Jump to content

Photo

The New and Improved Super Game Module (aka 4th run)

Super Game Module Opcode ColecoVision 4th run Super Game Module Pro

129 replies to this topic

#26 PhoenixMoonPatrol OFFLINE  

PhoenixMoonPatrol

    Dragonstomper

  • 523 posts
  • Gonna take crackerjack timing to beat me pal
  • Location:Its all in the reflexes

Posted Sun Jan 1, 2017 10:06 PM

Eduardo, how far along is Phoenix?

I know you guys have a pretty busy schedule but would it release maybe in mid or late 2017? 

 

Great video too,its gonna be some crazy year for the games,wow! 



#27 Vectorman OFFLINE  

Vectorman

    Chopper Commander

  • 247 posts

Posted Sun Jan 1, 2017 11:22 PM

 Is it possible to produce games that will run on the regular CV and then have enhanced sound/graphics if used with the SGM?



#28 ColecoDan OFFLINE  

ColecoDan

    Stargunner

  • 1,832 posts
  • Location:Illinois

Posted Mon Jan 2, 2017 12:09 AM

 Is it possible to produce games that will run on the regular CV and then have enhanced sound/graphics if used with the SGM?

 

Considering they are the creator of the SGM, I would think they would never produce another game that does not need the SGM.



#29 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 8,216 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Mon Jan 2, 2017 6:21 AM

Eduardo, how far along is Phoenix?
I know you guys have a pretty busy schedule but would it release maybe in mid or late 2017?


I would guess that Phoenix screenshot is a simple mockup, but I could be wrong.

One game that I'm surprised wasn't among the ones listed (in the first post of this thread) is Arkanoid. From what I remember, the port was 80% done.





#30 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 8,216 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Mon Jan 2, 2017 6:40 AM

Is it possible to produce games that will run on the regular CV and then have enhanced sound/graphics if used with the SGM?


It's certainly possible, since it's already been done: Mecha-8 and Mecha-9 don't actually require the SGM, but the sounds are enhanced if the SGM is plugged into the CV's expansion port.

#31 ZillaRUSH OFFLINE  

ZillaRUSH

    Moonsweeper

  • 303 posts
  • Location:Orange County, CA

Posted Mon Jan 2, 2017 10:08 AM

Wizard of Wor...sweet!!



#32 imstarryeyed OFFLINE  

imstarryeyed

    Dragonstomper

  • 636 posts

Posted Mon Jan 2, 2017 12:05 PM

Oh my that is simply amazing!  I am so in for the new module and all of the games!!!  Looking forward to seeing more about these great games, especially Castlevania!



#33 phoenixdownita OFFLINE  

phoenixdownita

    River Patroller

  • 3,555 posts

Posted Mon Jan 2, 2017 10:53 PM

Aside the 6 voices anything else new in the SGMpro? Like more RAM?

 

Regarding the 6 voices is it a dual AY-3-8910 setup or is it using a different chip altogether?

 

Last, and this is only my opinion, so take it for what it is. I thought that at 90US$ + S&H the SGM was already on the expensive side, now there likely will be no SGM "classics" runs in favor of this SGM Pro which actually costs even more at 120US$ + S&H, if I may .... ahem .... I need to ask ... why?

It seems that now the only source for the SGM (non pro) is the clone one .... not sure why you wouldn't want to support a cheaper SGM .... but as I said it's only my opinion, do as you please in the end the customers speak with their wallet.



#34 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,563 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2017 7:17 AM

Aside the 6 voices anything else new in the SGMpro? Like more RAM?

 

Regarding the 6 voices is it a dual AY-3-8910 setup or is it using a different chip altogether?

 

Last, and this is only my opinion, so take it for what it is. I thought that at 90US$ + S&H the SGM was already on the expensive side, now there likely will be no SGM "classics" runs in favor of this SGM Pro which actually costs even more at 120US$ + S&H, if I may .... ahem .... I need to ask ... why?

It seems that now the only source for the SGM (non pro) is the clone one .... not sure why you wouldn't want to support a cheaper SGM .... but as I said it's only my opinion, do as you please in the end the customers speak with their wallet.

 

We now have 8 new voices. The new chip is far more advanced than the regular PSG found inside the ColecoVision or the original SGM. We are now able to produce virtually any sound we want, from speech, to analog sound, to sampled digital sound, with minimum CPU usage, so it is a significant upgrade in terms of sound. In terms of potential, what you hear in the video is just the tip of the iceberg.

 

As for the regular SGM, we haven't decided yet if there will be another run, but we know that producing both versions simultaneously would be quite complicate.



#35 stupus OFFLINE  

stupus

    River Patroller

  • 2,185 posts
  • pixel obcessed yeti
  • Location:Chicago's Suburbia

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2017 7:26 AM

Don't know if this was fully answered already or not. But will new games you make continue to be compatible with both versions of the sgm. Or will there be any pro version only games at some point?

#36 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,563 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2017 7:53 AM

Don't know if this was fully answered already or not. But will new games you make continue to be compatible with both versions of the sgm. Or will there be any pro version only games at some point?

