IGNORED

reset sp

TomSon

First off: hi to everyone on this forum - I am brand new to VCS programming and have extensive low-level hw programming

background, (also programming retro hw) but so far not on the 2600.

So, just now I stumbled upon a possible bug in Stella - the reset SP is according to this document:

http://www.pagetable.com/?p=410

at 0xFD but in Stella it is 0xFF.

Since every cart. on the planet seems to init. the stack right away anyways this is not a big deal but still..

p.s.

void M6502::reset()

SP = BSPF::containsIgnoreCase(cpurandom, "S") ?

mySystem->randGenerator().next() : 0xff;

Edited by TomSon
  • Like 3

I just verified that SP is indeed FD starting a test bin on a 2600 in a ROM so this is a bug.

It may even be a bug of the harmony cart. depending on how they init the sp before starting the

loaded cart.:

I do not have one myself to test this - and I don't know how to attach my test_sp.bin here (yet..).

Either zip it, or renamed it, e.g. to bin.txt

Interesting finding. Please post this here too.

More evidence:

http://visual6502.org/JSSim/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fWqBmmPQP40) (around 42:15)

Edited by Thomas Jentzsch

This is a very interesting find :) I have already observed that some official ROMs fail to init S properly and may fail with a corrupted stack, depending on the value of S (Dark Chambers for example). This (1) proves that the value is determinstic and (2) also fixes the value. I'll open a ticket against Stella, and I'll also fix this in 6502.ts.

Edited by DirtyHairy
  • Like 1

I do not have one myself to test this - and I don't know how to attach my test_sp.bin here (yet..).

You have to click on More Reply Options to get to the file attachment options, they'll appear below the text box:

post-3056-0-70453100-1485444533_thumb.png

Do note that if you have Flash installed the Attach Files options will look different. Also BIN files can be uploaded just fine, no need to zip or rename them.