Jump to content

Photo

HVSCMAZE


23 replies to this topic

#1 nicolaspersijn OFFLINE  

nicolaspersijn

    Star Raider

  • 65 posts
  • Location:Saarland Germany (DOD Overseas)

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:10 AM

Some important code in this rom that doesn't exists anywhere else, apparently.

Have at it, guys!

Attached Files



#2 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • 5,485 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:42 AM

If you are talking about the gpu compiler then no. None of that will be in the rom just the output from it.

#3 TXG/MNX OFFLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,633 posts

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:44 AM

yep this is what's known about this demo, written by Scott Corley

 

 

This is a direct translation of a Dr. Dobbs Journal raycasting demo.
It runs entirely on the GPU. The 68000 is stopped while this demo
is running. (If you stop the stub in the debugger and trace over a
few 68000 instructions, you'll notice the GPU wakes up and runs the
demo even though the 68000 is still running the debugger stub).


The changes that were made from the Dr. Dobbs version are:
Reading graphics from ROM instead of from files
Using blitter to copy pixels instead of CPU
Adding work-around to fix compiler comparison bug


Compilation:
The C code was compiled with GCC for GPU version 2.6.
The code was post processed with GCCGPUM (HVS tool).
No hand-tweaking was required.
No 4k segments were required.
No function grouping was required.
In other words, it went pretty smoothly.
The overall size of the code running is larger than 4k.
The HVS GPUMGR is used to handle virtualization of the
GPU cache.


The frame rate is 30FPS. None of the code is hand optimized
assembly, it is all C. Screen copy and vertical line drawing are
done with the blitter (set up from C).



Scott

 

This demo was build with the AGPU 2.6 GCC compiler from the Atari Jaguar Dev-kit. HVS was the only company we know that got this compiler working.

The did compile it with the compiler and ran a program GCCGPUM (HVS tool) and this would fix all bugs/issues that could exist in the output code of the gcc compiler.

This program is still lost, maybe it will be found someday.

 

But the fact is that they had the compiler working and have used this HVS GPUMGR in several projects, one of them would be Ruiner Pinball but some other releases later then Ruiner should use it aswell.

 

We suspect TRF and Dactyl Joust did use it also.



#4 Clint Thompson ONLINE  

Clint Thompson

    River Patroller

  • 4,366 posts
  • Kiss Reality Goodbye.
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:42 AM

Looks to be only 1MB of real data, most of which are graphics.

 

Howdy! GPU Routine table is corrupt. GPU BSS Seg table is corrupt.

MAPS (plural) but probably doesn't mean they exist.



#5 KidGameR186496 OFFLINE  

KidGameR186496

    Dragonstomper

  • 504 posts

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:56 AM

I'm impressed that they managed to cap 30fps on the Jaguar,That's a miracle. Many Thanks to you Nick for posting this :)

Edited by KidGameR186496, Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:57 AM.


#6 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:50 AM

I don't think the GPU manager was mature enough to be used until sometime after NBA Jam.

#7 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:51 AM

Looks to be only 1MB of real data, most of which are graphics.
 
Howdy! GPU Routine table is corrupt. GPU BSS Seg table is corrupt.

MAPS (plural) but probably doesn't mean they exist.


You have a copy of the ROM?

#8 neo_rg OFFLINE  

neo_rg

    Moonsweeper

  • 369 posts
  • Location:U.K.

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:53 AM

I love it when people read stuff but don't notice stuff that's right in front of them. Look at the first post again....

#9 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:54 AM

OK thanks just woke up lol

#10 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:44 AM

Someone post a video. Prefer vimeo

#11 Fredifredo OFFLINE  

Fredifredo

    Moonsweeper

  • 499 posts
  • Location:France , 85

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:18 PM

ok .. it's a rom created with something lost and no chance to be find now...

any real interest ?



#12 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:22 PM

ok .. it's a rom created with something lost and no chance to be find now...
any real interest ?


Judging by the downloads, yes!

The GPU manager is buried in their somewhere running the show.

#13 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • 5,485 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:31 PM

Howdy! GPU Routine table is corrupt. GPU BSS Seg table is corrupt.

