM: AS6C4008 DIP32, DIPS2 socket, 4 10K, 1 3K3, 2 1n418 or other germanium diode, 4 position DIP switch (optional), 3V lithium battery, 1x2 jumper header, 1.uF ceramic capacitor
ROM: 32 PIN EPROM/FLASH of some type.  4 10K, 1 4position DIP switch, 3K3, the two diodes are not needed, can be replaced with 2 wires, DIP32 socket, .1uF ceramic capacitor
 
Nothing is critical on other board.


Ok, I officially don't like having 1 thread for 4 projects. icon_sad.gif These are great, and I thank brain for making this available to this 12 (too high?) person market. But I wish desperately for something more official than a forum post.

These BOM's don't make sense to me. And I'd like to answer go4retro's request for a review, but I'd like it to be a good review. The boards arrived quickly. look good and clean...
But, the BOM above for RAM doesn't say what the diode's should be. The ROM board doesn't have footprints for diodes, so maybe that comment belongs to the RAM board?

I infer from these BOMs that the things that look like surface mount pads, are just test pads?

Is that correct?

-M@

#378 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:10 AM

On the RAM board:

R1-R4 (10K)

r5 (3K3)

r6 (6K8)

D1-2 (1n914 or similar germanium diode)

C1.1 (.1uF)

+3V (3V battery)

D1 (4 DIP switch)

IC2 (ascv61008/ascv62008/ascv64008)

 

ROM Board:

R1-R4 (10K)

r5 (3K3)

C1 (.1uF)

IC1 (27C010/27C020/27C040)

 

If you want to use SST339SF040, cut trace between pads that say "EPROM" on the bottom, and solder the pads that are on the FLASH side

 

The first batch of ROM boards had diodes, but they are not needed, so they were removed.

 

Jim


Edited by brain, Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:11 AM.


#379 Vorticon ONLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,248 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 2:45 AM

Any word on the storage option's status?

#380 ndp630 OFFLINE  

ndp630

    Star Raider

  • 50 posts

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:07 AM

Ok, I officially don't like having 1 thread for 4 projects. icon_sad.gif These are great, and I thank brain for making this available to this 12 (too high?) 

 

 

 

 13....I bought a cc40  about a month ago.



#381 jedimatt42 ONLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,800 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:22 PM

Thanks for the clarified BOMs Jim! That's perfect! 

 

-M@



#382 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:20 PM

Still working on it.  Real Life has slowed me down (we have a large migration going on tomorrow), so time has been short.  But, I do have the dev boards back. 

 

Jim



#383 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:59 PM

I may have a line on a few working cc40s is there interest in getting them? Can't guarantee the boxes are pretty

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#384 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,797 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:50 PM

Cost?

#385 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:07 AM

I can't say for certain at this point. 

 

JIm



#386 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,797 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 12:11 AM

I need to get a CC-40.  :)  I was actually responding to arcadeshopper's post about the available computers.

 

The projects you guys are working on are fascinating!



#387 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:46 AM

Cost?

Waiting to hear these are working but not perfect..

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#388 apersson850 OFFLINE  

apersson850

    Dragonstomper

  • 501 posts

Posted Fri Feb 2, 2018 9:13 AM

Micrometer pic attached. :)

41e9192f65e6ed0dec756c507e38e2ce.jpg

 

Sorry for this being slightly off topic, but do you call that a micrometer? I would have said caliper. A micrometer to me is something different.

 

gambar-mikrometer-sekrup.jpeg?resize=624



#389 RickyDean OFFLINE  

RickyDean

    Dragonstomper

  • 924 posts

Posted Fri Feb 2, 2018 10:04 AM

 

Sorry for this being slightly off topic, but do you call that a micrometer? I would have said caliper. A micrometer to me is something different.

 

gambar-mikrometer-sekrup.jpeg?resize=624

You would be correct, at least for American English. As a 10 year machinist, I know a few things :-D



#390 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,422 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Feb 2, 2018 12:31 PM

 

Sorry for this being slightly off topic, but do you call that a micrometer? I would have said caliper. A micrometer to me is something different.

 

gambar-mikrometer-sekrup.jpeg?resize=624

 

Yes, it's likely years of me using an incorrect term.  I'll start using Caliper.  A lot of folks that I grew up around called everything a micrometer that did precision measurements, so you can blame them :)



#391 apersson850 OFFLINE  

apersson850

    Dragonstomper

  • 501 posts

Posted Fri Feb 2, 2018 2:02 PM

Thank you. Please understand that I'm not complaining. I'm just curious. As a non-native English speaker it's not always so easy to know which word is the correct, or at least better, one.

