Jump to content

Photo

The Compact Computer 40 (CC40)


438 replies to this topic

#426 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:12 PM

 

Finish that migration yet? :)

 

Greg

Yep.  My current challenge is finding a bootloader that works with SD cards and fits in 2048 bytes. 

 

If folks are wanting to move now and can program an AVR atmega328, let me know, and I'll kit up the parts.  Otherwise, I need to find a way to do field upgrades, or the shipping of boards back and forth will becoming tiring very quickly.  I am sure folks will find bugs, so user upgrades are very important.

 

I have a 3092 byte SD card bootloader, but have not gotten it down to 2048 bytes yet. 

 

Jim



#427 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,420 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:39 PM

Yep.  My current challenge is finding a bootloader that works with SD cards and fits in 2048 bytes. 

 

If folks are wanting to move now and can program an AVR atmega328, let me know, and I'll kit up the parts.  Otherwise, I need to find a way to do field upgrades, or the shipping of boards back and forth will becoming tiring very quickly.  I am sure folks will find bugs, so user upgrades are very important.

 

I have a 3092 byte SD card bootloader, but have not gotten it down to 2048 bytes yet. 

 

Jim

 

There are a handful of us with programmers that can do that and test for you.   Just let us know.   Are they going to be kits?  If so, I might have mine sent to someone like Greg for assembly since my hands shake too much to solder right now.  



#428 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,586 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:54 PM

Yep.  My current challenge is finding a bootloader that works with SD cards and fits in 2048 bytes. 
 
If folks are wanting to move now and can program an AVR atmega328, let me know, and I'll kit up the parts.  Otherwise, I need to find a way to do field upgrades, or the shipping of boards back and forth will becoming tiring very quickly.  I am sure folks will find bugs, so user upgrades are very important.
 
I have a 3092 byte SD card bootloader, but have not gotten it down to 2048 bytes yet. 
 
Jim

I can do that. Sorry for the sysadmin joke ;)

Greg

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#429 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,586 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:55 PM

 
There are a handful of us with programmers that can do that and test for you.   Just let us know.   Are they going to be kits?  If so, I might have mine sent to someone like Greg for assembly since my hands shake too much to solder right now.  

Happy to build yours Jon

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#430 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 3,245 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 5:53 AM

Any updates on the SD card drive for the CC40?



#431 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 8:18 PM

Any updates on the SD card drive for the CC40?

Yep.

 

Not having a ton of time to work on bootloaders, so I am switching plans.  I am recompiling the design for Arduino (I use an atmega328, so this is pretty easy), and I will sell (or folks can grab via eBay) an Arduino UNO + Data Logger card to test with.  This way, they can dload new code with USB, and I can get feedback on the code (and an arduino is nice to have anyway).  That will eliminate the need to solder (acadiel's concern) and I can get on with development without having to worry about packaging right now.

 

Thoughts appreciated.

 

Jim



#432 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,586 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 8:20 PM

Sounds good to me

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#433 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,741 posts

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 8:44 PM

Sounds good to me too. . .



#434 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,420 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon May 14, 2018 10:17 AM

Sounds good too. I have an Uno. Have a link to the datalogger shield?

Sent from my moto x4 using Tapatalk

#435 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Wed May 16, 2018 4:36 PM

https://www.ebay.com...bMAAOSw6btXSRTw

#436 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,420 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed May 16, 2018 4:44 PM

 

 

I'm guessing a regular SD card shield would work too, right?   That, I should have...



#437 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Wed May 16, 2018 4:48 PM

I think anything with an SD card connected to the MISO/MOSI/CLK/SS lines would be fine.

 

Jim



#438 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Sun Jul 1, 2018 7:22 PM

Sorry about the delay.  Work and Life™ happened, etc., blah, blah.

 

I have pushed the first pieces of Arduino support into the repo:

 

https://github.com/go4retro/HEXTIr/

 

I am still getting a return code of 01 on SD card mounting, so looking into that.  Once I overcome that, I should be ready to test.  For those with the Arduino Uno and a SD shield, feel free to pull down and get the dev environment up and running.

 

I am not using the Arduino dev environment, as moving the code over to arduino C++ was a large undertaking, and Arduino is not the final platform.  But, I am hopeful folks can get a dev env going quickly.  Feel free to ask questions.

 

Jim



#439 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts

Posted Sun Jul 1, 2018 10:49 PM

Arduino support is working.  I had to move a few pins, as the real time clock on this shield uses a few of the pins.

 

Instructions are in https://github.com/g...ter/doc/arduino

 

The shield does not automatically connect Card Detect (CD), Write Protect (WP), and the LED (L1) to the Arduino pins, so one must do that.

 

To build, you'll need make, the avr-gcc tools, avrdude, awk, and I think that's it.

 

make CONFIG=config-arduino program fuses

 

Replace in config-arduino the AVRDUDE_PORT with your Arduino COM port.  Mine is COM32.

 

Let me know if someone gets it running.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users