IGNORED

WoW Vanilla Servers... whence they sprung?

DZ-Jay

I have a question and I don't know which is the most topical forum to place it, so I chose "Modern Gaming."

Anyway, my question is regarding the so-called World of Warcraft "Vanilla" private servers, where people play WoW using a version of the game from 2006.

My question is, where do they get the server code? I'm just curious because having tried one of these servers, it looks and plays exactly as I remember it from 2006, when I started playing WoW.

Was the WoW back-end ever made available to third parties by Blizzard, in the same way that Quake servers were available from Id Software back in the day? Or did people just reverse-engineer the entire server by hand (I can't imagine how this would be even possible)? Or perhaps it was "leaked" by a Blizzard insider?

My curiosity was sparked because the project status messages talk about writing code to get the server ready, so it sounds like it is home-grown, but... how do they manage to make it so close to actual Blizzard WoW from 2006?

By the way, I don't want to start a holy war on the moral or legal merits of such services. I played WoW back in the day, I left it when it got nerfed and silly (a race of space pandas, really??), and I re-discovered the awesomeness to which I got addicted 10 years ago. I would gladly pay Blizzard for the chance, but alas this appears to be impossible. I may or may not continue playing "vanilla," but one thing is certain: I won't go back to "modern" WoW... EVAH!

I'm just curious to know how these things came about. :)

-dZ.

Something similar happened within Everquest, and those old style servers are still up. I think they did via reverse engineering but I'm not sure. Seems like yet another example of the power of nostalgia. If I had lots of fun with old WoW, I'd want to relive those glory days, too.