But I too work in a production industry, so I can tell you that in the part of the world where the SI system rules, measurements of things like what you are talking about here are always in mm. Never cm or something else.

The caliper is in Swedish called skjutmått, which is literally sliding meter. The micrometer is called mikrometerskruv, which translates to micro meter screw. As the company where I work is producing parts with tolerances down to about 1/1000 mm, we have several tools like that.


Edited by apersson850, Fri Feb 2, 2018 2:02 PM.


#392 RickyDean OFFLINE  

RickyDean

    Dragonstomper

  • 924 posts

Posted Fri Feb 2, 2018 2:28 PM

Thank you. Please understand that I'm not complaining. I'm just curious. As a non-native English speaker it's not always so easy to know which word is the correct, or at least better, one.

But I too work in a production industry, so I can tell you that in the part of the world where the SI system rules, measurements of things like what you are talking about here are always in mm. Never cm or something else.

The caliper is in Swedish called skjutmått, which is literally sliding meter. The micrometer is called mikrometerskruv, which translates to micro meter screw. As the company where I work is producing parts with tolerances down to about 1/1000 mm, we have several tools like that.

Yes I understand, when I was working as a machinist then, instead of developer. we would use both the English and metric systems as needed, converting between them. But in most case we would also use mm, not generally cm. 



#393 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,356 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Feb 2, 2018 2:58 PM

Sounds familiar.

 

German:

Schieblehre (colloquial; schieben = slide/move, Lehre=measure), Messschieber (DIN = German industrial norm), Kaliber (stress on long i)

Mikrometerschraube (micrometer screw)



#394 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Feb 7, 2018 10:48 PM

i got this in the mail today icon_smile.gif

 

Attached File  20180207_191108_HDR.jpg   926.77KB   5 downloads

 

Attached File  20180207_192157_HDR.jpg   881.51KB   5 downloads

 

Attached File  20180207_192432_HDR.jpg   917.39KB   5 downloads



#395 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,797 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 12:04 AM

Holy lord, that is beautiful....



#396 Casey OFFLINE  

Casey

    Moonsweeper

  • 290 posts

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 6:14 AM

I just picked up one of these Hex-Bus modems also to go with my CC-40 also.  There are a few left...



#397 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,422 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 6:58 AM

These prices are going insane.  What the hey?

 

https://www.ebay.com...bgAAOSwovNaSuws - $300

 

NEW in BOX RARE Vintage 1983 NOS Texas Instruments TI-CC40 Basic Pocket Computer - $315

 

Texas Instruments CC-40 Computer - $250 BIN

 

The whole 'retro computer collecting' thing is really starting to gnaw at me a bit because people are paying insane prices for things we've been dwiddling with for years.  We actually use them.  These folks buy them, stick them on a shelf, and we never see/hear from them again.  Kind of like the guy that bought the Hexbus video adapter on eBay.  We know who it is.  He just doesn't respond to us.  I'd love to reverse engineer that thing!

 

40 carts, $200:  https://www.ebay.com...GEAAOSwAExZnizL



#398 Casey OFFLINE  

Casey

    Moonsweeper

  • 290 posts

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 7:28 AM

I have to agree. Honestly, I’d like to see a viable hex-bus adapter for the 99/4A come out. I know it’s old technology compared to the nanoPEB (which I love) and the TIPI (which I am very interested in), but I’d still like to be able to hook up my CC-40 directly to my 99/4A and make productive use out of it. I suppose I could snag a hex bus RS232 if one happens to show up and hook it to the 99/4A that way, but hex bus devices in general are hard to come by.

#399 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,697 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Thu Feb 8, 2018 8:08 AM

I have to agree. Honestly, I’d like to see a viable hex-bus adapter for the 99/4A come out. I know it’s old technology compared to the nanoPEB (which I love) and the TIPI (which I am very interested in), but I’d still like to be able to hook up my CC-40 directly to my 99/4A and make productive use out of it. I suppose I could snag a hex bus RS232 if one happens to show up and hook it to the 99/4A that way, but hex bus devices in general are hard to come by.

 

I wonder what contemporary standards we will have... IF ANY going forward?  I don't know what the HexBus uses, but if possible on other devices, an easily obtainable RJ45 would be nice.



#400 apersson850 OFFLINE  

apersson850

    Dragonstomper

  • 501 posts

Posted Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:55 AM

From a logical point of view, it's of course possible to implement a Hex-bus interface with some I/O-bits on the TI 99/4A. If you don't have any, you could add just an input and an output latch (74LS251 and 74LS259) and a CRU interface. But would it be fast enough for the TI 99/4A to drive that in software? You, who have worked with this, are there time constraints within the Hex-bus interface that are tougher than what polling such inputs in software can handle?






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users