Jump to content

Photo

Aardvark for Atari VCS/2600


104 replies to this topic

#76 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,962 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:07 AM

Thanks! Surely I'll ask for help. I'm almost in the final steps and I'm trying hard to stay in 8k :)

#77 Tarzilla OFFLINE  

Tarzilla

    Stargunner

  • 1,914 posts
  • Huh?
  • Location:Alberta, Canada

Posted Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:52 PM

It is alive! Not for sale but running on a real console.

aardvark_prge.jpg


Edited by Albert, Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:07 AM.
Rotated image.

  • Albert , Thomas Jentzsch , Arenafoot and 8 others like this

#78 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,962 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:08 PM

It is alive! Not for sale but running on a real console.


So cool! :lust:

#79 Nathan Strum OFFLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 7,453 posts
  • Enjoying a sandwich
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:39 PM

I haven't looked in on this in awhile, and it's coming along great! I'd just like to add my voice to the chorus of people asking for the joystick directions to be handled a bit more forgivingly when trying to get into gaps. If you could have it so diagonals worked like turning ahead of a corner in Pac-Man, I think that would really help a lot. I find myself dying too often, just trying to get the tongue to go into the (you know... no matter how I write the rest of this sentence, it just sounds weird).

 

Also - the arcade game does let you double back on yourself, so it would be great to see this here as well. Handy for worms.

 

Excellent work - looking forward to the next update!


  • Thomas Jentzsch , Machine and nanochess like this

#80 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,962 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 11:50 AM

Released the 9th version demo'ed at PRGE 2017, check the >big< list of changes in first post ;)

BTW, glad to say Thomas Jentzsch is now aboard and he has improved vastly my display kernel and also I'm going to implement some awesome features to the core game ;)

Also I'm going for a F8SC kernel because these features really deserve it :grin:

So expect more news soon ;)
  • Thomas Jentzsch , Nathan Strum , Arenafoot and 7 others like this

#81 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 15,623 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 7:44 PM

This will definitely be on my list to buy when it comes to the store... :grin:


  • nanochess likes this

#82 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,962 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 12:34 PM

At last I can show a picture from the most recent display kernel by Thomas after lots of fixing ins and outs to interface it to the core game and moving to F8SC mapping.

It includes multicolor sprites, assymetrical holes in tunnel floors and textured floors.

Edit: forgot to say the number of tunnels is now 8 like the arcade ;)

Aard_0020dae2.png
Aard_0020ea3e.png
  • johnnywc , Stephen , Nathan Strum and 9 others like this

#83 StanJr OFFLINE  

StanJr

    Web-slinger

  • 15,011 posts
  • fun or bust
  • Location:Louisville KY

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 12:42 PM

Cannot love this enough!


  • nanochess likes this

#84 johnnywc OFFLINE  

johnnywc

    Stargunner

  • 1,553 posts

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 3:48 PM

This looks great! I had a chance to play the M-Network version back at one of the CGEs in Vegas (2K3 maybe?) and this one at PRGE and this is leaps and bounds above that one.

Looking forward to the finished game! :)
  • nanochess likes this

#85 Kiwi OFFLINE  

Kiwi

    Stargunner

  • 1,410 posts

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 4:49 PM

Wow!  Very cool!!!


  • nanochess likes this

#86 hizzy OFFLINE  

hizzy

    Dragonstomper

  • 813 posts
  • Location:Montreal, QC

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 6:57 PM

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!! Yes! Yes! Yes!!!!!!


  • nanochess likes this

#87 conjurershand OFFLINE  

conjurershand

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 7:58 PM

Very nice. I like the attention and multi color to the ants. 


  • nanochess likes this

#88 Konqrr OFFLINE  

Konqrr

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts
  • Bad Game Collector
  • Location:Utah

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 8:55 PM

Looks and plays really great!

I am having one problem though. When i play a stage that has two paths down in the exact same place (x position), it is very difficult to only go down one level instead of two.
  • nanochess likes this

#89 cvga OFFLINE  

cvga

    River Patroller

  • 4,314 posts
  • Location:Sector 36

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 9:50 PM

This looks great! I can't wait to be able to buy this game!!


  • nanochess likes this

#90 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,962 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Sun Nov 5, 2017 9:57 PM

Looks and plays really great!

