Jump to content

Photo

The FinalGROM 99


543 replies to this topic

#526 DuaneAL OFFLINE  

DuaneAL

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts

Posted Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:36 PM

Any advice on what to try?  Reseating the connector?  Special attention to a particular pin?  Deep cleaning?  All of the Above?  All my other cartridges work fine.

 

Edit:  Sorry Greg!  I missed your post about Mainbyte


Edited by DuaneAL, Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:26 PM.


#527 DuaneAL OFFLINE  

DuaneAL

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts

Posted Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:08 PM

I have a QI mainboard.  I just took it apart and the layout is totally different from my other (non-functional) one and matches the images of QI units on Mainbyte.



#528 ralphb ONLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 557 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:57 AM

I have a QI mainboard.  I just took it apart and the layout is totally different from my other (non-functional) one and matches the images of QI units on Mainbyte.

 

It currently doesn't work on QI machines, but I'm working on that.  My previous analysis didn't find anything different, but I'll have to continue that.



#529 sparkdrummer OFFLINE  

sparkdrummer

    Dragonstomper

  • 859 posts
  • Status? I don't need no stinkin' status!
  • Location:Phoenix,Arizona

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:18 AM

I think I have "bricked" one of my FG99's trying to do the update. Does anyone have the capability to reflash it so it will be happy again? Ralph talks about this on his site. Woe is me.



#530 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,158 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 8:53 AM

I think I have "bricked" one of my FG99's trying to do the update. Does anyone have the capability to reflash it so it will be happy again? Ralph talks about this on his site. Woe is me.

I might.. Will get back to you

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#531 ralphb ONLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 557 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:58 AM

You can also send it to me, but I think Greg can help you.  All you need is an Atmel AVR programmer (Arduino won't work).



#532 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,158 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:46 PM

I confirmed I have an AVR programmer so feel free to ship to me and I'll unbrick it..  pm me if you need the address

 

Greg 



#533 atrax27407 OFFLINE  

atrax27407

    Dragonstomper

  • 953 posts

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:06 PM

Here are a couple of methods for unbricking an AVR.

Attached Files



#534 atrax27407 OFFLINE  

atrax27407

    Dragonstomper

  • 953 posts

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:07 PM

Here is the second one.

 

"insert avr so the pins on the left side are in the socket and the right side are out of the programmer, reset to stock settings and save..  trying to find my old post with this..  http://atariage.com/...18#entry3035896

 

no crystals or anything needed

done"



#535 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,158 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:11 PM

Here is the second one.
 
"insert avr so the pins on the left side are in the socket and the right side are out of the programmer, reset to stock settings and save..  trying to find my old post with this..  http://atariage.com/...18#entry3035896
 
no crystals or anything needed
done"

That's my trick but the fg has a surface mount chip

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#536 ralphb ONLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 557 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:36 AM

Please note that the 6 pin connector is used to flash the ATmega 328:

 

Attached File  avr-prog-conn.png   7.14KB   6 downloads

 

The 3V and GND pins are also indicated on the PCB.  The "6" is the notch in the connector.



#537 slinkeey OFFLINE  

slinkeey

    Dragonstomper

  • 504 posts
  • Not a Gamer
  • Location:Racine, WI

Posted Sun Apr 8, 2018 1:52 PM

I've published the very first patch for the FinalGROM 99 that fixes some minor annoyances:

 

  • When you turn on your console, the FinalGROM 99 blinks with pattern #1 (see troubleshooting section), but works normally when you press the FinalGROM 99 reset button once.
  • The FinalGROM 99 menu shows system or hidden files or folders

 

To apply the update, please go to the homepage and read section "How to Upgrade the FinalGROM 99" carefully, then download and apply the patch file.  For those with issue #1, you'll have to press FG reset once to get going when you see the blinking LED.

 

In case of questions, please ask before you try!

 

I have this problem, but I doubt I need the update, as I just received mine from AracadeShopper.  Any tips?



#538 ralphb ONLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 557 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Apr 9, 2018 1:08 AM

 

I have this problem, but I doubt I need the update, as I just received mine from AracadeShopper.  Any tips?

 

Just have a look to the top, it should say v1,3.  If you see v1.2, you will need this patch.



#539 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,158 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Apr 9, 2018 1:17 AM

 
I have this problem, but I doubt I need the update, as I just received mine from AracadeShopper.  Any tips?

