Jump to content

Photo

TI ARC format?


25 replies to this topic

#1 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • 2,301 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:33 PM

I received this request from a TI99er:

 

"Any Chance you could put your software together in a TI ARC file for download? Thanks."

 

Something I never really spent the time to understand are all the TI file formats, so I really don't know how I would go about doing this? :?



#2 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,612 posts

Posted Wed Oct 19, 2016 12:56 AM

Arc format usually refers to one or more files that are compressed and gathered into a single file using Barry Boone's Archiver program, version 3 or later.  One common use was/is to group files for uploading to (and downloading from) BBSs and online services.  Others used it to reduce the number of diskettes in their libraries or to aid in keeping files together.  TI Image Tool and TIDIR both have support for the format to varying degrees.  



#3 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,308 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:37 AM

Oops ... the Archive function has a bug in TIMT, as it seems - it arcs itself into its own archive. I'll have to fix that before we start to get fractal files.

 

(It seems to happen when the archive file is alphabetically inserted into the list of selected files ... a workaround is to choose a name that occurs after the last selected file.)



#4 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,191 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Oct 19, 2016 12:47 PM

tidir can create an archive easily also ti99pc has good archive support or there's always using the real archiver in classic99 with the dsk1 directory 



#5 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,308 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Oct 19, 2016 2:55 PM

Oops ... the Archive function has a bug in TIMT, as it seems - it arcs itself into its own archive. I'll have to fix that before we start to get fractal files.

 

OK, I fixed it, but this is still somewhat unsatisfying. The problem occured when I introduced drag-and-drop support which forced me to drop my own implementations in favor of available Java mechanisms, because anything else would have been extremely ugly.

 

The problem is that I implemented archiving by creating an empty archive file first, then copy the selected files into the archive. By creating the archive file, the directory becomes longer by one element, but there is still a selection model behind, and it is not updated automatically. If the archive file happens to be sorted into the directory amidst the selected files, the loop over the selected elements will pick the newly created archive file. So what I did now is to first make a copy of the selected file references, then add the archive file, then use the copy of the references.

 

I noticed a similar phenomenon with other Java-based tools, for example, ProjectX (used for video editing). So maybe this is a Java-related issue that requires at least some more consideration.

 

The fix will soon be available; I intend to add some more features for the official 2.4 release.



#6 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    Stargunner

  • 1,510 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:56 PM

Thank you for TIMT. 



#7 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,301 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:31 PM

Thanks for all the info.  I'll give TIDIR a try and see what kind of mess I can make.



#8 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:16 AM

I don't think Ti99Dir can create or modify arc files - it can't only extract files from them - but I may be wrong.



#9 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,308 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:08 AM

Another short howto clip: http://www.mizapf.eu...es/archive.webm



#10 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,191 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:19 PM

I don't think Ti99Dir can create or modify arc files - it can't only extract files from them - but I may be wrong.

 

you are correct..



#11 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 2,593 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:32 PM

Here's Barry Boone's Archiver program. Drop it in DSK1 of Classic99 and arc away :) Remove the .bin extension first.

Attached Files



#12 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2016 2:40 PM

Classic99 ships with Barry Boone's Archiver in DSK1 already ;) EA#5 "DSK1.ARC303G"

#13 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:21 AM

Hi,

I get this error #0 when I write compressed to an .ARC file (in Classic99/FIAD)

Uncompressed seems to work, so no problem so far... Any idea ?

thanks

xXx

 

 

Attached File  ARC303G-Compression-Error-01.JPG   82.48KB   3 downloads Attached File  ARC303G-Compression-Error-02ac.JPG   62.68KB   3 downloads

 

Attached File  ARC40G-Compression-Error-01.JPG   70.38KB   3 downloads Attached File  ARC40G-Compression-Error-02.JPG   46.2KB   3 downloads

 

 

without using copression it works (in both versions):

 

Attached File  ARC40G-Compression-Error-03.JPG   56.3KB   3 downloads



#14 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,612 posts

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:40 AM

Compressed files use level 2 IO, specifically, subprograms >14 and >15 for disk; >24,>25,>27 for HFDC/SCSI drives).  Uncompressed files use DF128 record-based level 3 IO. Does the log show a specific error?



#15 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:39 PM

yes, where can I find the log ?

In the folder there are some log files, but they seem older

 

Attached File  classic99-logs.jpg   120.24KB   2 downloads



#16 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,612 posts

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 1:02 PM

yes, where can I find the log ?

In the folder there are some log files, but they seem older

 

attachicon.gifclassic99-logs.jpg

I think it is in the debugger option. I seem to recall that Tursi sometimes points people to it when there is a disk problem ;)



#17 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:11 PM

Maybe this helps, but I don´t think so :)

 

Attached File  ARC303G-Compression-Error-03.JPG   216.71KB   2 downloads



#18 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:17 PM

hmmmmm, works now... :)



#19 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,612 posts

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:56 PM

hmmmmm, works now... :)

What is the solution ?



#20 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:53 PM

You sure you aren't using an old version of Classic99? I fixed the compressed files don't write issue a few years ago. ;)

And yes. Any disk error you don't understand, go to Edit->Debugger and read what the problem was. :)

#21 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:56 PM

In the log you're showing above, you are using the TI Disk Controller hack, so there are two additional things:

-Not supported
-The error is coming from the TI disk controller ROM. My first guess would be a corrupt disk image, but there's no information available from the emulator because the emulator didn't generate the error.

Please stop using the TICC hack. There's no reason to do so unless you are a developer specifically testing something. Disk writes are fully supported in the current version of Classic99, and I can't help you with issues if you're using it.

#22 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 2:22 AM

Hi, I am using v393. Don´t know why it worked after all.... have to test some more.

But, it was the first time for me to use ARC, so maybe I just did something wrong ?



#23 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 2:25 AM

In the log you're showing above, you are using the TI Disk Controller hack, so there are two additional things:

-Not supported
-The error is coming from the TI disk controller ROM. My first guess would be a corrupt disk image, but there's no information available from the emulator because the emulator didn't generate the error.

Please stop using the TICC hack. There's no reason to do so unless you are a developer specifically testing something. Disk writes are fully supported in the current version of Classic99, and I can't help you with issues if you're using it.

 

ah OK, how can I switch it off ?



#24 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,597 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 3:10 AM

Just go into the disk configuration and select a valid disk mode (such as: Image (DSK)) in the drop down menu (it'll be empty for any disk you are using the hack on). Do this for each of the drives you are using the hack with.

Note of course with full support this includes images larger than 180k and all disks 0-9, neither was true with the TICC hack. :)

#25 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Mar 1, 2017 5:59 AM

ah OK, so maybe you mean the "type=3" that I used, but this was only for this session when I tried to ARC it.

Maybe it worked after I reloaded the DSKs.... (but I didn´t use the "type"=3 before)

I will see.... :)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users