Jump to content

Photo

New XB Game: Wizard's Doom

Extended BASIC Game CRPG 3D TI-99/4a

66 replies to this topic

#51 adamantyr OFFLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,177 posts

Posted Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:35 PM

I was copying the original manuals Rainbow software put out in the 80's. :)

#52 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:30 PM

It is beautiful!!!

20170213_122618_zpsboztcmjb.jpg

#53 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 278 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:33 PM

Any way to run this on DSK2?



#54 adamantyr OFFLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,177 posts

Posted Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:52 PM

Whew, just finished up putting together ten more manuals! Half my stock is gone, so get them while you can...

 

In regards to joystick control, I wanted to keep the game from requiring one. I appreciate that you feel it runs fast enough to warrant a bit of arcade action. :)

 

In regards to running from a different disk, this is doable but I'd have to alter the assembly program to read from a different path. I can do this on a case by case basis if you are really inconvenienced by using DSK1, just send me a PM for the request.



#55 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 2,808 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:39 AM

Hey Adam, a DSK2 version would be great! Alternatively, I can modify the program myself if you send me the assembly source listing.
Love this game!

#56 adamantyr OFFLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,177 posts

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2017 1:45 PM

Okay, here is a version that has been re-configured to run on DSK2!

 

Wizard's Doom 1.0.1 DSK2: Attached File  WizardsDoomDSK2.zip   27.82KB   11 downloads

 

Changing the disk paths is NOT trivial. The easiest way to do it is to use a hex editor on the WIZDOOM and LOAD files and change all instances OF DSK.

 

If you want to change it to something really long like a HD directory, you'll need to PM me with that, because it will require re-compiling the assembly source, which is merged into the LOAD file via Systex. (Again, Barry Boone, you are a GOD for writing that.)



#57 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:15 PM

Well... This makes it possible to play it on my real system... Even before getting my Lotharek next month. :)

Thanks!!!

#58 adamantyr OFFLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,177 posts

Posted Thu Mar 2, 2017 2:41 AM

Heads up, the CRPG Addict published an entry on Wizards Lair and Wizards Doom!

http://crpgaddict.bl...nd-two.html?m=1

#59 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Mar 2, 2017 3:15 AM

Sweet!!!

#60 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 2,808 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Thu Mar 2, 2017 6:36 AM

Okay, here is a version that has been re-configured to run on DSK2!

 

Wizard's Doom 1.0.1 DSK2: attachicon.gifWizardsDoomDSK2.zip

 

Changing the disk paths is NOT trivial. The easiest way to do it is to use a hex editor on the WIZDOOM and LOAD files and change all instances OF DSK.

 

If you want to change it to something really long like a HD directory, you'll need to PM me with that, because it will require re-compiling the assembly source, which is merged into the LOAD file via Systex. (Again, Barry Boone, you are a GOD for writing that.)

 

Thanks! Much appreciated. I liked the review in CRPG Addict. I also read your blog, and I don't think many players appreciate the amount of research and work you put into the development of this game. Definitely not as simple as it seems... 



#61 adamantyr OFFLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,177 posts

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:25 AM

In other news, the original creator of Wizard's Lair/Revenge and the founder of Rainbow software has shown up and commented on my blog! :D



#62 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:44 AM

Not the CRPG blog, right? I didn't see it there...

#63 adamantyr OFFLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,177 posts

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:53 AM

On my development blog, linked below. ;)



#64 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:55 AM

Ahh, it's at YOUR blog. Tiltingatwindmills. Cool

#65 adamantyr OFFLINE  

adamantyr

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,177 posts

Posted Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:26 PM

Okay, Version 1.2 is out... this fixes several issues that Sinphaltimus discovered while playing and dying repeatedly against the Evil Wizard.

 

I can't update the original first post, unfortunately.

 

Wizard's Doom Version 1.2: Attached File  WizardsDoom.zip   395.99KB   14 downloads



#66 oddemann OFFLINE  

oddemann

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:59 AM

Very cool game!

Impressed!

Only thing for me, slow to detect keystrokes in C99

But it looks great!

 



#67 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    Stargunner

  • 1,971 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:05 AM

Very cool game!

Impressed!

Only thing for me, slow to detect keystrokes in C99

But it looks great!

 

 

 

I think that's par for the course. You have to hold the key down during a narrow key press detection window. Please do try and complete the game by destroying the Evil Wizard. I've done so being a wizard, I plan to do so as the warrior (fighter?) and the Adventurer also. I found some bugs going through as Wizard so getting folks to play this and report back helps improve the product as well.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Extended BASIC, Game, CRPG, 3D, TI-99/4a

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users