IGNORED

Powering a Nano with the TI-99/4A Composite port

Shift838

I think I read somewhere that someone powered a NanoPEB/CF7+ with their 99/4A Composite video port.

The Nano/CF7+ requires a 5v DC current to be supplied.

The question I have is I believe Pin #1 supplies a 12v current if I recall correctly (someone correct me if I am wrong or verify if I'm right)

So based on what I found on the web a 1.5k resistor would pull the 12v down to 5v.

If so then we should be able to hook up pin 1 and pin #2 (for TI-99/4A US model) and power the Nano via a couple of wires, resistor and power plug connector.

Or am I completely wrong?

If this is correct, then.. Another question:

If someone has the F18A video upgrade, would the above still work?

I'm just thinking of how I can remove a plug from my power strip.

I think you would be better off with a 7805 voltage regulator.

I'm just learning, but to my knowledge resisters lower current, not voltage.

However, there are techniques for creating voltage splitters from a pair of resistors. But i don't yet understand the theory behind that.

-M@

• Like 1

A resistor would drop the voltage but it's a very bad idea for this application. The voltage (in Volts) across the resistor = the current going through it (in Amps) * the resistance (in Ohms). The problem here though is that the current drawn by the NanoPEB won't be constant - it will probably increase when you read/write to the card for example, so the voltage dropped across the resistor won't be constant, and so the voltage you're supplying the NanoPEB with will vary. Whether it will go high enough to damage it or low enough for it not to work, I'm not sure. You'd probably also need a fairly high power (Wattage) resistor to drop enough voltage and supply enough current. A 7805 voltage regulator is what you'd need here. (Using a pair of resistors as a voltage splitter to generate a reference voltage is fine as long as you're pulling a very low current.)