IGNORED

My nanoPEB questions.

Sinphaltimus

OK, from a complete noob perspective. Here it goes.

I know nothing of this nanoPEB except it emulates 3 DSK drives, has 32k ram, rs232 port and needs a power supply.

I RTFM.

I'm going to take this one step at a time. Tonight, here's my first few questions I'll read about in the morning as I go bed...

Am I supposed to format the CF FAT?
I connect it to my CF card reader, of course windows wants to format and I say no. But when I run cf2dsk (because I want to see what, if any, volumes exist on the card), cf2dsk does not see my compact flash. Windows gives my card reader a drive letter but I don't want to screw anything up by formatting the CF.

If I am supposed to format FAT first, then fine. I'll do that in the morning.

If not, how can I find what is on this? Do I just mount 1,1 then 1,2 then 1,3 etc...? Then run catalog?
I dunno.

it should be formatted with the default drive images on it

don't format it it is a propriatary format that is not compatible with PC formats, it can only be read by tidir and the utilities he provides, i have had zero experience with any of his utilities as tidir is braindead easy and doesn't require dos

Try it on the ti, as you posted call mount (1,1) then catalog

disk images should start with these three:

1 - cfmgr

2 - backup of cfmgr

3 - utilities

should come that way from the mfgr

Greg

Edited by arcadeshopper
  • Like 1

Format it with FAT under windows, once, or if in doubt (contents will be lost, of course)

Then start TI99DIR and say "Initialize CF" from the menu.

From this point on, ignore all windows-wishes like format a.s.o. ;)

Then you should be able to copy DSKs/Volumes with the DSK2PC-Tool.

(ie the CFMGR to vol.1)

Back to the TI, this should be mounted under TI-Basic first

/ie CALL MOUNT(1,1)

Then you can start the CFMGR (normally on Vol.1) via the E/A-Option

"braindead easy", nice saying :) :)