Jump to content

Photo

The UAV Rev. D Video Upgrade Thread


547 replies to this topic

#476 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,729 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:50 PM

Anyone know if the SVA2 (atari 2800) uses a 4050? Curious if this board would work in one.

I can't find a picture of what's under the shield, but the UAV can be installed whether there's a 4050 or not. You'll just need to run wires like you do with the 2600 4-switch.



#477 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 2,375 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:24 AM

I can't find a picture of what's under the shield, but the UAV can be installed whether there's a 4050 or not. You'll just need to run wires like you do with the 2600 4-switch.


Word.

5bc62879b7fba9e4ac3a379ebd23e144.jpg

6c07099dd23fc0b6580f7d5ed0b67264.jpg

#478 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:44 PM

Am I reading this correctly that I will not  have audio with my monitor cable after I install the UAV rev D



#479 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 2,375 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:18 PM

Am I reading this correctly that I will not  have audio with my monitor cable after I install the UAV rev D


That is incorrect. Installing the UAV has no effect on your audio one way or another.

#480 vattari OFFLINE  

vattari

    Space Invader

  • 44 posts

Posted Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:24 AM

Am I reading this correctly that I will not  have audio with my monitor cable after I install the UAV rev D


If the device only had RF output to start with (game consoles, Atari 400, etc) then yes, the resulting monitor output from the UAV won't have audio - it will need to be routed separately.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#481 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,729 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:09 AM

I am testing my final revision to the audio board and will begin shipping this coming week.  It will cost $10 and give high quality output to the 2600, 5200, 7800 and 400. It will combine the proper audio sources as well so that the 400 includes cassette audio and the 7800 includes Pokey from a cartridge. It will not require any cutting or disabling of RF audio if you plan to leave that intact.

 

You can see it in a 7800 here:

 

http://atariage.com/...7800/?p=3796335



#482 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,287 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:23 AM

I am testing my final revision to the audio board and will begin shipping this coming week.

 

Nice!  Is there a pre order list?  I'd definitely like to get a few of those, the 7800 TIA/POKEY sound offset annoys me.



#483 yenzee OFFLINE  

yenzee

    Space Invader

  • 11 posts

Posted Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:11 AM

Hi!

I´m searching for an instruction to install the UAV in an VCS 2600 (6 switch, pal) - with pictures. I did see the first posting in this thread and followed the links but it didn´t helped me... Have you any tips?

 

Greetings from germany,

Jens.



#484 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,729 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Mon Sep 18, 2017 8:00 PM

Audio boards are finally tested for audio mixing in the 400 (Pokey + SIO) and 7800 (TIA + Pokey).

Attached Thumbnails

  • inst400.jpg
  • inst7800.jpg


#485 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:42 AM

I have just finished installing a UAV Rev. D in one of my 800XLs. Frankly I am disappointed. It is very difficult to get the colors to match what they are supposed to be and the picture clarity does not seem to me to be as good as I get with the SuperVideo 2.0 modification. I tested the computer on a Commodor 1701 and a Magnavox (?). Both monitors have seperate inputs for chroma and luma.  Maybe I wired something wrong but the only thing that could be in question there is the ground.  I wasn't sure where the ground should go with the RF box still intact. This is a picture of my installation.

 

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • UAV Rev D hj.jpg


#486 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,287 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:11 PM

Maybe I wired something wrong but the only thing that could be in question there is the ground. 

 

Unless I'm mistaken, it looks like you are using RevC jumper configuration on a RevD board.



#487 orpheuswaking OFFLINE  

orpheuswaking

    Quadrunner

  • 5,609 posts
  • Lone Raider Time!
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:24 PM

Use the REV D jumper diagram at the bottom of post 2, should fix the issue. You absolutely have the REV C jumpers on that board

 

http://atariage.com/...d/#entry3656312



#488 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,729 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:09 PM

I have just finished installing a UAV Rev. D in one of my 800XLs. Frankly I am disappointed. It is very difficult to get the colors to match what they are supposed to be and the picture clarity does not seem to me to be as good as I get with the SuperVideo 2.0 modification. I tested the computer on a Commodor 1701 and a Magnavox (?). Both monitors have seperate inputs for chroma and luma.  Maybe I wired something wrong but the only thing that could be in question there is the ground.  I wasn't sure where the ground should go with the RF box still intact. This is a picture of my installation.

 

I should probably modify the Rev C jumper table to contain a warning not to use it. Your install looks great, though.

