Jump to content

Photo

Dragon's Lair - Homebrew


46 replies to this topic

#26 JasonlikesINTV OFFLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,075 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2017 12:12 AM

Anyone tried Oregon Trail for the Wii? I picked it up recently and heard it's a great port.

#27 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 11,036 posts
  • The P-Machinery AGE is almost here!
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2017 5:14 AM

Anyone tried Oregon Trail for the Wii? I picked it up recently and heard it's a great port.

 

I much prefer this version for iOS, directly inspired by the Apple ][ one.  I've played it quite a bit! :)



#28 vprette OFFLINE  

vprette

    Stargunner

  • 1,501 posts

Posted Fri Jun 8, 2018 4:52 AM

Oh well......a boy can dream, right?

 

I spent sometime rendering the game for intellivision and see what I got before to renounce

I started from gameboy color version, rendered to 80x48 and using the inty palette

what I got is not very playable, not speaking about the amount of space in cartridge to store 4-5 minutes of screens..

intv dragonslair5 0249


#29 IMBerzerk OFFLINE  

IMBerzerk

    Chopper Commander

  • 175 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted Fri Jun 8, 2018 8:38 AM

That's the big problem with DL. It's a big game. I think the c64 version was 1 disk at 64k, with compression. Tough to do on the Inty. Thanks for trying.

How about another version of AD&D/Cloudy Mountain instead?

#30 vprette OFFLINE  

vprette

    Stargunner

  • 1,501 posts

Posted Fri Jun 8, 2018 9:33 AM

That's the big problem with DL. It's a big game. I think the c64 version was 1 disk at 64k, with compression. Tough to do on the Inty. Thanks for trying.

How about another version of AD&D/Cloudy Mountain instead?

 

not in my plans at the moment... I'm studying other 5 games..


Edited by vprette, Fri Jun 8, 2018 9:34 AM.


#31 4ever2600 OFFLINE  

4ever2600

    Dragonstomper

  • 744 posts

Posted Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:10 PM

I don't think the zx81 is exactly 'doing It'. Sure the heck ain't 'doing it' for me.

Well... If the ZX81 can do it :-
 
https://www.youtube....h?v=CuF4g5CDZQA
 
So can the Intellivision... in a 64x64 pixel window :rolling:.



#32 HunterZero OFFLINE  

HunterZero

    Dragonstomper

  • 685 posts

Posted Mon Jun 11, 2018 7:14 PM

It reminds me of Marble Madness, another very popular arcade game which relied on graphics and great physics simulations and controls. When ported to 8-bit micros, it seems like a weird isometric version of Pac-Man, and it was mostly awkward to play.

 

Did you play Marble Madness on the Amiga computer with the mouse? It was a very good conversion, pretty close to arcade perfect.

 

If the Intellivision had an RS-232 serial port, it could conceivably be used to emulate the original game board and run a port of the original code (the game board was based around a Z80A, and AY-3-8910 sound chip), and interface with a serial laserdisc player.



#33 Osgeld OFFLINE  

Osgeld

    Quadrunner

  • 5,495 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:21 PM

Guessing it would play like and look more blocky than the Adam version. Pass. :lol:

https://m.youtube.co...h?v=A25_NlSfKhU

Besides, there's a million ways to play Dragon's Lair today. A port for Intellivision would just make that a million and one. lol

attachicon.gifIMG_0043.JPG attachicon.gifIMG_0042.JPG

attachicon.gifIMG_0044.JPG attachicon.gifIMG_0046.PNG

 

 

I was always impressed by the adam version considering its on a z80 loaded from a tape 



#34 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,042 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:31 AM

That's the big problem with DL. It's a big game. I think the c64 version was 1 disk at 64k, with compression. Tough to do on the Inty. Thanks for trying.

How about another version of AD&D/Cloudy Mountain instead?

I don't think 64k is a problem for an Intellivision cartridge. Even without bankswitching it could probably do about 50k. And with 16bit roms it can store double the data.

Should someone want to hook up an Intellivision to a serial laser disc player; I don't think you can use the serial port on the ecs but you should be able to use the serial port on an ltoflash.

Edited by mr_me, Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:33 AM.


#35 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 11,036 posts
  • The P-Machinery AGE is almost here!
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:46 AM

 

Did you play Marble Madness on the Amiga computer with the mouse? It was a very good conversion, pretty close to arcade perfect.

 

If the Intellivision had an RS-232 serial port, it could conceivably be used to emulate the original game board and run a port of the original code (the game board was based around a Z80A, and AY-3-8910 sound chip), and interface with a serial laserdisc player.

 

Unfortunately, I never got a chance to play on an Amiga.

 

 

I don't think 64k is a problem for an Intellivision cartridge. Even without bankswitching it could probably do about 50k. And with 16bit roms it can store double the data.
 

 

Also, keep in mind that 64K on the C=64 means "Kilobytes," or a thousand 8-bit bytes; on the Intellivision it means "Kilodecles," or a thousand 16-bit words.  So that would be about 32K on an Intellivision cartridge, which caps out at around 42K without bank-switching.

 

    -dZ.



#36 1980gamer OFFLINE  

1980gamer

    Dragonstomper

  • 918 posts
  • Location:Charlton, MA

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 4:57 AM

"Also, keep in mind that 64K on the C=64 means "Kilobytes," or a thousand 8-bit bytes; on the Intellivision it means "Kilodecles," or a thousand 16-bit words.  So that would be about 32K on an Intellivision cartridge, which caps out at around 42K without bank-switching.

 

    -dZ."

 

Isn't that 10 Bit words?  DECles  Not Hexacles   I like Hexadecles better..  but would that be 160 bit words?



