Jump to content

Photo

Heatwave BBS Online

BBS TIMXT Heatwave

49 replies to this topic

#26 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 4:26 PM

74|193|9|234 port 9640 is what shows in my ddns app.



#27 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:56 AM

I have temporarily taken Heatwave BBS offline.

 

The system has crashed twice in the past few days. This morning it crashed multiple times on mundane things like a simple extended basic CALL CHAR statement and while opening a file. 

 

I suspect that one or more of the video ram chips or the V9938 needs to be replaced, since I have also noticed some spurious characters and sprites.  Regardless, there is a hardware problem that I need to resolve.  I'll look at it tonight, after work.



#28 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,420 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:09 PM

Tim, I recently tried to telnet into Heatwave, but from a PC (Linux), and the display is not really readable. Is it because there is some character redefinition for showing graphics (which the standard telnet won't do)?



#29 Mad Hatter OFFLINE  

Mad Hatter

    Chopper Commander

  • 245 posts

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:10 PM

Damn that really sucks. I know the feeling!

#30 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:42 PM

Tim, I recently tried to telnet into Heatwave, but from a PC (Linux), and the display is not really readable. Is it because there is some character redefinition for showing graphics (which the standard telnet won't do)?

The login screen is displayed using ANSI sequences and extended ASCII graphics i.e., ibm character set. (https://en.wikipedia...i/Code_page_437)

 

If the telnet client doesn't support this natively, you will see the ansi control sequences as a bunch of letters, numbers, and brackets.   When the BBS is back online, perhaps you can share a screenshot of what you are seeing.



#31 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,420 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 3:11 PM

Ah OK, it's another codepage. This could prove to be a little challenge, since Linux terminals generally use Unicode; Google told me that there are indeed some people struggling to get cp437 back again (for similar purposes).



#32 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 3:58 PM

Ah OK, it's another codepage. This could prove to be a little challenge, since Linux terminals generally use Unicode; Google told me that there are indeed some people struggling to get cp437 back again (for similar purposes).

Here is what one search led me to find:   "this actually lead me to a solution using setfont with some downloaded cp437.psf and executing unicode_stop. thanks – Tim Theede Dec 5 '16 at 3:05"

 

Try connecting to Shift838's fusion bbs. He uses plain text at login.  I have considered going a similar route to "help" those without ANSI capability and may revisit this again.



#33 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,925 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:03 PM

Tim, I recently tried to telnet into Heatwave, but from a PC (Linux), and the display is not really readable. Is it because there is some character redefinition for showing graphics (which the standard telnet won't do)?

Syncterm is the best for ascii http://syncterm.bbsdev.net

Either that or I use qmodem in Dosbox

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#34 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:56 PM

Heatwave is back online... for now.  I replaced the Geneve to give me some breathing room while I investigate the cause and work on a permanent fix.



#35 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 10,171 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 6:00 PM

Syncterm is the best for ascii http://syncterm.bbsdev.net

Either that or I use qmodem in Dosbox

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk



I find that telnetting using the Command prompt in Windows works very well. Just no XMODEM CRC capabilities.

#36 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    River Patroller

  • 2,442 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Deer Park, Texas

Posted Tue Apr 25, 2017 8:47 PM

I find that telnetting using the Command prompt in Windows works very well. Just no XMODEM CRC capabilities.

 

I second syncterm.  Works great with Xmodem CRC as well and ANSI support.

 

I connect via RAW mode and it works nicely.



#37 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:41 PM

I had a few moments to inspect the failing Geneve.  One leg on a video chip stack caught my attention.  I used a screwdriver to gently apply outward pressure to the leg, and discovered the solder joint had broken free, and was quite woefully soldered in the first place.  There is no tension holding the two together.  I don't know if resoldering this chip will cure the video (and lockup) woes, but it sure can't hurt!  

 

This Geneve has its original 16 memory sockets, which bothers me a bit knowing how ugly they can get over time. I think for now I'll leave them alone and order some parts on standby.  I don't relish removing all those sockets from this somewhat brittle board.

