Jump to content

Photo

Official Custodian for Atari Jaguar Thread

Custodian Atari Jaguar Homebrew Port New games

82 replies to this topic

#26 Sapicco OFFLINE  

Sapicco

    Moonsweeper

  • 395 posts

Posted Thu Nov 3, 2016 5:01 PM

Cool thanks! Ive already preordered. ;)

#27 PikoInteractive OFFLINE  

PikoInteractive

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 275 posts
  • Location:San Antonio Texas

Posted Tue Nov 15, 2016 9:36 AM

Just Wanted to post the board!

 

15094236_908590089276980_438384560812607



#28 madman ONLINE  

madman

    Stargunner

  • 1,971 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:11 PM

Very cool, I was wondering when someone was going to make new boards using modern chips instead of relying on sourcing EPROMs. I believe Another World did this as well just based on how much lighter the cart is.



#29 ChaosCX ONLINE  

ChaosCX

    Moonsweeper

  • 393 posts
  • "So says Mr. Stewart."
  • Location:U.S.

Posted Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:34 PM

Very cool, I was wondering when someone was going to make new boards using modern chips instead of relying on sourcing EPROMs. I believe Another World did this as well just based on how much lighter the cart is.


I remember hearing about a difference between the 1st and 2nd run of Another World, but I don't want to pop open my copy to see what that is lol

Edited by ChaosCX, Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:35 PM.


#30 madman ONLINE  

madman

    Stargunner

  • 1,971 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:40 PM

Mine is from the second run and it's noticeably lighter than other Jag carts which is why I assumed it's made on a custom PCB w/flash chips. I just looked, the edge connector is definitely a bit different than the Atari PCBs.



#31 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • 4,276 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:48 PM

It's a Jagtopus board designed by scpcd.

#32 PikoInteractive OFFLINE  

PikoInteractive

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 275 posts
  • Location:San Antonio Texas

Posted Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:12 PM

And these flash PSOP44 Chips are not even modern. We can go all the way to TSOPs and would be even lighter, but quality would still be high.



#33 82-T/A OFFLINE  

82-T/A

    River Patroller

  • 2,863 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:22 PM

Ordered! Thanks!!!

 

I'm moving in February... so hopefully it comes before then, otherwise my new tenant who rents my house will get a free Jaguar game.

 


  • jhd likes this

#34 af0l OFFLINE  

af0l

    Chopper Commander

  • 130 posts

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:44 AM

I asked on FB already, but still. Those are 3.3V flash chips. And they work without level shifters?

#35 PikoInteractive OFFLINE  

PikoInteractive

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 275 posts
  • Location:San Antonio Texas

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2016 2:00 PM

That 3 pin square is a level shiftier, we use them for SNES and Genesis boards too.

 

@82 -T/A We will start shipping mid January, Will send an announcement. If have moved etc you can request it to be sent out to other address =D



#36 omf OFFLINE  

omf

    Dragonstomper

  • 667 posts

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:55 PM

Just Wanted to post the board!

 

 

is it just me or are these chips 4 meg each (acording to my eprom programmer software they are) giving a total of 8 meg for rom storage, so it brings the question, how large is the rom??



#37 Jeffrey_Bones OFFLINE  

Jeffrey_Bones

    Moonsweeper

  • 332 posts
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:09 PM

is it just me or are these chips 4 meg each (acording to my eprom programmer software they are) giving a total of 8 meg for rom storage, so it brings the question, how large is the rom??


I also want to know this. I was just talking about the possibility of higher than 4MB carts. I was told 6 MB was the largest the Jaguar can support and nobody has ever tried anything higher than 4 MB

Edited by Jeffrey_Bones, Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:09 PM.


#38 omf OFFLINE  

omf

    Dragonstomper

  • 667 posts

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:43 PM

nobody has ever tried anything higher than 4 MB

re read this

http://atariage.com/...ible/?p=3633391



#39 Jeffrey_Bones OFFLINE  

Jeffrey_Bones

    Moonsweeper

  • 332 posts
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:58 PM

Oh I forgot you mentioned that Alice's Mom's Rescue was a 6 MB rom initially.
Still curious about the possibility of this board we see here from Piko being 8 MB.
Since they are already taking orders and shipping out soon I'm assuming they have already tested these and if they are 2 4MB rom chips is the image over 4 MB?

