Jump to content

Photo

The FinalGROM 99


480 replies to this topic

#276 vectrexroli OFFLINE  

vectrexroli

    Moonsweeper

  • 464 posts

Posted Fri Jul 14, 2017 5:57 AM

Got my FinalGROM 99 today and that thing is just mind blowing! Also that ZIP file on WHTech was super helful, now it is just plug & play.

:-D :thumbsup:

Took me a while to find a SD card that works 100%, with all my Sandsik SDHC 32GB cards I got a blinking LED when powering up, even after a reset everything seems to work fine. Found an old Lexar SDHC 4GB card and that one works fine.

BTW the Jetpack ROM image from WHTech did not work on my setup. Not sure if it is the image or something else.



#277 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,616 posts

Posted Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:39 AM

Yeah, I've found that the cheapo class 4 SD cards from China have always worked for me on my FlashROM and the FinalGROM.  They are easily obtainable << HERE  >> on eBay.  The only problem I've found is that you sometimes have to wait up to three weeks for delivery.  But hey, if you just ordered a FG99,  hop on eBay NOW because if you live in the US you may get a ten day customs hold on your FG99, so both things may arrive close together.   ;)

 

After you click << ON THE LINK >> you can select the 1GB version (currently for only $2.53 each) delivered to your mailbox.  I mean, really, do you need more than 1GB on your TI? 


Edited by --- Ω ---, Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:37 AM.


#278 brain OFFLINE  

brain

    Chopper Commander

  • 176 posts

Posted Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:49 AM

Got my FinalGROM 99 today and that thing is just mind blowing! Also that ZIP file on WHTech was super helful, now it is just plug & play.

:-D :thumbsup:

Took me a while to find a SD card that works 100%, with all my Sandsik SDHC 32GB cards I got a blinking LED when powering up, even after a reset everything seems to work fine. Found an old Lexar SDHC 4GB card and that one works fine.

BTW the Jetpack ROM image from WHTech did not work on my setup. Not sure if it is the image or something else.

Hmm, there are two possible issues:

 

One, check your larger card in a Windows system to see if the card is formatted exFAT.  If it is, reformat it to FAT32 and it should work.  Due to copyright and patent encumbrances, I know of no open source exFAT code.

 

If not, then I'll see if I can grab Ralph's source tree and see what FAT library he is using.  I wholeheartedly recommend FatFS, as it's lean, works impressively well, and is open source.

 

Jim



#279 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,558 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:56 PM

Cases are being made by the guy in Spain that makes the flashrom and nanopeb cases

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#280 c0d3m4st4 OFFLINE  

c0d3m4st4

    Space Invader

  • 40 posts
  • Location:Spain

Posted Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:45 PM

Cases are being made by the guy in Spain that makes the flashrom and nanopeb cases

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

 

That's me! :P

 

Anyone interested, keep an eye on my marketplace thread in my signature.



#281 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 517 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jul 15, 2017 5:19 AM

One, check your larger card in a Windows system to see if the card is formatted exFAT.  If it is, reformat it to FAT32 and it should work.  Due to copyright and patent encumbrances, I know of no open source exFAT code.

If not, then I'll see if I can grab Ralph's source tree and see what FAT library he is using.  I wholeheartedly recommend FatFS, as it's lean, works impressively well, and is open source.

 

I use the Petit FatFS.

 

But Roland's problem is that some SD card won't work when powering up, but they do after a reset.  Maybe they don't initialize fast enough, or the power is still too low during initialization?

 

If we get more reports, I can have a look at this.



#282 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    Stargunner

  • 1,971 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:04 AM

I have a question about the FG and FR.

 

Can I share an SD card between the two?

If I keep FR files in the root and FG files in a folder?

I just searched through my collection of SD and Micro SD cards to discover they are all currently allocated to something. Don't feel like ordering a new SD just yet as I maybe able to free one up soon (make a backup) but not yet. Perhaps before the FG arrives but curious anyway.



#283 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 517 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:27 AM

Can I share an SD card between the two?

 

Theoretically, yes.

 

The FlashROM 99 didn't have any filename restrictions, though, so some FlashROM 99 programs may be missing (short filename ending in D) or not working (short filename ending in G) when used in the FinalGROM 99.  The details are in the "Filenames" section of the homepage, which sounds more complicated that it is.

 

The other way around will list GROM images, but the FlashROM 99 will think they're ROM images.

 

To avoid confusion, I'd would not mix them personally, but it works if you know what you're doing.


Edited by ralphb, Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:28 AM.


#284 dphirschler OFFLINE  

dphirschler

    Moonsweeper

  • 376 posts
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:53 AM

I want this one:

Attached File  post-35214-0-64011500-1499611887.jpg   375.18KB   11 downloads

 

I am assuming that is this one:

"[    ] assembled FinalGROM 99 board, buttons and LED soldered    €45"

Correct?  Just want to be sure.  I want the LED and SMD buttons already on the board.  Will it fit in a TI cart shell like that?  I want to glue a clear lens in the hole I drill in the top of cart shell.  And I will 3D print some buttons that press the SMD buttons down.

 

 

Darryl


Edited by dphirschler, Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:56 AM.


#285 x24b OFFLINE  

x24b

    Star Raider

  • 74 posts
  • Location:Apple Valley, CA

Posted Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:55 AM

Happy to say a FinalGROM 99 is enroute to my house. Thanks Ralph!

