Jump to content

Photo

New Project for my 4A and PEB


64 replies to this topic

#51 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:41 AM

I have finished wiring up the cable for the Flex card to the 99/4a expansion port.  

 

I ordered one of the PEB extension cables from hello cables and verified it worked then I took off  the male connector.  Stripped the wires and mapped the pins to the wires.

 

This ribbon cable has each pair  of wires twisted and has a plastic shrink wrap over the entire ribbon cable.  Makes it stiffer than a regular ribbon cable.

 

Tomorrow I will make some final voltage reads on the PEB lower PCB and then see if I got it all right and the 99/4A powers up with the interface card in.  If that goes well then I will replaced voltage regulators on a 32k card and try again and go into XB and see if I can see the extra RAM.

 

Report back then.


Edited by Shift838, Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:43 AM.


#52 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:35 PM

i have finished building the card and hooked up the cables a couple a couple at a time and the TI boots.

 

I see an issue that the LED does not flash like the flex typically does.

 

Also putting a 32k card in and going in XB and issuing a SIZE command does not return the extra ram.  So this leads me to think the flex card is not working correctly.

 

Anyone have a clue of what I need to check.  All my solder points look good, no bridged connections, etc.



#53 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:03 PM

ok.

 

So...  my flex cable is good.  It was my memory card that was bad.  

 

So I have my new bare flex card that i built with a cable that is about 20 inches long.

 

now I need to replace the voltage regulators in the rest of my cards....

 

:-D  :-D  :-D  :-D  :-D



#54 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 7,788 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:55 PM

That's good stuff there... :)

I need a shorter flex cable... One that isnt an inch thick, too. :)

#55 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:50 PM

That's good stuff there... :)

I need a shorter flex cable... One that isnt an inch thick, too. :)

 

 

Here is the exact pinout's I used to make a shorter one.  of course like I said my cable is only 20 inches and so far it seems to work.  still doing a lot of testing though.

Attached Files


Edited by Shift838, Sun Feb 19, 2017 7:51 PM.


#56 helocast OFFLINE  

helocast

    Space Invader

  • 42 posts
  • Location:Amarillo, TX

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:18 PM

 

 

Here is the exact pinout's I used to make a shorter one.  of course like I said my cable is only 20 inches and so far it seems to work.  still doing a lot of testing though.

Looking good ... glad to see it's shaping up! Hopefully all the signal pins match for power on ;-]

I've been tinkering in Express PCB and finally got my first proof done for replacing my PEB cable with a 2.5" x 3.3" board that contains all the buffer electronics fed to a high-density (HD37) connector so I can go with a round 2.5' cable to my newly populated PEB cards.

Attached Files



#57 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:30 PM

Looking good ... glad to see it's shaping up! Hopefully all the signal pins match for power on ;-]

I've been tinkering in Express PCB and finally got my first proof done for replacing my PEB cable with a 2.5" x 3.3" board that contains all the buffer electronics fed to a high-density (HD37) connector so I can go with a round 2.5' cable to my newly populated PEB cards.

 

nice.  I would be interested to snag a couple of these when you release them.



#58 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:30 PM

I was told today that me taking the 99/4A mainboard out of the shielding may cause RF issues.from interference. Any experience from other tiers on this? Should I keep the shielding around the mainboard and mount it that way in my ATX tower case?

#59 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • 628 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:03 PM

Shift838, on 24 Feb 2017 - 10:30 PM, said:

I was told today that me taking the 99/4A mainboard out of the shielding may cause RF issues.from interference. Any experience from other tiers on this? Should I keep the shielding around the mainboard and mount it that way in my ATX tower case?

 

There no top (component side) shield on the QI motherboard ...



#60 helocast OFFLINE  

helocast

    Space Invader

  • 42 posts
  • Location:Amarillo, TX

Posted Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:35 PM

I was told today that me taking the 99/4A mainboard out of the shielding may cause RF issues.from interference. Any experience from other tiers on this? Should I keep the shielding around the mainboard and mount it that way in my ATX tower case?