I am having one problem though. When i play a stage that has two paths down in the exact same place (x position), it is very difficult to only go down one level instead of two.

I'm working in a solution ;)
  • cimmerian likes this

#91 cimmerian OFFLINE  

cimmerian

    Space Invader

  • 39 posts
  • Location:Vancouver Canada

Posted Tue Nov 7, 2017 6:17 PM

What a great visual upgrade, it looks amazing! I love playing the WIP versions and can't wait to buy the full copy on cart!


  • nanochess likes this

#92 DEBRO OFFLINE  

DEBRO

    Stargunner

  • 1,931 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 6:22 AM

Hi there,

 

I've been out of the scene for a while and not fully following all the new games and development coming to the VCS. I must say, this looks and sounds great. Great job on this game.

 

I am curious why the extra RAM and ROM are needed. Could you share why they're needed? I've been more interested in code and construction of VCS ROMs.I really miss [stella].



#93 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,841 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 6:28 AM

The RAM is mostly needed for the eggs and the tongue in the tunnel. There are 8 tunnels which require 6 bytes for the eggs and another 6 for the tongue. That's already 96 bytes.

#94 DEBRO OFFLINE  

DEBRO

    Stargunner

  • 1,931 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 5:03 PM

Hi Thomas,

The RAM is mostly needed for the eggs and the tongue in the tunnel. There are 8 tunnels which require 6 bytes for the eggs and another 6 for the tongue. That's already 96 bytes.

Are all the bytes needed for the tongue? Only thinking of the left side at the moment, if the tongue has reached PF1 then you know PF2 would be filled. Also, if the tongue has reached PF0 then you know both PF1 and PF2 are filled.

 

Using Tod Frye's Pac-man as an example, he used 16 bytes to represent a set of player wafers in the game by using the RAM values as pointers into data in the ROM.



#95 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 15,623 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 9:23 PM

^^Extra RAM / ROM adds bells and whistles to the gameplay. They don't all need to use 4kbytes with stock RAM. BTW your Pacman was awesome! ;-)

#96 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,841 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Thu Nov 9, 2017 2:01 AM

Hi Thomas,
Are all the bytes needed for the tongue? Only thinking of the left side at the moment, if the tongue has reached PF1 then you know PF2 would be filled. Also, if the tongue has reached PF0 then you know both PF1 and PF2 are filled.
 
Using Tod Frye's Pac-man as an example, he used 16 bytes to represent a set of player wafers in the game by using the RAM values as pointers into data in the ROM.

I have thought about using such pattern to reduce memory. But since the anthills are random and therefore the layout can vary a lot, the number of patterns required I calculated became huge. There also is little to none time inside the kernel* to do any pattern handling.

*The tunnel kernel has 2 single line, multicolored sprites and a full size asymmetrical playfield. So there is no time for index accesses for the PF. Therefore free cycles in the floor kernel are used to copy tunnel PF data from RAM to a fixed RAM address.

Edited by Thomas Jentzsch, Thu Nov 9, 2017 2:01 AM.

  • DEBRO likes this

#97 cd-w OFFLINE  

cd-w

    Stargunner

  • 1,601 posts
  • Juno First!
  • Location:Glasgow, UK

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:18 AM

This game is looking great!    Would you be interested in adding a high score table?    If so, I could write a version of F6SC that saves the high scores onto the Harmony/Melody cart (like Star Castle Arcade).

 

Thomas - I think we could port across the high score code from Star Castle Arcade without too much difficulty?

 

Chris



#98 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,841 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:50 AM

I think so. But I will leave it up to nanochess for which bankswitching he decides. SaveKey support would be the other option.


  • RamrodHare likes this

#99 AtariLeaf OFFLINE  

AtariLeaf

    Epic Godlike Canadian

  • 10,322 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:54 AM

I only recently heard about this game and had never heard of the original. I'm very impressed with it and look forward to a physical release to purchase.



#100 RamrodHare OFFLINE  

RamrodHare

    Moonsweeper

  • 445 posts
  • Lost in Time.
  • Location:Greeneville TN, USA

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:46 AM

I think so. But I will leave it up to nanochess for which bankswitching he decides. SaveKey support would be the other option. 

I don't know about everyone else, but I would prefer savekey support.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users