#40 af0l OFFLINE  

af0l

    Chopper Commander

  • 130 posts

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 5:43 AM

You can get to 6mb with Skunk already. But Jags memory space is divided to allow for just 6mb of cart space, so that's that without some tinkering...

#41 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,522 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:48 AM

Just Wanted to post the board!
 
15094236_908590089276980_438384560812607



This is going to need clear shells so those cool logos can be seen.

#42 ChaosCX ONLINE  

ChaosCX

    Moonsweeper

  • 393 posts
  • "So says Mr. Stewart."
  • Location:U.S.

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:19 AM

This is going to need clear shells so those cool logos can be seen.

I'd add funds onto my pre-order if they had a clear shell option. hehe = )



#43 PikoInteractive OFFLINE  

PikoInteractive

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 275 posts
  • Location:San Antonio Texas

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:02 AM

The thing about shells; we are using for this release original Atari Licensed shells from an official distributor. The license to use those shells has been paid off back in the day. Using clear shells (I think they still have the Atari Brand) would not be ok because those were made recently without Atari license.

 

So in the future when the shells are available with no atari logo from vendors we will definitely do it. 

 

Unless Albert sells me the mold and I move them close to where I live, then I could make the changes and have more of this stuff available. =D

Regarding the chips - the board is compatible with the PSOP44 chips for 16Mbit AND 32Mbit. Still I we have to split the roms in 16Mbit chunks to get it to run (couldn't figure out how to make it work with a single 32Mbit file). So these 32Mbit were use because I have a ton in stock (because I use them for SNES and Genesis as well). But will also go with cheaper options like 16Mbit ones which I will stock soon.


Edited by PikoInteractive, Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:13 AM.


#44 Jeffrey_Bones OFFLINE  

Jeffrey_Bones

    Moonsweeper

  • 332 posts
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 9:20 AM

Why am I the only one looking at 3D printing as an option for creating the shells? Its much more cost effective you dont need molds (just a 3d scanner) and there are plenty sturdy filaments out there. I think there are even clear options. Just scan a non-atari logo shell and go from there. You would of course have to buy the screws

#45 PikoInteractive OFFLINE  

PikoInteractive

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 275 posts
  • Location:San Antonio Texas

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:28 AM

Is definitely not cost effective and the defect rate is very high, is good for prototyping.



#46 madman ONLINE  

madman

    Stargunner

  • 1,971 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:15 PM

This is going to need clear shells so those cool logos can be seen.

 

You realize a label will be on the cartridges?



#47 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,522 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:35 PM

Of course. But it may not cover the jaguar logo or needn't be the traditional shape.

#48 PikoInteractive OFFLINE  

PikoInteractive

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 275 posts
  • Location:San Antonio Texas

Posted Tue Dec 6, 2016 1:55 PM

Shells and inserts have arrived. We hit a bit of a hiccup with the packaging but should be here and ready to ship at the announced dates =D



#49 xucaen OFFLINE  

xucaen

    Dragonstomper

  • 945 posts
  • Creating a new and original board game.
  • Location:Massachusetts

Posted Wed Jan 4, 2017 10:59 AM

I had never heard of Custodian before. I watched the game play demo video but I really couldn't figure out what is going on. I googled and found some gameplay videos of the original ST version. Then I found some information on Atarimania. http://www.atarimani...odian_9033.html

 

Does anyone know where I might find an original instruction manual or a writeup of the gameplay? I think if I can understand the game first, the videos might make more sense to me.

 

edit: I just found this: http://www.mobygames...ri-st/custodian

but Not much info there about game play. Still looking for write up/instructions for gameplay.

 

I found this, again not much there. http://hownow.tk/game/24820/custodian/



#50 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 3,112 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Wed Jan 4, 2017 2:59 PM

This was a "stocking stuffer" for me. Hopefully I'll get to enjoy it sometime before June rolls around ;) 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Custodian, Atari Jaguar, Homebrew, Port, New games

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users