Jump to content

Photo

Mad Studio

Mad Pascal Mad Assembler Graphics Player/Missiles Atascii screens Character sets

153 replies to this topic

#101 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2018 11:12 AM

Ok, I will look at the compile problem.

 

I will revisit and update FastBasic code. Thank you!

 

Yes, text editor has new features. I am more comfortable to code with fixed fonts like Courier new. Other, more terminal like, is FixedSys font, but Courier New was the choice for default font.



#102 TIX ONLINE  

TIX

    Moonsweeper

  • 423 posts
  • Location:Athens Greece

Posted Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:52 PM

Hey Gury, great job :)

I use MadStudio mainly for sprite editing and its an excellent and easy to use tool set !!

 

I encountered a problem can you help ?

probably my fault but in version 0.8.5 I cant seem to change the colors of any players except player 1..



#103 TIX ONLINE  

TIX

    Moonsweeper

  • 423 posts
  • Location:Athens Greece

Posted Thu Nov 1, 2018 11:37 AM

.. never mind  :|



#104 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,961 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Nov 1, 2018 11:52 AM

.. never mind  :|

but now we have to know!



#105 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Fri Nov 2, 2018 1:34 AM

Hi TIX,

 

does Color palette shows on the left side? To change the color of a player you have to click on corresponding color box at the bottom (PCOLR0, PCOLR1, PCOLR2, PCOLR3) and select another color of your choice.



#106 pajero_pn OFFLINE  

pajero_pn

    Star Raider

  • 80 posts
  • Location:Poland (Europe) / Swarzedz_City

Posted Fri Nov 2, 2018 2:29 AM

Good programs!

Editors can include a 48-character wide screen?

Better - could you declare the screen size of X = 9999, Y = 9999
and edit only a part of the whole. And add scrolling X, Y

greetings

Attached Thumbnails

  • Atascii, Text mode editor.PNG


#107 TIX ONLINE  

TIX

    Moonsweeper

  • 423 posts
  • Location:Athens Greece

Posted Fri Nov 2, 2018 1:06 PM

Hi TIX,

 

does Color palette shows on the left side? To change the color of a player you have to click on corresponding color box at the bottom (PCOLR0, PCOLR1, PCOLR2, PCOLR3) and select another color of your choice.

 

yeah found it

thanks !



#108 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Sun Nov 4, 2018 11:38 AM

 

yeah found it

thanks !

 

I am aware the program needs documentation when it grows in features. It will be included someday, I need more time for Atari stuff.

Btw, I am glad it is of some use to you.

 

Good programs!

Editors can include a 48-character wide screen?

Better - could you declare the screen size of X = 9999, Y = 9999
and edit only a part of the whole. And add scrolling X, Y

greetings

 

 It sounds like map editor to me :) It will be done somewhere in the future.



#109 TIX ONLINE  

TIX

    Moonsweeper

  • 423 posts
  • Location:Athens Greece

Posted Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:19 AM

I think I found a bug,

sometimes when I am in the player/missile editor,the layers lose the alignment and when I try to fix it with the slider they become corrupt..

see below:

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • mad.JPG


#110 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:18 AM

Thank you for this bug report, I will check if I can reproduce it. I am also working on new features.

 

I noticed from your screenshot that font layout is little off. It seems to be a problem of default OS font used by a program for displaying text. I will check if I can set some fixed sized font to display the same in all environments. We can test this when I prepare new version .



#111 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Sun Nov 25, 2018 12:10 PM

New version 0.9

 

New features:

- Player Animator + data source code generator (full support for loading Atari Player files)

- Player/Missile editor: support for loading Atari Player files (first two frames)

 

I will describe inner works and current observations about bugs later. Too tired now.

 

madstudio01.png madstudio02.png madstudio03.png madstudio04.png

 

 



#112 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 5:06 PM

Here is new version with some new features.

 

Player Animator now includes source code generator for animations from loaded Atari Player Editor file. Currently you can select from Atari BASIC / Turbo BASIC XL and FastBasic example listings. Attached below are some examples generated with the program.

 

I changed GUI layout a bit in Player Animator source code generator for better handling of the listings. I will probably use the same approach in other modules next time.

 

You can also manipulate APL files in Player/missile editor. You can load two frames, stored in four players or you can select an option to load just one layer of the frames.

 

mad_studio_03.png

 

Saving APL in Player/missile editor will be included in next version. Currently you can save changes in Player Animator.

 

Here is a screenshot of a program with animated figure loaded from APL file.

 

mad_studio_05.png

 

You are welcome to send any new suggestions and bug reports.

 

About Player Animator usage... no documentation yet :(

 

You draw in the frame cells with mouse (left button for draw a color, right button for background). On first click you get the focus on the frame slot, later on you can draw in the cells. When you move to another frame slot, you again first get a focus. In drawing process, you can press key 1 or 2 to select layer (player 0 / 1), with which you want to draw in the cell. Or you can choose radio button above the editor.

 

Btw... 

apl_anim_src.zip are source code examples + FastBasic executable generated with Mad Studio, apl_pack.zip is set of files collected from Atari Player Editor and http://atarionline.pl sites

 

Have a nice day...

Attached Files


Edited by Gury, Wed Dec 5, 2018 5:19 PM.


