Jump to content

Photo

TI-99/4a nanoPEB RS-232 -> Tandy 102


25 replies to this topic

#1 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2017 10:53 PM

Hi

 

Been trying too get some serial communication working between my Tandy 102 & TI-99/4a. Have been doing these sorts of projects for years. The null modem cable I use works with my Tandy 102 with:

  • Transferring files to and from Android using a USB OTG cable, a disk emulator called mComm on my Android Nexus 5, USB->Serial converter, null modem cable
  • Transferring files to and from Ubuntu Linux using an app called desklink, USB->Serial converter, null modem cable

 

Am fairly confident my null modem cable is a good one. Got a website detailing some of the stuff interfacing the Tandy with things over the years (seriously needs an update)

http://www.planetnz....heads/tandy.php

 

Idea was too try & transfer a TXT file stored on a DSK file on the CF Card of the nanoPEB to the Tandy 102.

 

First step was too put each machine into Terminal mode to see if I can echo out commands in full/half duplex on both machines.

 

I set up the Tandy to receive in 38N1D, which is 300 baud, send chars using 8 bits data, No error checking parity, 1 pulse at end of each char, disable remote control of data output. Then set the Tandy 102 TELCOM app into Terminal Mode

 

I then tried both the Terminal Emulator II and the Mass-Transfer 4.3 application on the XB 2.7 module.

  • Terminal Emulator II - 300 baud, No parity, tried Full and Half, RS-232 #1 in terminal mode
  • Mass-Transfer 4.3 - 300 baud, RS-232 #1, trying different combos of line feed toggle, echo etc in terminal mode

I literally get no response at all at either end. No data is transferred between either.

 

What are the changes the RS-232 on the nanoPEB is faulty? Can anyone see any obvious issue with my settings? Does the TI need a special null modem cable?

 

cheers

Daryn



#2 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    Stargunner

  • 1,967 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2017 11:03 PM

neither of those programs support a nanopeb..  Depending on what verson you have you may have a 16550 uart or a 9902.. The only programs that support the nanopeb that I know of are cfhdx1, Stuart's browser, timxt http://atariage.com/...1/?hl=+terminal and DSR access such as from basic..

 

Greg


Edited by arcadeshopper, Sun Feb 5, 2017 11:04 PM.


#3 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,629 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2017 11:12 PM

TE II at 300 baud will also work if the UDS settings are right.

 

Hopefully soon Insane Multitasker will be able to do some final testing with the latest version of TIMXT he was able to get working a couple of months ago.  So far all my testing has worked well with it.



#4 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2017 11:21 PM

neither of those programs support a nanopeb..  Depending on what verson you have you may have a 16550 uart or a 9902.. The only programs that support the nanopeb that I know of are cfhdx1, Stuart's browser, timxt http://atariage.com/...1/?hl=+terminal and DSR access such as from basic..

 

Greg

 

Ah well that explains it! Thought i was going mad! Cheers Greg!



#5 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2017 11:21 PM

TE II at 300 baud will also work if the UDS settings are right.

 

Hopefully soon Insane Multitasker will be able to do some final testing with the latest version of TIMXT he was able to get working a couple of months ago.  So far all my testing has worked well with it.

 

Awesome! Will keep a look out for that then!



#6 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    Stargunner

  • 1,967 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Feb 5, 2017 11:47 PM

Ok I lied a v1 nanopeb will work in term emu ii. Its 7e1 300 baud..

I used a null modem to my pc rs232.. So to a 102 it's prob straight through no null needed

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#7 Lee Stewart OFFLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,001 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 12:15 AM

I do not know whether this will help, but IIRC, the TI-99/4A RS232 card is configured as DCE (as a modem), whereas I know the nanoPEB serial port is configured as DTE (as most computers) and only supports DTR and CTS handshaking signals.

 

..lee



#8 InsaneMultitasker ONLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,426 posts

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 12:40 AM


Hopefully soon Insane Multitasker will be able to do some final testing with the latest version of TIMXT he was able to get working a couple of months ago.  So far all my testing has worked well with it.

If you'd like to upload the test version you are using, feel free to do so. Just call it TIMXTNANO or similar to distinguish it.  Either in this post or the one ArcadeShopper references above...  I'll try to find time to upload an updated version in a week or two.



#9 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,629 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 10:26 AM

If you'd like to upload the test version you are using, feel free to do so. Just call it TIMXTNANO or similar to distinguish it.  Either in this post or the one ArcadeShopper references above...  I'll try to find time to upload an updated version in a week or two.

 

Will do.  That will make many users happy.  It would probably be better to start a new Topic so it's not buried and probably in the Development forum..  I can link the posting to messages here.  what do you think?


Edited by Shift838, Mon Feb 6, 2017 10:27 AM.


#10 InsaneMultitasker ONLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,426 posts

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 11:30 AM

 

Awesome! Will keep a look out for that then!

A thought occurred to me -- does your TI have the F18A video mod installed?   TIMXT works only with the F18A and 80 columns.  If you need something for a standard TI without F18A, I'll modify one of the Mass Transfer variants this week.  It won't be able to achieve any high rates of speed but at least it will be an option.



#11 atrax27407 ONLINE  

atrax27407

    Dragonstomper

  • 620 posts

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 11:50 AM

Any progress on TIMXT for a 9938/58 system?



