Jump to content

Photo

Dungeons of Asgard - game under development


41 replies to this topic

#26 fabrice montupet OFFLINE  

fabrice montupet

    Chopper Commander

  • 198 posts
  • Location:Burgundy - France

Posted Sun Jan 22, 2017 11:04 AM

I like DOA ! Congratulation Rasmus. I'm waiting the new versions of it with a great impatience :-)



#27 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,568 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:35 PM

nice update! those villans are wimps! :)  I kept getting my butt kicked on l1 until i got some armor 

 

noticed that if you go back to town the dungeon randomizes again when you go back down.. 

 

also had one point where i went in from town and my up-stair turned into a down-stair..   pretty sure.. will try and reproduce

 

Greg



#28 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,466 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:53 PM

noticed that if you go back to town the dungeon randomizes again when you go back down.. 

 

That's expected - I cannot save the full state of each dungeon level. I could regenerate the same level with the same monsters and items and all tiles hidden, but that would be boring. The idea is that you should move further and further down into the dungeon (using scroll of recall) as your level rises.

 

also had one point where i went in from town and my up-stair turned into a down-stair..   pretty sure.. will try and reproduce

That's not expected.  :)



#29 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,568 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:20 PM

ok burned the new version on a rom and played a few rounds on real iron..   looking good!  

 

haven't been able to reproduce my stair issue 



#30 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 278 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:12 PM

Just downloaded the new version! ...looks like if I load my char from the old version it actually loads!.... but it takes a LONG TIME and then it takes FOREVER to move to I am assuming these two version aren't compatible.  It's actually pretty amazing that it even loads, just thought I would try it out for giggles.

 

Let the new adventure set forth in version 0.2.0!! 



#31 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:42 PM

Holy cow... I missed this too.

Looks incredible!

#32 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,466 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:14 PM

Time flies, the previous version was from 17 January. I didn't work on the gameplay lately, but I have been working on the music. I'm not much of a composer so it may sound weird, but my plan with this game is to create something that's all my own doing [edit: except for Tursi's music player, of course]. I have made a town tune and a dungeon tune. The latest version is available from the first post of this thread.



#33 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,568 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:18 PM

Time flies, the previous version was from 17 January. I didn't work on the gameplay lately, but I have been working on the music. I'm not much of a composer so it may sound weird, but my plan with this game is to create something that's all my own doing. I have made a town tune and a dungeon tune. The latest version is available from the first post of this thread.

 

nice!  

 

your town music hits me wrong ..should be more light hearted or less first voice.. it's a little overwhelming

 

I like the dungeon music! 

 

otherwise good so far need to give it more game time just my first impression 

 

Greg



#34 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,466 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:11 PM

your town music hits me wrong ..should be more light hearted or less first voice.. it's a little overwhelming

 

I think you're right, but I don't have any more ideas right now. The best I can do for now is to slow it down and dampen it a little.



#35 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,466 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed May 24, 2017 10:32 AM

I'm still working on this from time to time. I have added a new version with a few changes to the first post.  



#36 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,220 posts

Posted Fri Aug 4, 2017 3:55 PM

I really need to take some time to make a nice label for this one (unless Ciro already has one). . .that way those who want single-use cartridges can make them.



#37 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,568 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Aug 4, 2017 7:11 PM

I really need to take some time to make a nice label for this one (unless Ciro already has one). . .that way those who want single-use cartridges can make them.

He has one

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#38 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,217 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sat Aug 5, 2017 11:43 AM

I really need to take some time to make a nice label for this one (unless Ciro already has one). . .that way those who want single-use cartridges can make them.

 

 

He has one

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

 

 

:P  I haven't one ready for this game, i think that once the game will be finished i'd like to have on Cart and so i will like to have a label, but at the moment i haven't at all.

If you like to do one Jim you can do of course... feel free please :)... anyway if I will feel inspired, I will do a my version as always... but i will wait the final released game 


 



#39 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • 517 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Aug 8, 2017 3:04 AM

 

Because the game requires at least 128 KiB.

 

Edit: It uses 48 KiB for a map level (256x192).

 

Do you update the map during game play?  If not, could it be made into a cartridge that doesn't use SAMS anymore?



#40 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,466 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Tue Aug 8, 2017 8:20 AM

 

Do you update the map during game play?  If not, could it be made into a cartridge that doesn't use SAMS anymore?

 

Yes the map is randomly generated and is updated when you light it up, tunnel through walls or pick up items. One of the objectives when I started this project was to use SAMS for something that could not be done using 32K+ROM, but as the game is now there is so little variation in the map that it could be much smaller without affecting the game play.



#41 ralphb OFFLINE  

ralphb

    Dragonstomper

  • 517 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:00 AM

Yes the map is randomly generated and is updated when you light it up, tunnel through walls or pick up items. One of the objectives when I started this project was to use SAMS for something that could not be done using 32K+ROM, but as the game is now there is so little variation in the map that it could be much smaller without affecting the game play.

 

Well, hard to argue with that.  :thumbsup:

 

But the FinalGROM 99 does have 512 KB of banked RAM ... just sayin'.  ;)



#42 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,466 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:48 AM

 

Well, hard to argue with that.  :thumbsup:

 

But the FinalGROM 99 does have 512 KB of banked RAM ... just sayin'.  ;)

 

Yes a FG99 version would certainly be possible, at least if it still required 32K. Running it from the FG99 only would be harder.

 

The problem is, my interest in this game has fizzled out a bit now that I have created most of the program skeleton and the (for me) boring work of adding items and monsters to the data files remain. But the code is in good shape, so I might come back to it later.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users