Jump to content

Photo

INTV System III with a phone jack


46 replies to this topic

#1 nohup OFFLINE  

nohup

    Combat Commando

  • 3 posts

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 5:55 PM

I just purchased an INTV System III and collection of games on eBay and upon opening the package I noticed the system has a phone jack on the left side. Any idea what this is for? I can't find a reference anywhere including in the manual that came with the system.

#2 BBWW OFFLINE  

BBWW

    River Patroller

  • 2,706 posts
  • If it is not fun move away slowly.
  • Location:On the Northern Coast of San Mateo County, CA

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 6:08 PM

Photos?  Please!!



#3 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    Stargunner

  • 1,204 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 6:44 PM

Its likely not stock. Maybe someone rigged up an external controller port. Pop off the top of the case and have a look. It would need at least six wires to be usefull.

Edited by mr_me, Mon Feb 6, 2017 6:48 PM.


#4 nohup OFFLINE  

nohup

    Combat Commando

  • Topic Starter
  • 3 posts

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 8:18 PM

Here is a picture of the phone jack
image.jpg

And an image with the phone jack cover removed
image.jpg

#5 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 14,877 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 8:26 PM

Open console and see where the wires go.

#6 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,465 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 8:32 PM

Super rare. Was used to command skynet..so obvious by the picture.

#7 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 14,877 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 8:45 PM

I wonder if this had anything to do with playcable? Playcable used coax though didn't it?

#8 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 14,877 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 8:49 PM

Its likely not stock. Maybe someone rigged up an external controller port. Pop off the top of the case and have a look. It would need at least six wires to be usefull.


Why 6? Modern day Data cat5 internet/ethernet uses 4 pair (8 conducter or wires)

Back in the day a normal phone line used two conducters for dial tone only.

Really need to see what the wires go to inside. Likely nothing. Its weird that its mounted on the side. I can't see it having a modem or something similar inside.

#9 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    Stargunner

  • 1,204 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 8:55 PM

As a controller port, six wires give you four directions, fire, and ground. It looks like its only four [or less] wires which could do left, right, fire, and ground. Old Atari joysticks had six wires.

Edited by mr_me, Mon Feb 6, 2017 9:02 PM.


#10 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 14,877 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 9:08 PM

As a controller port, six wires give you four directions, fire, and ground. It looks like its only four [or less] wires which could do left, right, fire, and ground. Old Atari joysticks had six wires.


Ah ok. I wasn't thinking of a controller. I was thinking if they somehow were trying to connect it to a phone line. :-)

But this does give me an idea.

How long of wire could work on an Intellivision controller until signal is lost?

#11 SiLic0ne t0aD85 OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD85

    River Patroller

  • 2,046 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 9:26 PM

FWIW, I've been using 12ft of cable for some time now.. an Inty arcade stick with 6ft cable connected to a 6ft extension cable. I use high quality cables, a salvaged Sega Genesis cable on the controller itself and Super Cable brand extension cable. Same with my Coleco setup, it's all Super Cable.. Nice and thick. No problems whatsoever. :thumbsup:

Edited by SiLic0ne t0aD85, Mon Feb 6, 2017 9:27 PM.


#12 0078265317 OFFLINE  

0078265317

    River Patroller

  • 4,409 posts

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 9:29 PM

I looks like it was part of a office and sommebody just put a stick on coupler on the side.



#13 mthompson ONLINE  

mthompson

    Dragonstomper

  • 551 posts
  • Location:Northern Illinois

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 10:27 PM

Ah ok. I wasn't thinking of a controller. I was thinking if they somehow were trying to connect it to a phone line. :-)

 

Or an answering machine  ;)



#14 Lathe26 ONLINE  

Lathe26

    River Patroller

  • 2,646 posts

Posted Mon Feb 6, 2017 11:10 PM

I saw this one up for sale on eBay and messaged the seller.  They had no idea what the phone connector was for either.



#15 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • 1,000 posts
  • Robinett Rules!
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2017 10:45 AM

That must be an older model - my original Intellivision came with a broadband connector...   :grin:



#16 Intymike ONLINE  

Intymike

    River Patroller

  • 2,264 posts
  • Location:Rhine Valley

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2017 10:58 AM

That must be an older model - my original Intellivision came with a broadband connector...   :grin:

 

 

You mean the model shortly before they switched to wifi?



#17 nohup OFFLINE  

nohup

    Combat Commando

  • Topic Starter
  • 3 posts

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2017 5:32 PM

Ok opened the case and it looks like there are three wires from the phone jack:

image.jpg

They are soldered here

image.jpg

#18 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    Stargunner

  • 1,204 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2017 5:52 PM

Thats a controller port. I think the first one on top is ground. So wires on pins 1,7,9? Unless I have it backwards it looks like its wired for the top side action button. Its good for sharp shot.

#19 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 13,553 posts
  • Location:WI

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2017 6:24 PM

yeah, sumguy's "rapid fire" mod or something going on here.   :rolling:   



#20 SiLic0ne t0aD85 OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD85

    River Patroller

  • 2,046 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2017 7:54 PM

That's pretty strange! ;p

#21 townparkradio OFFLINE  

townparkradio

    Moonsweeper

  • 411 posts
  • Location:Marion, Illinois

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2017 9:59 PM

That's one of those TV POWW units.  You'd yell into a phone that would hit the fire button.



#22 First Spear OFFLINE  

First Spear

    Dragonstomper

  • 960 posts

Posted Fri Feb 10, 2017 11:48 AM

?

#23 TandyVision OFFLINE  

TandyVision

    Space Invader

  • 27 posts
  • Location:Connecticut

Posted Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:06 PM

That's one of those TV POWW units.  You'd yell into a phone that would hit the fire button.

 

So that's how they did that! I always thought there was just some dork sitting there pressing the button pretending it actually worked. lol



#24 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    Stargunner

  • 1,204 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:18 PM

 
So that's how they did that! I always thought there was just some dork sitting there pressing the button pretending it actually worked. lol

I also heard it was a technician on the other end of the phone pressing the button manually. I suppose a local station could have rigged this up, they still have to have a voice activated switch. But most tv powwws were in the early 1980s and the INTV Systems were only in the later 1980s.

#25 townparkradio OFFLINE  

townparkradio

    Moonsweeper

  • 411 posts
  • Location:Marion, Illinois

Posted Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:51 PM

 

So that's how they did that! I always thought there was just some dork sitting there pressing the button pretending it actually worked. lol

 

In some markets that's exactly what happened.  Honestly that was the better way to do it, have someone trying to anticipate what the player would do: there's liek a 7 second delay to live TV.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users