I didnt update any i just shipped out and they were shipped to me 1.2 from ralph as 1.3 wasnt released yet when he sent them to me.. Upgrade yours

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#540 slinkeey OFFLINE  

slinkeey

    Dragonstomper

  • 504 posts
  • Not a Gamer
  • Location:Racine, WI

Posted Mon Apr 9, 2018 5:39 PM

Hey, thanks for the help.  I just assumed (bad habit) they were recent builds knowing it was on backorder, and it recently shipped.

 

Yeah it still does pattern one, until I press the reset FG button, with V1.3 installed..  Fresh formatted SanDisk.  Not a big deal to press reset..  :)

 

Thanks!



#541 Shift838 ONLINE  

Shift838

    River Patroller

  • 2,175 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Deer Park, Texas

Posted Today, 8:57 AM

I finally got around to hooking my FinalGrom99 up and working with it.  Well I had issues.  It seemed that no matter what I did after I put my files on the card the SD card would not be recognized and the LED would have a constant blink.

 

Ralfph suggested to press the FG99 Reset switch (not the 4a reset button).  This caused the card to be read and I could now access the programs on the card.

 

so I spoke with Omega during a CHATTI session and he said he experienced a similar issue and he just changed cards.    Omega went from a name brand card to a no name brand and it worked.

 

So I dug and I found a slower card (the one I was using was a class4).  The microsd I found was a 4GB class3 and I copied the files on this card and BAM...  all worked.

 

I can only surmise that the other SD card is too fast to be read during the 99/4a bootup and needs to be slower.

 

So if anyone has been experiencing this try a slower card..



#542 FDOS ONLINE  

FDOS

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts

Posted Today, 11:18 AM

 

No, I did this entirely on my own.  I guess it might seem aloof or something, but I simply enjoy figuring stuff out and finding solutions for difficult problems.  Asking for help would be kind of cheating.  But then of course I did rely big time on a lot of previous work by other people.  Tursi's comments on GROMs given to somebody else were particularly helpful, and for a lot of other TI internals AtariAge had been a gold mine.

 

The FG will work with QIs just as other carts, i.e., ROMs won't.  But then I think you could add a GROM wrapper around those images so that they'll show in the menu.  The FG would make that easier.

 

I didn't dare to test GROM 0-2 yet, with or without the console GROMs present.  Technically, they're supported, but I haven't tested what would happen.

 

 

Can't say for now.  Personally I find SD cards extremely comfortable and much preferred to cables, but sure, if it's not a big deal, why not?  I'll get back to you about this idea.

 

 

Yes, it's working quite well with a flat solder tip, although I did trash the first five boards (both by hand and with a small Chinese reflow oven).

 

 

Both sound great!  I'll definitely get in touch with you!

 

 

Cheat codes would be a matter of modifying the images, as are ROM images for QI consoles.  It's not a FinalCartridge (or whatever they were called) ...  :) 

 

MESS carts are just cart dumps, so they work.  n fact, what you see in the video are unzipped MESS rpk's.  Zipped files, however, cannot be supported, as there's simply not enough RAM to uncompress them.  Maybe one could use uncompressed ZIPs, but I don't think it's really worth the effort.

 

Printed carts are kind of difficult, as could be seen with the FlashROM.  But some people are very good at finding empty standard shells, and maybe they'll provide some for us.

Yes, I'm still looking to replace my ailing 80K GramKracker with my FinalGROM 99, but that will require external GROM/GRAM for GROM 0, 1 & 2.  However,  TI Basic Plus (TIB+) project requires a 4 to 8 RML banking capabiity similar to my SNUG HSGPL cards (one is 16 RML banks and the other is 4 RML banks).  This would truly be the UltimateGROM 99.



#543 RXB ONLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 2,998 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Today, 11:50 AM

What I would require is a device to replace and test ROM 0 (the OS) and all 16 GRAM banks, also GRAM 0, 1 and 2.

 

Thus far no one has made one of these yet.



#544 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,158 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Today, 12:20 PM

Yes, I'm still looking to replace my ailing 80K GramKracker with my FinalGROM 99, but that will require external GROM/GRAM for GROM 0, 1 & 2.  However,  TI Basic Plus (TIB+) project requires a 4 to 8 RML banking capabiity similar to my SNUG HSGPL cards (one is 16 RML banks and the other is 4 RML banks).  This would truly be the UltimateGROM 99.

 

That device is this one coupled with a ubergrom:

 






3 user(s) are browsing this forum

1 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users