 

 

I love it when people read stuff but don't notice stuff that's right in front of them. Look at the first post again....

 

 

Judging by the downloads, yes!

The GPU manager is buried in their somewhere running the show.



#14 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:23 PM

I dunno. Haven't had a chance to try it myself.

As for the error message as usual it is posted without context. And no one else has corroborated yet. Is it via bjl? Alpine? Skunk? No one knows because not enough info was given.

However it obviously runs and works. People are posting pics of it in action.

Non sequitur anyways. Interest generated is still high. Can't be helped.

#15 VladR OFFLINE  

VladR

    Stargunner

  • 1,501 posts
  • Location:Montana

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:37 PM

Is there, somewhere, a description of full functionality of their GPU Manager ?

 

Granted, I haven't written a GPU code just yet, but I read my fair share of GPU code and once you blit the code into the cache using Blitter, there's really not much else you want to be doing 'managing' that code, other than swapping of the pieces that do not fit in (e.g. a simple list of code blocks).

 

Usually, there's a dispatcher switch..case block a the start (to choose between various small routines that all fit into the cache), so really the only meaningful functionality of GPU MGR seems to be blitting the blocks of code from some list of code blocks (to work around the 4KB limit).

 

Anything else useful that the GPU MGR might be doing ?



#16 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:48 PM

Yes see the link I posted a couple replies up. The author talks about it in depth

#17 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:55 PM

Wrong thread. Here, and actually read it. Because I know you don't like reading docs and if you show up 6 months from now wondering what a GPU manager is am gonna throw stuff at you.

http://www.3do.cdint...php?f=35&t=3492

Edited by JagChris, Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:56 PM.


#18 VladR OFFLINE  

VladR

    Stargunner

  • 1,501 posts
  • Location:Montana

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:59 PM

Wrong thread. Here, and actually read it. Because I know you don't like reading docs and if you show up 6 months from now wondering what a GPU manager is am gonna throw stuff at you.

http://www.3do.cdint...php?f=35&t=3492

For some reason, the link keeps disappearing, but when I quote it, it's actually there. Weird. Browser bug ?

 

From the link it looks like there are 2 main additional features:

- LRU caching

- Address remapping

 

Still not convinced not to rather write them from scratch, if desired ...


Edited by VladR, Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:04 PM.


#19 skip OFFLINE  

skip

    Moonsweeper

  • 392 posts
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:36 PM

Someone post a video. Prefer vimeo

A video would be great and appreciated. It loads but does nothing in Virtual Jaguar on the Mac.



#20 Beta Phase Games OFFLINE  

Beta Phase Games

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:42 PM

Nice to finally get the opportunity to play a couple Thea Realm of Fighters builds.

 

Recently got a capture card for another project so here's a video:

 



#21 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,577 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:01 AM

Thank you. This was on actual hardware? Bjl? Alpine? Skunk?

Did you run into any corruption messages or other errors?

#22 TXG/MNX OFFLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,633 posts

Posted Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:05 AM

It runs on skunk and you can scale the walls within the view smaller or taler.

 

I think at one time the code freezes but I think its more random than on a specific place/time.

 

Its funny it runs on a real Jaguar but not on Virtual Jaguar I tryed all options.



#23 adriano gt OFFLINE  

adriano gt

    Space Invader

  • 39 posts

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2016 11:48 AM

It runs on skunk and you can scale the walls within the view smaller or taler.

 

I think at one time the code freezes but I think its more random than on a specific place/time.

 

Its funny it runs on a real Jaguar but not on Virtual Jaguar I tryed all options.

 

A friend helped me run this in dosjag - THANK YOU, DXWHO

But it has no purpose, this labyrinth.
 
Or did anyone find something?


#24 TXG/MNX OFFLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,633 posts

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2016 12:12 PM

Hi read the 3th post on the beginning of this thread. This demo was made by a coder of High-Voltage Software. The demo was build with the GCC compiler from the devkit. Both the 68k and gpu/dsp code was done in C. High-Voltage was the only company we know that used the Risc GPU/DSP C compiler and used it. This demo showed it did work. Later they did more titles in C like Ruiner Pinball.

Sent from UMI hammer with Tapatalk




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users