Jump to content

Photo

Lynx 2 powers on, game plays but no display. Also MOSFET replacement.


9 replies to this topic

#1 Bagpuss OFFLINE  

Bagpuss

    Space Invader

  • 11 posts
  • Location:Cornwall

Posted Wed Nov 16, 2016 5:30 AM

Just wondering if someone can help me. 

 

I've just got my Lynx 2 out of storage with the intention of fitting a McWill screen and using my excellent Lynx SD card cartridge (thanks Saint).

 

However, when I power up the Lynx, the game runs fine (California Games starts playing the intro music, and you can press buttons to start the different games), but there is no display on the screen. The backlight is working. 

 

I'm wondering if I should just open it up, and install the McWill screen, or if I should try and troubleshoot the original screen first.

Would appreciate any tips on troubleshooting the problem. 

 

I'd also like to do the MOSFET and diode replacement. However, I can't find anywhere in the UK which stocks the exact replacement for the diode. 

The Lynx has been very lightly used, and was purchased as part of a fire sale that Electronics Boutique in the US were running back in about 1998. 

For piece of mind, I'm thinking that I should replace the power components. Does anywhere know where I might source the diode in the UK? 

 

Any help would be much appreciated. 

 

Andy.

 



#2 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,629 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Wed Nov 16, 2016 7:39 AM

This DigiKey part can be purchased in the UK from RS components. Unfortunately the smallest number you can order is 200 diodes. The cost for 200 diodes is €5.20.

 

The manufacturers part number is Fairchild Semiconductor 1N5229BTR

 

From DigiKey you can buy them in single quantities for 5 times higher price €0.11 each.

 

You could also try Mouser, they sell it in single quantities as well for €0.10 each as well.

 

Or Farnell, Newark...

 

For me the cheapest solution is to order from RS and pick it up at a local delivery centers. They charge nothing for the transport in this case. 20 minutes with the bus.

 

Actually it would be very nice to create a table of the replacement caps, MOSFET and Zener with suitable  replacement numbers.


Edited by karri, Wed Nov 16, 2016 7:40 AM.


#3 Bagpuss OFFLINE  

Bagpuss

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Cornwall

Posted Wed Nov 16, 2016 7:44 AM

Thanks Karri. 

I was trying to find the exact replacement, as I know there can be problems with the 1N5229. 

Seems that I might need to change R74 from 120 ohms to 30 ohms to ensure the voltage remains correct. 

 

I guess that's not too bad, as I'll be in there with the soldering iron anyway. 



#4 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,629 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:29 AM

Ok. I have not checked this fix myself. The part number was from cowdog's page.



#5 Krip316 OFFLINE  

Krip316

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:The nostril of the midwest

Posted Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:33 PM

Cowdog360 suggested this one, 1N5991B. It was giving me 4.9v. No issues. The 1N5229 was only giving me 4.3v.

Edited by Krip316, Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:56 PM.


#6 cowdog360 OFFLINE  

cowdog360

    Moonsweeper

  • 286 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted Wed Nov 16, 2016 10:58 PM

If you want I can ship you a MOSFET and the 1N5991B.  Granted it will be overseas, but still pretty cheap.



#7 Stephen Moss OFFLINE  

Stephen Moss

    Stargunner

  • 1,155 posts
  • Location:Cambridge, United Kingdom

Posted Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:42 AM

Thanks Karri. 

I was trying to find the exact replacement, as I know there can be problems with the 1N5229. 

 

The Fairchild website indicates that part was made obsolete in Septermber 2010 so unless you can find some old stock you will need to find and equivalent part...

Min. Typical, Max Zenner Voltage: 4.085, 4.3, 4,515 @ 5mA Test current

Impedance: 88 Ohms @ 5mA

Reverse leakage current: 5mA @ 1V

Max current: 116mA 



#8 bdoi OFFLINE  

bdoi

    Chopper Commander

  • 152 posts

Posted Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:55 AM

Just wondering if someone can help me. 

 

I've just got my Lynx 2 out of storage with the intention of fitting a McWill screen and using my excellent Lynx SD card cartridge (thanks Saint).

 

However, when I power up the Lynx, the game runs fine (California Games starts playing the intro music, and you can press buttons to start the different games), but there is no display on the screen. The backlight is working. 

 

I'm wondering if I should just open it up, and install the McWill screen, or if I should try and troubleshoot the original screen first.

Would appreciate any tips on troubleshooting the problem. 

 

I'd also like to do the MOSFET and diode replacement. However, I can't find anywhere in the UK which stocks the exact replacement for the diode. 

The Lynx has been very lightly used, and was purchased as part of a fire sale that Electronics Boutique in the US were running back in about 1998. 

For piece of mind, I'm thinking that I should replace the power components. Does anywhere know where I might source the diode in the UK? 

 

Any help would be much appreciated. 

 

Andy.

 

Hello Andy

I wondered if you save your display lynx 2 with a mcwill screen? or  have you dropped to fix it?



#9 bdoi OFFLINE  

bdoi

    Chopper Commander

  • 152 posts

Posted Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:48 PM

hi

So, is anybody has succeed fix a non lynx display 2 (just sound) with a mcwill screen?



#10 Bagpuss OFFLINE  

Bagpuss

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Cornwall

Posted Mon Mar 4, 2019 5:21 AM

Haven't had chance to look at this yet. Had a tough time over the last couple of years due to bereavements and divorce. Didn't really seem important in that context.

Now I'm back on an even keel, I've started to look at these things again. I've managed to source the diode, MOSFET and capacitors.

Going to change them all, and see if it makes any difference.

It's been suggested to me that the screen not working might be down to a dodgy electrolytic.

 

Will report back if I manage to get it working. If it still doesn't work with the original screen, then I'll try fitting the McWill LCD.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users