 

We don't plan any SGM Pro exclusive games for now. The platform is already too small to fragment further. The idea is to offer seriously improved audio in some games, but otherwise same games.

Here is aninteresting tidbit: The SGM PRO is similar to the PS4 PRO in terms of philosophy, where they are supercharged versions of the original models, but otherwise run the same games, albeit with different audio/visuals. However we weren't inspired by the PS4 Pro when we selected the name for the SGM PRO. That was a total coincidence, as we decided on the name and sent the box to the printer back in July, way before the PS4 Pro name had been announced. 



#37 youki OFFLINE  

youki

    River Patroller

  • 2,452 posts

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2017 8:54 AM

You should sue Sony . ;-)



#38 Ransom OFFLINE  

Ransom

    Quadrunner

  • 5,057 posts
  • Pre-Crash Gaming and Computing Enthusiast
  • Location:Just south of the Wisconsin border.

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2017 8:56 AM

Looking forward do the new SGM and many of those new games!



#39 KidGameR186496 OFFLINE  

KidGameR186496

    Dragonstomper

  • 504 posts

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2017 1:44 PM

So...the SGMPro's New sound chip is capable in theory of something like this?...
https://m.youtube.co...h?v=fU_ZrOjZT9c

#40 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,563 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2017 3:39 PM

So...the SGMPro's New sound chip is capable in theory of something like this?...
https://m.youtube.co...h?v=fU_ZrOjZT9c

 

That is Konami SCC sound, so yes, the Pro can do that easily.



#41 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 8,216 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2017 6:32 PM

That is Konami SCC sound, so yes, the Pro can do that easily.


Okay, but here's the real question: Would the sound data (in the game cartridge) need to be altered significantly for it to work with the SGM Pro? Or is it just adjusting port numbers and simple stuff like that? If the SCC sound data needs to be reworked significantly, then it may not be worth the effort...

#42 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,563 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Wed Jan 4, 2017 11:39 AM

Okay, but here's the real question: Would the sound data (in the game cartridge) need to be altered significantly for it to work with the SGM Pro? Or is it just adjusting port numbers and simple stuff like that? If the SCC sound data needs to be reworked significantly, then it may not be worth the effort...

 

I assume you realize that La Mulana isn't a MSX game, right? That sounds like a SCC, but actually is a PC game.



#43 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 8,838 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Wed Jan 4, 2017 11:59 AM

Yes and no. Originally it was a PC game with visuals like a MSX game. In 2013, Pepe Vila posted an unfinished alpha version (16K) running on MSX1, but without any music.

http://www.msxgamesw...ard.php?id=4721

http://www.msxblog.e...stamos-sonando/

 

On YouTube, someone combined this alpha version with the SCC-like sound from the PC game to make a "what if".



#44 Pixelboy ONLINE  

Pixelboy

    Quadrunner

  • 8,216 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Wed Jan 4, 2017 5:56 PM

Yes and no. Originally it was a PC game with visuals like a MSX game. In 2013, Pepe Vila posted an unfinished alpha version (16K) running on MSX1, but without any music.
http://www.msxgamesw...ard.php?id=4721
http://www.msxblog.e...stamos-sonando/
 
On YouTube, someone combined this alpha version with the SCC-like sound from the PC game to make a "what if".


Oh! I looked at the YouTube videos and thought it was footage from a fully complete MSX game. Forget I said anything. :P

#45 artrag OFFLINE  

artrag

    Stargunner

  • 1,260 posts

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 2:17 AM

I think you know that on scc you can get sampled voice


#46 artrag OFFLINE  

artrag

    Stargunner

  • 1,260 posts

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 2:17 AM

Another video of Nemesis III  (using msx2 palette)

This other is Salamander (using msx2 scroll registers)


Edited by artrag, Fri Jan 6, 2017 2:25 AM.


#47 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,563 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 7:42 AM

I think you know that on scc you can get sampled voice

 

SCC is no longer available, and it isn't as flexible or powerful as the sound solution inside the SGM PRO.



#48 artrag OFFLINE  

artrag

    Stargunner

  • 1,260 posts

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 7:45 AM

An fpga equivalent is available from many hw developer

#49 opcode OFFLINE  

opcode

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,563 posts
  • Bringing new life to your ColecoVision!
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted Fri Jan 6, 2017 7:57 AM

An fpga equivalent is available from many hw developer

 

As I indicated, our solution is more powerful and flexible. And we don't want to live forever in the shadow of the MSX... :) 



#50 128Kgames OFFLINE  

128Kgames

    Stargunner

  • 1,052 posts
  • Victory is mine! I am the Worrior!
  • Location:The Dungeons of Wor

Posted Sat Jan 7, 2017 6:07 PM

 

As I indicated, our solution is more powerful and flexible. And we don't want to live forever in the shadow of the MSX... :)

 

How/when will the SGM Pro be available?  Do we need to be on another email list for this to be notified?  Are we pre-ordering this from you or will AtariAge handle that?  

 

I like the new specs on this for the audio and look forward to hearing more (pun intended). 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Super Game Module, Opcode, ColecoVision, 4th run, Super Game Module Pro

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users