Jump to content

Photo

ADAMnet SD Drive Released by MicroFox / A.N.N.


72 replies to this topic

#26 adamcon OFFLINE  

adamcon

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Southwest Michigan

Posted Wed Nov 2, 2016 3:57 PM

I would like to be added to the list.  Thanks.

Got you both.



#27 jblenkle OFFLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,695 posts

Posted Wed Nov 2, 2016 4:55 PM

Someone who is not on AtariAge asked me if rom images can be stored on the drive and loaded...or does it just load disks?

 

And how about ddp images?

 

thanks



#28 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,140 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Wed Nov 2, 2016 5:48 PM

Someone who is not on AtariAge asked me if rom images can be stored on the drive and loaded...or does it just load disks?

 

And how about ddp images?

 

thanks

It will not load rom images in the manner that the AtariMax Multi-Carts do. You will have to create CopyCart disk image volumes and then boot the disk image to bring up the CopyCart menu to choose the rom that you want to play.

 

As far as DDP images, they should work just fine, but they will be mounted to Disk Drive #1 or Disk Drive #2, not to a Data Drive. At worst you might have to rename the file from *.DDP to *.DSK depending on how the menu software recognizes file extensions.



#29 adamcon OFFLINE  

adamcon

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Southwest Michigan

Posted Wed Nov 2, 2016 7:41 PM

It will not load rom images in the manner that the AtariMax Multi-Carts do. You will have to create CopyCart disk image volumes and then boot the disk image to bring up the CopyCart menu to choose the rom that you want to play.

 

As far as DDP images, they should work just fine, but they will be mounted to Disk Drive #1 or Disk Drive #2, not to a Data Drive. At worst you might have to rename the file from *.DDP to *.DSK depending on how the menu software recognizes file extensions.

Correct Jim, roms have to be in ADAMem .dsk format to run.  DDP software in ADAMem format will work with the extension .ds?.  First 2 letters have to be ds and 3rd can be anything



#30 Pixelboy OFFLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 8,097 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Wed Nov 2, 2016 7:45 PM

Correct Jim, roms have to be in ADAMem .dsk format to run.  DDP software in ADAMem format will work with the extension .ds?.  First 2 letters have to be ds and 3rd can be anything


So how long before someone releases a ".dsk" collection of Ikrananka's legacy ROM dumps? ;)

#31 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,140 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Wed Nov 2, 2016 8:10 PM

So how long before someone releases a ".dsk" collection of Ikrananka's legacy ROM dumps? ;)

There are numerous CopyCart disk image volumes in the Adam archive on Joe B's website, but those are not from Ikrananka's clean set. To make such a disk image would take some work as each PC rom image would have to be converted individually to Adam format with The Adam Connection, then those disks with the rom files taken to an Adam and the files copied to the disk image on the SD Card. It would probably take 2 1.44Mb disk images

I could easily do it, just need the necessary time.

#32 jblenkle OFFLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,695 posts

Posted Wed Nov 2, 2016 11:36 PM

Or...you use CopyCart on ADAMem and "dump" the carts to a 1.44mb disk image...it works just like doing it on a real ADAM.

 

Too bad you can't do this on Virtual ADAM as it does not have the ability to mount disks and cartridges at the same time.

 

There are numerous CopyCart disk image volumes in the Adam archive on Joe B's website, but those are not from Ikrananka's clean set. To make such a disk image would take some work as each PC rom image would have to be converted individually to Adam format with The Adam Connection, then those disks with the rom files taken to an Adam and the files copied to the disk image on the SD Card. It would probably take 2 1.44Mb disk images

I could easily do it, just need the necessary time.



#33 Foster OFFLINE  

Foster

    Chopper Commander

  • 125 posts

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 1:59 PM

Please find room on the list for me too.  Thanks!



#34 adamcon OFFLINE  

adamcon

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Southwest Michigan

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 5:51 PM

Please find room on the list for me too.  Thanks!

You're on it now



#35 evg2000 OFFLINE  

evg2000

    Stargunner

  • 1,346 posts
  • Location:N. Cal

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 5:56 PM

please add me to the waiting list.



#36 adamcon OFFLINE  

adamcon

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Southwest Michigan

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 7:22 PM

please add me to the waiting list.

Done



#37 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 8,268 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Fri Nov 4, 2016 7:27 PM

If my Adams hadn't gone up in smoke this would be awesome!



#38 adamcon OFFLINE  

adamcon

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Southwest Michigan

Posted Sat Nov 5, 2016 6:19 AM

If my Adams hadn't gone up in smoke this would be awesome!

OUCH !  The very first thing the repairman will tell is to follow rule # 1; that is, DON"T LET THE SMOKE OUT !  Can always buy another one though.