#113 Philsan ONLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,888 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:15 AM

Would it be possible that Source code editor saves language preference? Every time I have to switch to FastBasic.

 

Would it be possible to have a stand-alone Source code editor? Most of the times I only code and I don't need Color palette and Mad Studio floating windows.

 

Thanks!



#114 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:06 AM

Hi Philsan,

 

Good suggestions. Saving language preferences is not a problem. I can add properties to configuration file, which will indicate selected language of choice in source code generator.

Anyway, I plan to centralize source code generators from all modules in one of later releases to make things simpler. For now, I will detect last selected language which will be saved to configuration file.

 

Source code editor is just one of modules in the program, so I can add a feature to save current state of opened modules. So, when you would close Color palette window, it would not be opened next time unless you call it through the menu in main window again.

 

Main Mad Studio floating window is the main program module, so it cannot be closed simply like other modules. I will think about ways to overcome this, maybe making it invisible and call any module by shortcut keys.

 

Keep in touch


Edited by Gury, Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:08 AM.


#115 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:22 PM

New version - 0.92

 

Some major highlights:
 
Player Animator Editor
  - Source code generator: support for Mad Pascal, Action! and TurboBasic XL in all listing examples
  - Fixed colors when saving data to file
  - Function Enable/disable mixed (3rd) color: immediate changes in all frames
 
Misc
  - Saving language preference in source code editors
  - Saving the state of opened and closed modules in the program
  - Formatted json configuration text (now configuration file is more readable)
 

Would it be possible that Source code editor saves language preference? Every time I have to switch to FastBasic.

 

Would it be possible to have a stand-alone Source code editor? Most of the times I only code and I don't need Color palette and Mad Studio floating windows.

 

Thanks!

 

Below are examples of Player Animator generated source code listings in Mad Pascal and Action! Attached is also demonstration executable file (Mad Pascal).

 

pm_anim_test.png

 

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2019 to all...

Boštjan

 

Attached Files



#116 ziggystar OFFLINE  

ziggystar

    Dragonstomper

  • 579 posts
  • Location:Spokane Washington

Posted Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:09 AM

Thank you!



#117 Fabrizio Caruso OFFLINE  

Fabrizio Caruso

    Chopper Commander

  • 118 posts

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:56 AM

Where is the latest version kept? Could you please provide a link to the project page pointing to the latest version?



#118 Philsan ONLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,888 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:42 AM

Post #115

#119 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 9:14 AM

There will be homepage and documentation for Mad Studio as soon as I get more time for work on Atari stuff. Also, there are new features in To Do list, including all suggestions and ideas from you, folks.



#120 Philsan ONLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,888 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:01 AM

Meanwhile, you could ask Albert to grant you editing privileges for the first post.

#121 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    High Score Club Overlord and Caretaker

  • 8,306 posts
  • still bl**dy assembling
  • Location:The Atariage High Score Club World HQ

Posted Fri Feb 22, 2019 8:29 AM

Hi Gury,

I'm working with someone here to create a new game, I am programming on the MAC/65 Assembler on the Atari and he is trying out Mad Studio for the first time. Please can you add a feature to create a data file from the screen that can be read (entered) into Mac/65.

Thanks,

J



#122 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,315 posts

Posted Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:09 PM

Hi!

 

Do you wish this feature for all supported graphics modes in the program? Did you mean screen data bytes as listing created by source code generator?



#123 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    High Score Club Overlord and Caretaker

  • 8,306 posts
  • still bl**dy assembling
  • Location:The Atariage High Score Club World HQ

Posted Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:28 AM

Hi!

 

Do you wish this feature for all supported graphics modes in the program? Did you mean screen data bytes as listing created by source code generator?

Ideally MAD Studio creates an exported file that can be read into BASIC/assembler with data statements for screen data (all modes) and PMG data. Preferably bytes in hex format. 

 

In MAC/65 in text mode you can "enter" in a BASIC listed file and replace the text "DATA" from 10 DATA $30,$30... with ".BYTE" , but having it as .BYTE $40,$20,$23 would be fantastic - this doesn't need line numbers as can auto-number during import. So you could do 1 for BASIC (with line numbers) and 1 for Assember :)



#124 Philsan ONLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,888 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:43 PM

I would need like data export in Graphics Editor too, with FastBasic format:

 

data image() byte = $00, $00, $00, $01, $55, $55, $15, $55, $50, $01, $50, $00,
data byte = $00, $00, $05, $40, $00, $00, $00, $00, $00, $00, $00, $00,

...
data byte = $00, $00, $05, $40, $00, $00, $00, $00, $00, $00, $00, $00

 

Notice that first line has "image()" and last line doesn't end with a comma.

 

Eventually, a complete graphics editor like Atari Graphics Editor would be useful: http://g2f.atari8.info/(scroll the page).



#125 therealbountybob OFFLINE  

therealbountybob

    High Score Club Overlord and Caretaker

  • 8,306 posts
  • still bl**dy assembling
  • Location:The Atariage High Score Club World HQ

Posted Sat Feb 23, 2019 2:27 PM

I suspect if M.S. created a BASIC listed file with records not over the 3 line lengh (I think it's around 140 chars in MAC/65) we can all import that and replace the prefixes :)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Mad Pascal, Mad Assembler, Graphics, Player/Missiles, Atascii screens, Character sets

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users