#286 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    Stargunner

  • 1,971 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:14 PM

 And I will 3D print some buttons that press the SMD buttons down.

 

I have googled far and wide for a push button that would do this and came up empty. I don't think I know its proper name. I'd be interested in seeing your 3d printed one in action.

EDIT: Found them, "Spring Loaded Push Pins"


Edited by Sinphaltimus, Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:28 PM.


#287 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 517 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:16 AM

I am assuming that is this one:

"[    ] assembled FinalGROM 99 board, buttons and LED soldered    €45"

Correct?  Just want to be sure.  I want the LED and SMD buttons already on the board.  Will it fit in a TI cart shell like that?  I want to glue a clear lens in the hole I drill in the top of cart shell.  And I will 3D print some buttons that press the SMD buttons down.

 

Yes, that's the one.  This one can, of course, also be mount in a shell, but you'd have to make sure to see the LED somehow, and to push the buttons by some contraption.

 

And just to clarify the mounting in a shell:  At the very least, you have to add a slit for the SD socket, and cut down one little "finger" inside the shell.  For both you can use a rasp.  For LED and buttons, you'll need holes.



#288 Sincity OFFLINE  

Sincity

    Chopper Commander

  • 128 posts

Posted Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:01 PM

 

Send an email to r@0x01.de with what you want

 

You can order 

 

  • An assembled FinalGROM for $51.29
  • An assembled FinalGROM without LEDs or buttons for $51.29
  • The FinalGROM label for $1.14
  • Shipping for $11.40

 

Thanks. I still have the original version in kit form still unassembled because Ralph couldn't make them fast enough when they were first introduced.



#289 vectrexroli OFFLINE  

vectrexroli

    Moonsweeper

  • 464 posts

Posted Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:15 PM

So there is also a label available for the FinalGROM?



#290 chue OFFLINE  

chue

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:21 AM

So there is also a label available for the FinalGROM?

 

Yes.  From the FinalGROM homepage (https://endlos99.git...io/finalgrom99/):

 

Please fill out and include this snippet in your inquiry:

Amount
[    ] assembled FinalGROM 99 board, buttons and LED soldered    €45
[    ] assembled FinalGROM 99 board, without buttons and LED     €45
[    ] FinalGROM 99 laminated cartridge label                    € 1
       world-wide shipping for up to two carts                   €10


#291 kl99 OFFLINE  

kl99

    Dragonstomper

  • 676 posts
  • Location:Vienna, Austria

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:24 AM

I informed retrorgb about your product, he has a matching target audience and usually around 3500 views on his videos.

starting from 07:50 min
BR Klaus



#292 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 517 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:42 AM

I informed retrorgb about your product, he has a matching target audience and usually around 3500 views on his videos.

 

Thanks, Klaus!   :)



#293 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,558 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:28 PM

delivered! now just have to leave work and go get them! 

 

Greg



#294 Casey OFFLINE  

Casey

    Chopper Commander

  • 129 posts

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:54 PM

Guess what came in the mail today! :)

 

My plan is to stick this in a beige cart shell, but I need suggestions on where to obtain the buttons and the LED to solder onto it.  What are others using?   Thanks!



#295 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,951 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 5:35 PM

Guess what came in the mail today! :)

 

My plan is to stick this in a beige cart shell, but I need suggestions on where to obtain the buttons and the LED to solder onto it.  What are others using?   Thanks!

 

Standard 5mm red LED.

 

I have been emailing Ralph about the buttons to make sure, they are standard Normally Open tactile switches.  So any Normally Open Momentary push button will work.  You will only need to worry about 2 pins on each button of course.

 

Reference the attached screenshot for the FG99 Reset.  the two yellow arrows in the diagram is how the connetions of the button should be made.  Of course you can use either set on the button.  Same with the TI99 Reset switch.  just 2 out of the 4 are required.  the vertical pins (from back of board to front) are the ones that need to be connected to the switches.

Attached Files


Edited by Shift838, Wed Jul 19, 2017 5:43 PM.


#296 Casey OFFLINE  

Casey

    Chopper Commander

  • 129 posts

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 5:48 PM

I'd like to do something just like this:

 

https://raw.githubus...c/cartshell.jpg

 

I suppose I could just email Ralph and asking him what he used for the buttons :)



#297 Vorticon ONLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 2,807 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:34 PM

 

BTW the Jetpack ROM image from WHTech did not work on my setup. Not sure if it is the image or something else.

 

Jetpac is a 64K ROM because it includes the full Turbo Forth environment. Not sure if the Finalgrom-99 supports ROM images greater than 32K...



#298 Lee Stewart OFFLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,390 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:00 PM

Jetpac is a 64K ROM because it includes the full Turbo Forth environment. Not sure if the Finalgrom-99 supports ROM images greater than 32K...

 

It supports ROM images up to 1 MiB!

 

...lee



#299 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 2,638 posts
  • Location:Little Falls, NJ

Posted Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:03 PM

Just paid Ralph for mine...a little late to the game :) But I am excited :)



#300 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 517 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:23 AM

I suppose I could just email Ralph and asking him what he used for the buttons :)

 

Sure you could.  :)  I used this button, although I could swear I paid more then €5 each.  Anyway, they're quite expensive, but they're also the shortest buttons that are flush to the mounted surface I could find here.

 

The manufacturer is APEM, the part number is  IBR3SAD600.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users