Edited by adamcon, Sat Nov 5, 2016 6:20 AM.


#39 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 8,268 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Sun Nov 6, 2016 4:03 PM

OUCH !  The very first thing the repairman will tell is to follow rule # 1; that is, DON"T LET THE SMOKE OUT !  Can always buy another one though.

Not that kind of smoke.  The house burned down kind of smoke.



#40 HDTV1080P OFFLINE  

HDTV1080P

    Dragonstomper

  • 786 posts

Posted Sun Nov 6, 2016 4:08 PM

Where is the link to purchase this item? Has it been released?



#41 telengard OFFLINE  

telengard

    Moonsweeper

  • 467 posts
  • Location:Hudson, NH

Posted Sun Nov 6, 2016 6:12 PM

Please add me to the waiting list. Any chance of supporting diectories on the SD card?

#42 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,140 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Sun Nov 6, 2016 7:37 PM

Where is the link to purchase this item? Has it been released?

Really?

 

It's in the first post of this thread.



#43 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,140 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Sun Nov 6, 2016 7:43 PM

Please add me to the waiting list. Any chance of supporting diectories on the SD card?

Not owning one yet, I can't be 100% sure, but....

 

It sounds to me like the disk images are placed in the root directory of the SD Card and that the menu software displayed on the LCD screen for browsing the contents of the SD Card does not support directories otherwise there wouldn't be the stated max number of 100 disk images.

 

Will have to wait for adamcon to chime in with a definitive answer.


Edited by NIAD, Sun Nov 6, 2016 7:44 PM.


#44 Steph_DIY OFFLINE  

Steph_DIY

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts
  • Location:St-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, Québec, Canada

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 6:24 AM

I want one, add me to the list please.

 

Thanks.



#45 adamcon OFFLINE  

adamcon

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Southwest Michigan

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 7:15 AM

Not owning one yet, I can't be 100% sure, but....

 

It sounds to me like the disk images are placed in the root directory of the SD Card and that the menu software displayed on the LCD screen for browsing the contents of the SD Card does not support directories otherwise there wouldn't be the stated max number of 100 disk images.

 

Will have to wait for adamcon to chime in with a definitive answer.

Yes, they are placed in a directory of sorts. The unit places them in alphabetical order as independent disks, thus you can run supergames from the unit.  Uppn startup, the unit starts as at the last position before shutdown and starts unmounted (or disk out).  The unit is capable of 100 disks up to 1.44m each in size; depends on what ADAMem disks you put on the miniSD card.



#46 adamcon OFFLINE  

adamcon

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Southwest Michigan

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 7:15 AM

I want one, add me to the list please.

 

Thanks.

Done, added to list



#47 phattyboombatty ONLINE  

phattyboombatty

    Stargunner

  • 1,171 posts
  • Location:San Diego, CA

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 12:34 PM

So, how will this work with the IDE boot/CF card solution? Independent of that? Is there any advantage to using them together?

#48 adamcon OFFLINE  

adamcon

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Southwest Michigan

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 1:26 PM

So, how will this work with the IDE boot/CF card solution? Independent of that? Is there any advantage to using them together?

It will work totally independent, as it is an ADAMnet device disk drive only with internal disks rather than external disk/data pack.  An ADAMem copy of the IDE boot media can be easily put onto the microSD card and then by selecting it and pulling reset, the IDE drive would be booted.  Not the fastest solution as you may be at another disk area of the Virtual Drive and it would take more time and effort ot go get the IDE boot disk than it would to pu in the actual boot media and pull reset.  Say you are at Powerpaint (3/4 - about 75 disks from start and the IDE boot is only 1/8 of the way into the 100 disks set (about 8 disks in); it would take way to much time to count down to the IDE boot disk on the Virtual Drive.



#49 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,140 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 6:39 PM

The IDE CF Card Package is still a very viable option even with the release of the Adamnet SD Drive and it really shines in T-DOS where you have four readily available partitions up to 8Mb in size to store all your files instead of them being split up over numerous floppy disks that have to be kept track of and inserted/removed from an actual drive. IE: try running WordStar from floppy disk or data pack and then run it from the IDE CF Card... case closed.

Just think of the SD Drive as an actaul disk drive where you have to look thru your disk case of 100 disks to find the one you want and then insert it in the drive... including the Adam Super Games.

Edited by NIAD, Mon Nov 7, 2016 6:42 PM.

  • Rey likes this

#50 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 6,140 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Mon Nov 7, 2016 6:49 PM

Adamcon... does the menu software of the SD Drive allow one to skip ahead multiple disk images (say 10 at a time) to speed things up or does one have to browse thru each individual disk image one at a time?




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users