#12 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 3:24 PM

A thought occurred to me -- does your TI have the F18A video mod installed?   TIMXT works only with the F18A and 80 columns.  If you need something for a standard TI without F18A, I'll modify one of the Mass Transfer variants this week.  It won't be able to achieve any high rates of speed but at least it will be an option.

 

Hi InsaneMultitasker - no, mine is just a normal TI.

 

Be cool too see one of those variants works!

 

Cheers!

Daryn



#13 InsaneMultitasker ONLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,426 posts

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 3:45 PM

 

Hi InsaneMultitasker - no, mine is just a normal TI.

I'll PM you when it is ready to test.  My nano arrived recently, but I forgot about the power supply needs.  Ping me in a few days if you haven't heard back.

 

 

Any progress on TIMXT for a 9938/58 system?

No progress to report. I don't have sufficient clock cycles to multitask these days...



#14 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,629 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 6:13 PM

See the below post which has the updated TIMXT for use with the NanoPEB v1 9902 version (Requires F18A).

 

HERE


Edited by Shift838, Mon Feb 6, 2017 6:15 PM.


#15 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 6:22 PM

Ok I lied a v1 nanopeb will work in term emu ii. Its 7e1 300 baud..

I used a null modem to my pc rs232.. So to a 102 it's prob straight through no null needed

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

 

Hey Greg - you have a Tandy 100/102 huh? If so, see if you can get at least some terminal echo happening? I tried again last night with TE II setting 7 bit even parity at 300 baud - still not happy with my null modem cable I use everywhere and another straight through cable I have. 

 

I'II try getting the TI connected to my PC, might show issues with my nanoPEB.



#16 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 6:27 PM

I'll PM you when it is ready to test.  My nano arrived recently, but I forgot about the power supply needs.  Ping me in a few days if you haven't heard back.

 

 

 

 

Terrific! Don't over do stuff though - just when you find time etc



#17 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:14 PM

 

Hey Greg - you have a Tandy 100/102 huh? If so, see if you can get at least some terminal echo happening? I tried again last night with TE II setting 7 bit even parity at 300 baud - still not happy with my null modem cable I use everywhere and another straight through cable I have. 

 

I'II try getting the TI connected to my PC, might show issues with my nanoPEB.

 

Interesting - wasn't able to get my PC (ubuntu) using terminal echo at 300 baud using TE II & null modem cable communicating at all.

 

So installed a Terminal Serial Emulator on my android phone. Works great with Tandy. Still nothing with the TI, TE II and Nanopeb.

 

Will see if any updated terminal software for the TI fixes things.



#18 mizapf ONLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,158 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:26 PM

What term emu are you using on your PC? I recently learned about picocom and found it quite useful (using it elsewhere, not in the TI context).



#19 InsaneMultitasker ONLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,426 posts

Posted Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:59 PM

 

Hi InsaneMultitasker - no, mine is just a normal TI.

 

Be cool too see one of those variants works!

 

Cheers!

Daryn

I modified Mass Transfer (40 columns) to work with the nano.  I didn't retrofit it with my high-speed routines, so the best speed is 2400 with dropped characters at 4800.  I uploaded it to Heatwave for test purposes.  Since I am still waiting for the power cord for my nano, I could only verify the program operates with a standard TI.



#20 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Sun Feb 12, 2017 6:35 PM

What term emu are you using on your PC? I recently learned about picocom and found it quite useful (using it elsewhere, not in the TI context).

 

I'II give picocom a go! thats looks good!

 

Was actually just using screen initially, it does a real basic terminal. I used to use getty with red hat/centos, but looked a pain in the butt to get up and running with ubuntu - picocom looks good.



#21 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Sun Feb 12, 2017 6:36 PM

I modified Mass Transfer (40 columns) to work with the nano.  I didn't retrofit it with my high-speed routines, so the best speed is 2400 with dropped characters at 4800.  I uploaded it to Heatwave for test purposes.  Since I am still waiting for the power cord for my nano, I could only verify the program operates with a standard TI.

 

Nice! Will do some research on how to access heatwave



#22 InsaneMultitasker ONLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,426 posts

Posted Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:38 PM

 

Nice! Will do some research on how to access heatwave

User Hyperterminal or equivalent to telnet to the address/port in my signature.   I uploaded the file to Heatwave from my TI system, and have not yet transferred it to a PC for any other posting.



#23 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:38 PM

Still no go with picocom on ubuntu. Worked great with the Tandy 102. Still nothing from TI, TEII & nanopeb

 

Hopefully get some time with InsaneMultitaskers work this weekend.

 

Am wondering if I'm not supplying enough juice to the Nanopeb to drive the RS232 port? Seems weird I get nothing from it (unless its faulty)



#24 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    Stargunner

  • 1,967 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:53 PM

just curious, what kind of serial port is on the pc?  card based or usb? 

 

Greg



#25 palmheads OFFLINE  

palmheads

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Christchurch, New Zealand

Posted Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:14 PM

just curious, what kind of serial port is on the pc?  card based or usb? 

 

Greg

 

Am using a  serial -> USB convertor - hmmm may well even be that - I might try & install a serial card on the PC - good thinking!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users