 

I've created a blog page here and I'll begin posting machine specific instructions there. Basically, it's a place to work on the stuff that will go in the manual without the normal thread posts in the way. :) 



#489 ChoccyHobNob OFFLINE  

ChoccyHobNob

    Space Invader

  • 32 posts
  • AtariArtist
  • Location:St. Louis, MO. USA

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:27 PM

Is the UAV still available? I'd like to get one for an 800XL in Missouri please



#490 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 2,375 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:28 PM

I have just finished installing a UAV Rev. D in one of my 800XLs. Frankly I am disappointed. ...

 

 

 

 

Unless I'm mistaken, it looks like you are using RevC jumper configuration on a RevD board.

 

Don't feel bad, hueyjones70 - when I replaced the Revision C board in my 800XL with a Rev D, I missed the fact that the jumper configs had changed. :)



#491 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,729 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:44 PM

The sound board is called the "Audio Companion" board. It has 4 input pads with three different gain levels. The inputs are high impedance and should not affect normal operation of the sound circuits, so you don't have to cut and disable existing sound circuitry. The different inputs allow you get proper mixing of sound sources and they were chosen specifically for direct Pokey/TIA output (Inputs A and B), the 7800's cartridge audio line (Input C), and the 400's SIO Audio circuit (Input D). There is also a GAIN pad which, if cut, allows you to boost the output.

 

You can use extra inputs for additional sources if you wish (I'm experimenting with adding the keyboard click on the 400).

 

The board is primarily designed for machines that shipped with only RF output:  2600, 5200, 7800 & 400 (the domestic 600XL didn't have audio, but the signal is still there on the board). It can be used in other machines as well as it's basically a 5V powered buffered audio mixer.

 

The boards are installed by soldering them across a 5V decoupling/noise filter capacitor. The board's polarity is marked and you must pay attention to orientation to avoid damage. The input and output taps are then available at the top.

 

The boards are $10 each and are available now. Unfortunately, UAV's aren't shipping again until November, so you can get an Audio Companion shipped now or with your UAV. Thanks!

 

-Bryan

Attached Thumbnails

  • pile.jpg


#492 mr_gw454 OFFLINE  

mr_gw454

    Space Invader

  • 26 posts

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:49 PM


The boards are $10 each and are available now. Unfortunately, UAV's aren't shipping again until November, so you can get an Audio Companion shipped now or with your UAV. Thanks!

 

 

Hi Brian.  Can you please add me to your back order list for a UAV?  I have an Atari 800XL I would like to get one for.

 

Thank you!



#493 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:25 PM

Thanks to everyone who replied I now have the jumpers in correctly and the picture is great. Three questions remain, where is the best place to attach the ground, does UAV eliminate the RF output, and could I just as well take out the ferrite beads.

#494 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,287 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:32 PM

Best place for ground (as I understand it, and have mine attached on the 800XL/1200XL) is the ground connector for the monitor plug.

 

The ferrite beads aren't doing anything that I'm aware of when the UAV is connected as shown in your picture.

 

Welcome to the UAV video club :)



#495 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,729 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:37 PM

Thanks to everyone who replied I now have the jumpers in correctly and the picture is great. Three questions remain, where is the best place to attach the ground, does UAV eliminate the RF output, and could I just as well take out the ferrite beads.

 

If the 4050 is removed, then the RF output is disabled. The options are:

 

1. Piggyback the UAV on the 4050, or

2. Route UAV's composite into the modulator.

 

I haven't looked into how to do #2 yet, but it should be possible.

 

The ground wire is not necessary in most cases, but someplace close to the DIN jack is best. Where you attached it is fine.



#496 venom4728a OFFLINE  

venom4728a

    Dragonstomper

  • 606 posts

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:39 PM

Please put me down for 2 of the audio boards.

 

Robert



#497 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:53 PM

How do you get those color test screens that I saw on the first page.

#498 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,729 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:04 PM

How do you get those color test screens that I saw on the first page.

 

Here you go:

 

http://atariage.com/...soon/?p=3432981



#499 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,729 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:51 PM

1st blog entry: The 2600 6-Switch:

 

http://atariage.com/...5-the-uav-blog/



#500 Calibus OFFLINE  

Calibus

    Space Invader

  • 19 posts
  • Location:Akron Ohio

Posted Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:51 PM

Hi Bryan,

Please put me down for two in the November batch

 

800

800XL

 

Whichever type you recommend for those models.

 

Jim






2 user(s) are browsing this forum

2 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users