IGNORED

Atari ST, Supra HD, UltraSatan

Hi, everyone!

Since I'm VERY new to the Atari ST series (lifetime 8-bitter, though), I'm hoping someone can help me with the situation described below.

I recently purchased an Atari ST lot that included a 52mb Supra drive. Unfortunately, due to VERY poor packing by the seller, the accompanying ST computers are busted up and non-working at the present time, and thus out of the equation here.

I went ahead and used a 520STe that is also in my collection, and initially, I went ahead and hooked up the Supra drive and connected my new UltraSatan to the port on the Supra. Boot-up resulted in the UltraSatan showing up on the desktop-- but no Supra.

On intuition more than anything, I disconnected the U/S, leaving the Supra connected. And it booted up to the desktop as if it had always been there. And there appears to be a LOT of goodies on there that I still need to go through.

But I'd like to be able to backup the Supra to the U/S for a just-in-case, because hard drives can fail. If I understand the problem, it's because both the U/S and the Supra are vying for the same ID or whatever it's called.

I'm not sure what else I need to provide by way of info, so feel free to ask for anything else you need to know. As I said, I really just want to back up the Supra before I start actually doing anything with it-- especially since I'm completely noobish where the ST series is concerned.

Thanks, in advance!

--Tim

Hi,

If you get to the desktop with both devices connected and only the ultrasatan present, it might be a driver configuration issue. The idea is to enter the configuration of the ultrastan's hard disk driver and tell it to rescan the drive chain in order to detect and enable all devices found. If it can't find the supra it might be a drive ID clash (not too likely but not impossible either).