IGNORED

Ultimate 1MB firmware update using SIDE LOADER

opossumita

Hi all, I'm a noob on these things, sorry if some questions may sound stupid.

As far as I've understood it's possible to update Ultimate 1MB firmware on real machine using SIDE LOADER. Well, I've just a SIDE2 with CF and I've found a step by step guide online:

http://atari8.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Ultimate-1MB-and-Incognito-BIOS-and-XEX-Loader.pdf

Do I have just to flash 'ubios120.rom' and 'upbi180.rom' with uflash.xex? What about 'uload120.rom'?

Thanks in advance.

Edited by opossumita

Yes: as per the installation guide (step 9), you should repeat the process for UPBIxxx.ROM and ULOADxxx.ROM. UFlash is distributed in the same archive as the ROMs, and it should now be possible to update the entire 64KB firmware ROM at once by flashing FIRMWARE.ROM to the "Firmware" slot as Roy points out, although this is a recent development not mentioned in the manual.

Thanks for the replies, I'm going to try it later... By the way, How to run .ATR files with the new firmware? I guess some settings have to be changed in PBI Bios menu... With Altirra i was able just to run .xex games...

Update: Where should i place the FIRMWARE.ROM? If i place it simply in the root of CF card I can't "see" it in the file list of uflash.xex...

Edited by opossumita

I placed uflash.xex and the firmware rom in the cf card root as well and I can't see the rom in the file list...Also tried to create a directory apart for uflash and rom with no success... :-\ It works in emulator... That's weird. My Atari 800XL was repaired months ago...ls08 faulty chip has been replaced with F08... Maybe it has something to do with this?

Concerning Altirra The .atr files are listed in the loader but when i try to run them it just brings me to the READY screen...

Edited by opossumita