Jump to content

Photo

The UAV Rev. D Video Upgrade Thread


484 replies to this topic

#476 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,588 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:50 PM

Anyone know if the SVA2 (atari 2800) uses a 4050? Curious if this board would work in one.

I can't find a picture of what's under the shield, but the UAV can be installed whether there's a 4050 or not. You'll just need to run wires like you do with the 2600 4-switch.



#477 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 2,259 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:24 AM

I can't find a picture of what's under the shield, but the UAV can be installed whether there's a 4050 or not. You'll just need to run wires like you do with the 2600 4-switch.


Word.

5bc62879b7fba9e4ac3a379ebd23e144.jpg

6c07099dd23fc0b6580f7d5ed0b67264.jpg

#478 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Space Invader

  • 47 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:44 PM

Am I reading this correctly that I will not  have audio with my monitor cable after I install the UAV rev D



#479 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 2,259 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:18 PM

Am I reading this correctly that I will not  have audio with my monitor cable after I install the UAV rev D


That is incorrect. Installing the UAV has no effect on your audio one way or another.

#480 vattari OFFLINE  

vattari

    Space Invader

  • 42 posts

Posted Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:24 AM

Am I reading this correctly that I will not  have audio with my monitor cable after I install the UAV rev D


If the device only had RF output to start with (game consoles, Atari 400, etc) then yes, the resulting monitor output from the UAV won't have audio - it will need to be routed separately.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#481 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,588 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:09 AM

I am testing my final revision to the audio board and will begin shipping this coming week.  It will cost $10 and give high quality output to the 2600, 5200, 7800 and 400. It will combine the proper audio sources as well so that the 400 includes cassette audio and the 7800 includes Pokey from a cartridge. It will not require any cutting or disabling of RF audio if you plan to leave that intact.

 

You can see it in a 7800 here:

 

http://atariage.com/...7800/?p=3796335



#482 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,194 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:23 AM

I am testing my final revision to the audio board and will begin shipping this coming week.

 

Nice!  Is there a pre order list?  I'd definitely like to get a few of those, the 7800 TIA/POKEY sound offset annoys me.



#483 yenzee OFFLINE  

yenzee

    Combat Commando

  • 8 posts

Posted Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:11 AM

Hi!

I´m searching for an instruction to install the UAV in an VCS 2600 (6 switch, pal) - with pictures. I did see the first posting in this thread and followed the links but it didn´t helped me... Have you any tips?

 

Greetings from germany,

Jens.



#484 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,588 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Yesterday, 8:00 PM

Audio boards are finally tested for audio mixing in the 400 (Pokey + SIO) and 7800 (TIA + Pokey).

Attached Thumbnails

  • inst400.jpg
  • inst7800.jpg


#485 hueyjones70 OFFLINE  

hueyjones70

    Space Invader

  • 47 posts
  • Location:Clayton, North Carolina

Posted Today, 11:42 AM

I have just finished installing a UAV Rev. D in one of my 800XLs. Frankly I am disappointed. It is very difficult to get the colors to match what they are supposed to be and the picture clarity does not seem to me to be as good as I get with the SuperVideo 2.0 modification. I tested the computer on a Commodor 1701 and a Magnavox (?). Both monitors have seperate inputs for chroma and luma.  Maybe I wired something wrong but the only thing that could be in question there is the ground.  I wasn't sure where the ground should go with the RF box still intact. This is a picture of my installation.

 

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • UAV Rev D hj.jpg





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users