I've routinely had both 4A and QI boards "naked" on my bench (uh, kitchen table :D ) and I have not experienced any.

Now with that said, I've also very deliberate to trim all excess leads off pins/solders produced from what I assume were mechanical assembly methods rather than careful hand assembly/soldering. Any wire the length of .1 the wavelength of a frequency will TRY to act like an antenna, emitter or receiver (this is similarly why best practices laying out PCB traces avoids 90 degree turns).

That's all the theoretical stuff I've dealt with in avionics systems aboard aircraft ... but, honestly don't see a problem here since modern PC cases do a pretty good job of acting as Faraday Cages to prevent stray emissions.



#61 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:25 PM

I never had a problem either, but I was ordering a cable from IEC today and talking with a guy named Joe Miller and he said he used to work for TI and on the 99/4A project and said the whole reason they put the shielding around the 4A's was because without it it would get RF interference.

 

Thought I would check.  But I thought the as you do that the PC case acts as a shield anyway.



#62 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Fri Mar 3, 2017 5:48 PM

I think using the shielding around the 4A mainboard will mount very well in my ATX tower case.  Part of my shielding on one of my mainboards is actual soldered a bit to the mainboard (on an early beige model -NOT QI).

 

I am wondering since that is like that I can mount it directly to the ATX chasis that's aluminum without having to bring it up off the chassis.  

 

Anyone see any issues with doing that or should I bring it up where the shell is not touching any metal?



#63 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Dragonstomper

  • 628 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Sat Mar 4, 2017 4:52 AM

Shift838, on 25 Feb 2017 - 03:25 AM, said:

I never had a problem either, but I was ordering a cable from IEC today and talking with a guy named Joe Miller and he said he used to work for TI and on the 99/4A project and said the whole reason they put the shielding around the 4A's was because without it it would get RF interference.

 

 

I would have thought it was the other way round - the shielding is there so it passed the stringent FCC tests for emissions coming *from* the TI. If you can use it and you don't get interference on your radio or TV, I don't think you'll have any problems.



#64 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:17 PM

So I have been discussing my options for my cartridge port issue with various people like Ralph, Insane Multitasker and Sinphaltimus.  I am borrowing some of Sinphaltimus design for his 4 port cartridge port expander.  Hopefully this will resolve my issues I am seeing that the FR99 does not work with anything really longer than an 8 inch extension cable.  I need something a bit longer.

 

So I have decided to build a 2 port cartridge expander.  This cartridge expander will stay mounted in my all in one unit and I will have a cartridge extension cable to load up other cartridges and have the FR99 and soon to be (when released) the FinalGrom99 always mounted.  I will be able to select between the two with a DPDT slide switch and have a reset button too.

 

I will of course need to mount a reset button for the FR99 on the front panel.  I have also tested a SD card extension cable (45cm) and it works with the FR99 with no problem.  I will need to mount that as well so I can easily have access to swap out the SD cards if needed.  

 

I went ahead and tested a 45cm MicroSD extension cable too successfully with the SCSI2SD adapter for my WHT SCSI card.

 

Here is a picture of what the cartridge expander will look like.  I have not wired it up yet.  resistors are not on the board yet.  But this is just the rough layout.

Attached Files


Edited by Shift838, Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:18 PM.


#65 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,699 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:20 AM

Update on 2 port Cartridge expander.

 

I have wired up

 

1 Male port connector

1 Female Cartridge port

2 resistors

DPDT switch

Jumper set (for reset and DPDT switch connections)

 

Had a couple of issues.  a wire came off one solder point and i hooked the DPDT switch up wrong.  Fixed and I can now state that Sinphaltimus seems to work good.  I will be testing more extensively once I get t he other cartridge port attached and wired up.  So far I have tested with the FlashROM99, XB 2.7 suite (UberGROM) and standard XB cart and all seem to work fine.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users