Jump to content

Photo

New development: GTIA in CPLD


1015 replies to this topic

#1001 NuClear235 OFFLINE  

NuClear235

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:37 AM

So I left idea with YUV (YPbPr) and made SCART cable with RGB.
The picture quality is excellent too. And no jumping or artefacts.
But I see that picture is allignet to left edge of TV screen. It is normal?
TV is set to Aspect 16:9. On other settings is ot the same. Only 4:3 added wide strip, which move left edge a bit to center.

Did you power the Atari off between puttting the jumper on and off ? I bet the jumper is only read at boot-up but Simius can answer that.
For RGB connecting to a CRT on a Rev.A board you need to open the jumper of interlace. I had it on at first and the display looked OK to me, first tried DK cartridge then Blue Max, wit Blue Max it was really very clear that it was jumping between lines due to the scrolling.
Now, my B&O TVs have something quite special and they can actually display interlaced video but...is there an advantage between interlaced and non-interlaced ?

Attached Thumbnails

  • ABEA4212-F96C-4834-835A-2B0A073ADBA6.jpeg


#1002 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 13,683 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sun Jul 22, 2018 10:56 AM

You should use 4:3 anyway, since it will correct the improper aspect ratio.



#1003 NuClear235 OFFLINE  

NuClear235

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Sun Jul 22, 2018 2:34 PM

You should use 4:3 anyway, since it will correct the improper aspect ratio.


I thought so, but in 4:3 mode is distance from left side still smaller than on the right side...
Shouldnt I something set anywhere?

#1004 Level42 ONLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,242 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Jul 22, 2018 3:57 PM

I thought so, but in 4:3 mode is distance from left side still smaller than on the right side...
Shouldnt I something set anywhere?

 
Yep. Time to read the user manual of your TV :)
 
(Or the Service Manual)

BTW, Ive noticed on the various CRTs i have connected recently that the A8 picture is more toward the left of the screen on all those TVs. No way that all these TVs have the wrong settings from the factory.


Probably an A8 issue..you picture seems to confirm it....

Edited by Level42, Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:33 PM.


#1005 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,503 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:53 PM

Not so much the A8, mines centered in 4:3, though not using sophia...  however, the main field slightly left, the letters 2 character to the right would allow for the off chance you couldn't see all the text on a television of terrible specs that might have existed before the Atari was created.... I've never liked that it was done. it is what it is... I've never seen a television even back in the early 80's that wasn't adjustable inside or out the fit the whole screen without issue...



#1006 Geister OFFLINE  

Geister

    Star Raider

  • 73 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, PA

Posted Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:02 PM

I started reading this thread because it was discussing an enhanced GTIA chip that added more colors in some some of the GTIA modes, However, the discussion quickly turned into what video outputs should be supported.  

 

Wanting to get to the good stuff, I jumped to the end of the thread only to see that people seemed to be discussing aspect ratios and output modes.  I scanned back a few pages and saw some discussions of the Sophia board which is, to the best of my knowledge, just an RGB mod.  Not to knock RGB mods, but there have been RGB mods since the early days including one I did to my 800XL back in the eighties.  However, I would have killed for a video upgrade that would get a true 256 color mode.  

 

So, not wanting to read 41 pages of RGB output discussion, can somebody tell me if the GTIA enhancement IS the Sophia board or did this thread morph over the years?  If so, does the Sophia actually give you more color modes, or just more colors in existing modes?



#1007 Osgeld OFFLINE  

Osgeld

    Quadrunner

  • 5,510 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:54 PM

I think what you want is VXBE, that gives you more colors and etc

 

from what I understand Sophia is pretty much the same modes and colors, just with better output options like RGB and DVI


Edited by Osgeld, Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:55 PM.


#1008 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 506 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Sun Jul 22, 2018 11:52 PM

If so, does the Sophia actually give you more color modes, or just more colors in existing modes?

 

Color modes are the same. The Sophia board gives you one color more in hi-res graphic and 256-color palette in all modes.



#1009 DarthVaper OFFLINE  

DarthVaper

    Space Invader

  • 23 posts

Posted Fri Jul 27, 2018 4:14 AM

Okay, where can I order the Sophia boards with the right connection cables? There is a need of 3 of these, because I have a 600XL, 800XL and an Atari 5200 that has to be modified ;)



#1010 looney bin jim OFFLINE  

looney bin jim

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Tue Aug 7, 2018 11:57 AM

Declaring interest if any of these are still available.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#1011 mytek OFFLINE  

mytek

    River Patroller

  • 2,821 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Tue Aug 7, 2018 1:29 PM

I'm also interested in picking up another RGB version Sophia.



#1012 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 506 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Wed Aug 8, 2018 1:53 AM

Available all the time. Ask on PM.

#1013 looney bin jim OFFLINE  

looney bin jim

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Wed Aug 8, 2018 3:24 AM

PM sent


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#1014 Level42 ONLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,242 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Wed Aug 8, 2018 4:01 AM

I thought so, but in 4:3 mode is distance from left side still smaller than on the right side...

Well this is funny, I have connected my 600XL to several different TVs [5] and they all show the blue box left from the center.

I can fix this in the service mode of the TVs but if I have to adjust all the TVs to my 600XL than the TVs are lined out correctly, and the Atari is not.

Not sure if this is an Atari thing, or a Sophia thing, but I think Atari.....

Edited by Level42, Wed Aug 8, 2018 4:02 AM.


#1015 DarthVaper OFFLINE  

DarthVaper

    Space Invader

  • 23 posts

Posted Mon Aug 13, 2018 11:58 AM

argh get only a damn black & white no color.

Setup:

Sophia board Rev. B2

Atari 5200

RGB to Scart cable from mentioned prefered shop.



#1016 Level42 ONLINE  

Level42

    River Patroller

  • 2,242 posts
  • Location:Ridderkerk, The Netherlands

Posted Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:17 PM

It is impossible to get a b/w pic from an RGB cable.
Worst case you have either red, green or blue only.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users