 

Edit: added picture.
Attached File  IMG_0512.JPG   1.19MB   1 downloads


Edited by InsaneMultitasker, Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:52 PM.


#38 RickyDean OFFLINE  

RickyDean

    Stargunner

  • 1,003 posts

Posted Mon May 1, 2017 6:15 AM

Been there, done that, as you have before. It is a pain on the Geneve.



#39 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,141 posts
  • TI'ers - Have you done 'Chatti" today?

Posted Sat Oct 6, 2018 3:46 PM

Heatwave has been busy...

Attached Files



#40 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,903 posts

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2018 6:11 PM

Do we still have any users in Russia? I know there used to be a small group of them, but I haven't seen any evidence that they were still active in a decade or so. . .



#41 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2018 8:10 PM

Heatwave has been busy...

Seems to be a wave of new callers recently.  Someone allegedly from Finland logged in earlier today.  When it is quiet enough, I can hear the EZ135 drives chirp to life when someone connects ,and that has certainly been more frequent of late.  ;)



#42 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,141 posts
  • TI'ers - Have you done 'Chatti" today?

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2018 10:04 PM

This is what Heatwave used to look like two years ago...

 

 

.. I'd love to see a photo of what it looks like now.



#43 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Sat Dec 1, 2018 2:23 PM

This is what Heatwave used to look like two years ago...

 

 

.. I'd love to see a photo of what it looks like now.

Not much difference. My Geneve system pictures are posted somewhere out on the internet.  and Ksarul's son knows about its innards as he helped me put things back together at the last chicago Faire I attended.  :)



#44 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,903 posts

Posted Sat Dec 1, 2018 2:31 PM

He had a lot of fun doing that with you too, o Insane one!  :)  :)  :)



#45 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    HexaCoreRunner

  • 13,141 posts
  • TI'ers - Have you done 'Chatti" today?

Posted Sat Dec 1, 2018 5:27 PM

BTW - Did something change on Heatwave in the past day?  It seems to be running faster... and I've done nothing on my end.



#46 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Sat Dec 1, 2018 5:58 PM

I know that for the past few weeks or longer, my upload ability has been hampered by what looks like heavy traffic.  I suspect there was (or is) a problem somewhere in the backbone and/or in the local area.  I did see one of the ISP boxes open the other day and I know they have been running new utility cables for subdivisions in the areas around us.  It has also been raining and that tends to throw some extra 'bad' into the mix.

 

I've given up on trying to fix anything beyond my own house connection because the ISP always wants me to reboot the router and do nonsensical things to troubleshoot the issue.  Good luck getting to a higher level tech that can check things out.  One unorthodox way I have detected trouble is Quake 2 and similar games that shows packet loss and lag.  While not all that accurate, they are relatively good problem indicators. I'll try firing up a client or twi this weekend -  the last time I looked there were definite signs of a problem.



#47 Airshack OFFLINE  

Airshack

    Dragonstomper

  • 855 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 1:38 PM

 

also if you want on with your modem (from real hw, or whatever) you can dial up The KEEP and then dialout to heatwave with D6 or fusion with D7

Phone number: 503 646 2407

 

 

Greg 

 

 

Is there a phone number for Heatwave? (I believe it's still in Phoenix)



#48 Airshack OFFLINE  

Airshack

    Dragonstomper

  • 855 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 2:07 PM

OMEGA: 602-955-4491 number from the video is no longer working

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2018-12-03 at 1.06.20 PM.png   91.25KB   0 downloads

<script src="safari-extension://com.ebay.safari.myebaymanager-QYHMMGCMJR/568b915f/background/helpers/prefilterHelper.js" type="text/javascript"> </script>


Edited by Airshack, Mon Dec 3, 2018 2:09 PM.


#49 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 10,171 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 2:22 PM

Oooooooh..... I guess I didn't know HeatWave had a dial-in number for some reason...

#50 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,298 posts

Posted Mon Dec 3, 2018 4:24 PM

Heatwave does NOT have a dial up number and hasn't had one since moving from Phoenix to Houston 2+ years ago. 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: BBS, TIMXT, Heatwave

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users