#37 Intymike ONLINE  

Intymike

    River Patroller

  • 2,969 posts
  • Location:Rhine Valley

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:02 AM

 

Did you play Marble Madness on the Amiga computer with the mouse? It was a very good conversion, pretty close to arcade perfect.

 

If the Intellivision had an RS-232 serial port, it could conceivably be used to emulate the original game board and run a port of the original code (the game board was based around a Z80A, and AY-3-8910 sound chip), and interface with a serial laserdisc player.

 

 

First: Marble Madness on Amiga = Awesome

 

Second = Cool idea, use the Intellivision to remote control a LD player. The ECS has a serial port. It was done by serval home computers, like C64 and Amiga.



#38 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 7,287 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:03 AM

Instructions (opcodes) are 10-bit, addresses and data are 16-bit as far as I understand.

http://wiki.intelliv...p?title=CP-1610



#39 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 11,036 posts
  • The P-Machinery AGE is almost here!
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:09 AM

"Also, keep in mind that 64K on the C=64 means "Kilobytes," or a thousand 8-bit bytes; on the Intellivision it means "Kilodecles," or a thousand 16-bit words.  So that would be about 32K on an Intellivision cartridge, which caps out at around 42K without bank-switching.
 
    -dZ."
 
Isn't that 10 Bit words?  DECles  Not Hexacles   I like Hexadecles better..  but would that be 160 bit words?

 
It's a misnomer.  "Decles" was the name given back in the 1970s when they were programming games in 10-bit ROMs, but the CP-1610 is a 16-bit CPU fully capable of supporting 16-bit ROMs.  Nobody uses 10-bit ROM since the days of GI and Mattel, but we still call the ROM words "decles."
 
 

Instructions (opcodes) are 10-bit, addresses and data are 16-bit as far as I understand.
http://wiki.intelliv...p?title=CP-1610


The opcodes are 10-bits in order to make them fit in 10-bit ROM.  The CP-1600 came out during a transition period when "bit-ness" was still in flux and not standardized to powers of 2.  General Instruments was also a large purveyor of 10-bit ROM chips, so guess what they pushed for... ;)

 

The CPU has 16-bit registers and is capable of reading 16-bit or 10-bit memory.  It has some additional facilities to support 16-bit data encoded in 10-bit memory, but those are vestiges of a more primitive time.

 

    -dZ.



#40 intellivotion OFFLINE  

intellivotion

    Intellivoted

  • 2,656 posts
  • Time Zone Traveller
  • Location:Italy... sometimes

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:32 AM

I really don't understand why you are saying that the AtariAge members decle and opcode are bits and bytes...

did I miss something?



#41 Lathe26 OFFLINE  

Lathe26

    River Patroller

  • 3,590 posts

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:52 AM

I typically go with the industry standard meanings that "decle" means 10-bits and that "word" means "natural data size" which on the Intellivision's CP1610 means 16-bit.  https://en.wikipedia..._of_information

 

However, DECLE is unfortunately used as a keyword in Inty assembly to mean 16-bit values or a 10-bit value padded with 6 zero bits (depends on whether your files start with ROMW 16 or ROMW 10) which creates some of the confusion.  http://wiki.intelliv..._World_Tutorial

 

Side notes: tidbit or lick means 2-bits, nibble means 4-bits, and chomp means 16-bits.



#42 Intymike ONLINE  

Intymike

    River Patroller

  • 2,969 posts
  • Location:Rhine Valley

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:06 AM

And 20 Bit is a crate of Bitburger.   ;)

 

ve_53622_pub_bitburger_kastenabbildung_p


Edited by Intymike, Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:06 AM.


#43 vprette OFFLINE  

vprette

    Stargunner

  • 1,501 posts

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:06 AM

I typically go with the industry standard meanings that "decle" means 10-bits and that "word" means "natural data size" which on the Intellivision's CP1610 means 16-bit.  https://en.wikipedia..._of_information

 

However, DECLE is unfortunately used as a keyword in Inty assembly to mean 16-bit values or a 10-bit value padded with 6 zero bits (depends on whether your files start with ROMW 16 or ROMW 10) which creates some of the confusion.  http://wiki.intelliv..._World_Tutorial

 

Side notes: tidbit or lick means 2-bits, nibble means 4-bits, and chomp means 16-bits.

 

strapparsi-i-capelli.jpg



#44 DZ-Jay OFFLINE  

DZ-Jay

    Quadrunner

  • 11,036 posts
  • The P-Machinery AGE is almost here!
  • Location:NC, USA

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:43 AM

I typically go with the industry standard meanings that "decle" means 10-bits and that "word" means "natural data size" which on the Intellivision's CP1610 means 16-bit.  https://en.wikipedia..._of_information
 
However, DECLE is unfortunately used as a keyword in Inty assembly to mean 16-bit values or a 10-bit value padded with 6 zero bits (depends on whether your files start with ROMW 16 or ROMW 10) which creates some of the confusion.  http://wiki.intelliv..._World_Tutorial
 
Side notes: tidbit or lick means 2-bits, nibble means 4-bits, and chomp means 16-bits.


You must be new here :P

#45 m-crew OFFLINE  

m-crew

    River Patroller

  • 4,747 posts
  • Location:Toronto -Canada

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:37 PM




Here this might help some of us.. lol Didn't work for me back then.. lol

#46 Intymike ONLINE  

Intymike

    River Patroller

  • 2,969 posts
  • Location:Rhine Valley

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:53 PM


Here this might help some of us.. lol Didn't work for me back then.. lol

 

 

Wow, the intro music is clearly a ripp off of Kraftwerk's Neonlights. ;)



#47 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,818 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:England

Posted Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:00 PM

I don't think the zx81 is exactly 'doing It'. Sure the heck ain't 'doing it' for me.

Given the limitations of the machine, its rendering of the game is entirely acceptable in my opinion.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users