Jump to content

Photo

WIP Battle Pong- Questions, Comments, Snide Remarks Welcome


58 replies to this topic

#51 BNE Jeff OFFLINE  

BNE Jeff

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 226 posts
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted Sun Feb 26, 2017 6:25 AM

Here's what I've come up with for the title screen 48 pixel image.  How's it look?

 

Battlepong 2-26.jpg



#52 TheHoboInYourRoom OFFLINE  

TheHoboInYourRoom

    Chopper Commander

  • 226 posts
  • Whackadoo thingamajig
  • Location:Illinois

Posted Sun Feb 26, 2017 11:16 AM

Here's what I've come up with for the title screen 48 pixel image.  How's it look?

 

attachicon.gifBattlepong 2-26.jpg

Snazzy.



#53 BNE Jeff OFFLINE  

BNE Jeff

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 226 posts
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:06 PM

So here it is in the title screen.  I wonder if its big enough.

SS 2-27-17.jpg


Edited by BNE Jeff, Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:07 PM.


#54 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • 10,706 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:11 PM

Looks good to me :thumbsup:



#55 TheHoboInYourRoom OFFLINE  

TheHoboInYourRoom

    Chopper Commander

  • 226 posts
  • Whackadoo thingamajig
  • Location:Illinois

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:38 AM

I wonder if the logo might not be more visually imposing if you did it in a two-line kernel, to make the pixels more square like in your Excel screenshot.

But the one-line resolution looks good too in any case.



#56 BNE Jeff OFFLINE  

BNE Jeff

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 226 posts
  • Location:Virginia, USA

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:54 AM

That sounds good..  And I also think its good as is.  I think just having something up there is good for now because I still need to add other things.  I still need to add a little menu to select one or two players and maybe some other flair.  Speaking of that Excel spreadsheet, seeing it that big, I think converting this to PF graphics would look good too. 

 

 

Darrell..  I noticed in Medieval Mayhem, you had to re-write a lot of the code for each individual 48 pixel graphic.  Why did you have to do that and not use a subroutine?  Was it because the graphics were different heights?



#57 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • 10,706 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:21 AM

Darrell..  I noticed in Medieval Mayhem, you had to re-write a lot of the code for each individual 48 pixel graphic.  Why did you have to do that and not use a subroutine?  Was it because the graphics were different heights?


It's a dynamic menu, the extra code is determining things like which of the MORE indicators to display, such as bottom only:
Medieval Mayhem (NTSC).png

Both:
Medieval Mayhem (NTSC)_1.png

Top only:
Medieval Mayhem (NTSC)_2.png

which options are shown (the menu scrolls), the color of the text (selected option & value are colored differently), and the value for each option. After each of those are figured out and prepped for, the Show48graphic subroutine is called to display it. Additionally paddle readings are taken during the menu.


Note: the "more" indicators are always displayed, they're just colored black when they're not needed:
Medieval Mayhem (NTSC)_3.png



#58 TheHoboInYourRoom OFFLINE  

TheHoboInYourRoom

    Chopper Commander

  • 226 posts
  • Whackadoo thingamajig
  • Location:Illinois

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:13 AM

That sounds good..  And I also think its good as is.  I think just having something up there is good for now because I still need to add other things.  I still need to add a little menu to select one or two players and maybe some other flair.

Of course. Better to get the functional stuff out of the way first.



#59 funkheld OFFLINE  

funkheld

    Chopper Commander

  • 190 posts

Posted Today, 7:12 AM

Why is this message coming?
 
greeting

Attached Thumbnails

  • Bild222.jpg





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users